We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best restaurant in costa rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Mediterranean, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
louisville, ky USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

playa de los artistas was the best restaurant i experienced while in costa rica. the food and service were impeccable. the atmosphere was incredible. the look, the design, the bathroom, the outdoor fireplace, the outdoor pizza oven, the fresh fish, the view, the art, the bathroom, the artist created menu cover and hand printed daily menu combined to create an incomparable experience. Though i listed the restaurant as a casual sit down (because it is a casual dress laid back place), the price is not casual. Price for 2 with drinks was approximately $70 US.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    66
    40
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nothing to add to all the excellent critics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

During our month trip in this wonderful country we tried to eat as much as possible local. And we were often very pleased. Often the poorer the place looked the better the food was. We tried to avoid european or american food. But this was very special! The setting on a beautiful beach, candles and nice furniture, great service, and excellent food was just amazing! What struck me most is that they managed to blend in the Italian origins with local products.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petrus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

wow! i cant begin to tell how great this is. the location is right on the beach. large wooden slab tables. right next to the surf. we had a caviar brushetta for an appetizer.i had a mahi mahi stew with potatoes in a tomato based thick broth. my fried had octopus on white beans. i wish i could in words convey how my taste buds went wild. you cant beat the atmosphere. we had to go back agin. the menu is always changing. it is expensive but well worth the cost. if you are anywhere near you have to stop. 5 stars isnt enough!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiffertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“listen to the waves while you dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

pdla is right on the edge of the ocean, be serenade by the waves while you dine. the menu is updated according to the catch of the day and the freshest food available. decent wine list kept me happy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sonnysullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Playa de Los Artistas is a very famous place, with a tiny sign in front so most tourists walk right past it and never know what they missed. It's right on the beach so I recommend going early before sunset so you can see the water. A meal here is not just food... it's an epic dining experience that takes 2-3 hours. The food here is art and they have a new menu every day. I live in Montezuma and come here often, as does everyone who lives in town, especially for special occasions or to thrill out-of-town guests. Many people have said it was the best place they've ever eaten.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing