We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Montezuma
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
FANTASTIC

We had an amazing tour with this group yesterday, Joshua, Henry & Louis did a fantastic job showing... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
EllieJane966
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
The BEST time and reasonably priced!

My wife and I had a blast with our guides Josua and Luis, and even saw 6 HUMPBACK WHALES on our... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2019
cameronalva
via mobile
Read all 366 reviews
  
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
322
22
1
5
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
322
22
1
5
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horseback riding tortuga island guide henry chicken delicious lunch spoke little english lovely boat trip limited english perfect excursion great snorkeling spots reef sharks day trip snorkeling tour never experienced such wear lots of sunscreen answering any questions white tip sharks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an amazing tour with this group yesterday, Joshua, Henry & Louis did a fantastic job showing us all the wildlife Montezuma had to offer. This included following humpback whales and dolphins on the way to Tortuga island - they did not mind the detour so we could all get some pictures.

The snorkelling itself was also a great experience, Joshua showed us all kinds of wildlife in the deep sea such as starfish and sea urchins and always kept the animal’s well-being a priority e.g making sure the starfish do not leave the water under any circumstances.

We all enjoyed the food very much, there was a lot of choice - no problem if you are vegetarian or even vegan!

As a group, we highly recommend this tour.
The guides are very friendly and speak good English, you can be sure they’ll look after you.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank EllieJane966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

We embarked on a tour to isla tortuga and besides being a normal island, the excursion and the very touristy snorkelling, the worst thing was the danger of the journey, with high sea on the return that ran despite there were children on board. The worst thing was the food, my girlfriend and I were sick after eating the fish they already cooked, we got a virus with vomit and fever, which spoiled the beautiful Montezuma for two days. Unfortunately, in order to earn more money, they cook poor and dangerous food. After doing the tour I realized that positive reviews are fake because they repeatedly invite you to write great reviews. The reality is another. Choose other operators, Montezuma is full, don't go with them you ruin the journey.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Paudice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo Blanco T, Director General at Cabo Blanco Travelers, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear Paudice:
It is always good to receive feedback from our customers in this way we realize the different situations that occurred during the tour since our greatest interest is always to improve. It is for this reason that we ask our crew to insist customers send their comments
As for your situation I must clarify that the ocean changes considerably. The rainy season brings much more water to the ocean, there is more sediment, garbage, coupled with normal weather changes that are never predictable. At any moment everything can change you can go out without waves with the ocean like a pool and a north wind enters and everything changes in a fraction of minutes and they are things of nature that as impotent human beings we cannot change is impossible. It's likely that you've never been to the ocean, I don't know. We do not even sail by open sea but by the coast. With regard to children it is the responsibility of their parents if you love your loved ones you will never expose them to a situation of danger, we give the recommendations of the case about the dangers in the ocean but that is at the discretion of each person. Never for any reason our company goes out to the ocean with swells where someone can lose their life and even if it rains a lot we prefer to cancel and although many people do not like it and we have monetary losses we prefer to be responsible and not cause accidents without need. And we also give them vests for children what no company in Montezuma does. As for the food our company is very careful with the
Food and beverage handling works with gloves, the fish is of the best golden quality, and is vacuum packed and the contents are opened until it is going to be cooked, the legumes are washed well and all 100% natural dressings are the same the vegetables are washed and cooked in boiled water, maybe you ate something else on the island like oysters that if handled by the unwashed oystercatchers except for salt water and cut into polluted and dirty wooden boards. Or maybe they ate something before leaving, what I can guarantee is that it was not our food other members of the tour would have already informed us, including the crew and if you read all the comments of what is most talked about in our tour is the food . We regret the situation suffered which we cannot change

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I had a blast with our guides Josua and Luis, and even saw 6 HUMPBACK WHALES on our return! It was insane!

Josua and Luis were very accommodating, the meal is pretty decent, and the transportation to and from Montezuma (we booked in Santa Teresa) was seamless.

The snorkeling was pretty good — there were tons of fish and we even saw a nurse shark — though the water was a bit murky, which is to be expected given the rainy season.

The Tortuga beach was beautiful and well worth the trip!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank cameronalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Had the most amazing day snorkelling and seeing Tortuga Island! Joseph, Victor and Henry were awesome! Great snorkelling, great food, great swimming, we even got to see a whale and her calf on the way back. Would recommend this company to anyone staying in this area of Costa Rica. Amazing value & guaranteed wonderful time

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Emmmajennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Had a great day with Joshua and Luis. The plan was to go snorkelling near Tortuga island. We visited two spots, where there were quite a few other boats. The visibility wasnt amazing but the fish were spectacular and our captain, Luis, showed us to where we could see a nurse shark! Afterwards we were given a tasty (simple) lunch and time to chat and hang around. Unfortunately there isn’t much to see or do and we were waiting around on the island for a couple hours. I read a book on the beach l, and went for a couple swims which was nice. On the way back we saw whole pods of whales very near the boat, which was simply amazing. Joshua was great at making this trip fun and putting us all in a good mood!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank tsunley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews