We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Stay Here at Hostel "LICE"”
Review of Hostel Lys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Lys
Reviewed July 13, 2010

When in Costa Rica traveling with a group of twenty-something friends, we came across a review in Lonely Planet for Hostel Lys. The review was good, the price ok ($20 a night for a double, with the bathroom down the hall) and the location (literally step out on to the beach) was awesome. We were traveling backpack style so this place seemed up our alley. However, once we got there we quickly realized what a mistake we had made. Nothing was clean. The rooms were dark, dank and full of spider webs, bugs, and sand that hadn't been swept out with the previous tenant. I actually sat down on the bed only to see a spider crawl out of a hole in my mattress. The bathrooms down the hall were so small (I'm 5'9 and could barely fit my legs to sit on the toilet) and dirty. The shower I was in drained into the shower next to me and the swarm of mosquitoes showering with me were not endearing. Bring your own hand soap here, none was provided.

To be fair, the beach outside of Hostel Lys was beautiful and right out your door, and the guy working there was very nice and helpful, but the night of sleeping on a bed where I could count each wooden slat holding me up and was worried spiders would crawl into my mouth was not worth it.

Only if you like staying in a shack would Hostel Lys be right for you. We have taken to calling it "Hostel Lice" and ran far away after 1 night there. I cannot stress enough that for people who are used to roughing it, this was over the edge for us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RioftheMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Lys
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

Hotel Lys is right on the beach, which should lead to sleeping with the sound of the waves crashing against the shore and the ocean breezes blowing into your room. Wrong! While management is very laid back and the price is good ($20 for room with a double bed, bath down the hall) the wonderful potential atmosphere was completely ruined. On our first night there, our windowless room was unbearable, filthy, stained sheets, bugs everywhere. Night 2 we were unable to sleep because an older guest/resident was playing the cowbell erratically to LOUD salsa music until I begged him to stop around 1am (he was the only one on the patio- no party going on, just this solo party!). The "music" picked up again a bit before 6am. That day, because there was no place in the room to hang your clothing or wet towels, we used the line outside- only to have our towels stolen. No matter tho, the water went out in the place for the rest of the night.
Pros are of course, the amazing beach location. You can't beat literally living on the beach, and luckily, we did not need to be around during the day. But at night, when you just want to sit back and relax, there's really no place to do this (you dont want to sit on the beach because of all the crabs at night) and the really loud music makes it impossible to have a conversation or wind down in the common area, and the rooms are so shoddy thats no place to hang out. After 2 bad nights, the lack of water, the stolen towels, the filthy room, and the noise, we went to another place in town for only a bit more a night and it was relaxing, had a kitchen where we could cook our own meals and store our water bottles, and was quiet and peaceful- a perfect place to return after a day of hiking or swimming.
I've stayed in hostels all over the world, and this was the least considerate, and the dirtiest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillefond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I stayed one night at the Hotel Lys, it is located on the beach of Montezuma and 2 minutes away from the main street, but I was very disappointed with the room. For sure it's cheap but my room was tiny and dirty, bedsheets full of stains, cobwebs on the walls, the bathroom was old and not cleaned properly...It is a real shame as the staff is really friendly and laid back, but for the same price you get a get big, airy, clean room n town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,234,562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Intimate and personable, the Hotel Lys is a small hostel-like property right on the beach in Montezuma. There is a "patio" out front on the sand under a large umbrella-type awning, which is a perfect place for meals, relaxing or just people watching. The staff is friendly and helpful, fluent in Spanish, Italian and English. Every night they serve a family-style dinner, which was delicious and entertaining -- my first night 12 different countries were represented at the table -- fascinating! The accommodations are basic, but you can't beat the price or the view!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikiB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Valeria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
52
Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poopoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
#15 of 28 in Montezuma
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Howler Monkey Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lys

Address: Montezuma Beach | Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on Montezuma beach, with only a 25 meter walk to the water. Here you have the chance to walk out the door and watch the sunrise right over the ocean. You can play pool with your toes in the sand while getting to know unique individuals from all over the world and enjoying the natural beauty of this community. It is only a 50 meter walk from the only bus stop in the city, and only a 2 minute (100 m) walk to downtown, the famous waterfalls and Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve a short hike away. It has private rooms, a mixed dormitory and camping spaces. The environment is relaxed and friendly and our staff speaks Spanish, English, French and Italian. We also offer free Wi-Fi, kitchen, free parking and a lots of help with figuring out close excursions and taxis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Lys Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing