We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best meal we had in Costa Rica”

Playa de los Artistas
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“best meal we had in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a beautiful beach restaurantnear Montezuma. It is simple and romantic, and food was based on catch of the day and changes daily. Menu is interesting without being too fancy. They have managed to offer fresh ingredients and without altering their natural full flavours, they have created interesting combination
respect their and fullness taste
defo a place to go

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BenedettaSita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    78
    48
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved it...we went in the evening, and were guided by a lit path that led to a beautiful spot. We got a table on the beach, and sat back enjoying it all! Yes, it's a little high in prices, but it was well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Try their signature drink--it's amazing! We ordered 3 entrees and split them: there wasn't one dish that didn't impress. Try the cocoa shrimp!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AshWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Don't get it wrong, it's not cheap - but it amazing one of a kind food that you won't forget or regret. The menu is hand written every day and we had things we had never had before. Not to mention they serve locally brewed beer from Montezuma (a rare commodity in CR).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CDBoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average beyond average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this restaurant was a bit of a letdown. The setting, as mentioned in other reviews, is obviously great, but as others have mentioned, the prices are steep for what one gets.

The appetizers we had were quite good. The tuna carpaccio was delicious, as were the prawns that had a mild chocolate sauce.

The pork shoulder that I ordered was actually roastbeef, which was way overcooked.

For the cost of the meal ($70), I don't think we got full value and better meals could have been had at lower prices around town.

One, potentially odd, complaint involves the menus. Because the menu is always changing (which is great), they only have 2 menus, which waitresses carry around and explain to each table. The problem is that the entire menu is Spanish. No doubt, we are in a Spanish speaking country, but the vast majority of people who go to the restaurant are English speaking. Considering the average Tico makes less than $500 per month, very few could afford a meal here. Why not at least have one menu is English and one in Spanish?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotAnotherRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing