We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice for chillin'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Certificate of Excellence
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice for chillin'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice property with beautiful pool and stunning view. It's up hill, maybe you'll have difficulties finding it! And the road is quite tricky. I didn't like the inside of the house that much. Basic, pretty old and not a nice bathroom. But, it's Montezuma so you don't really care about it! Great place if you want to chill by the pool all day long.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here during the 7.6 quake. We were in the 2 bed a/c unit with a sm.refrigerator. No radio.No tv. No screens on the windows. We had no electricity for one day and there were no generators or emergency lighting or emergency kits. The property is beautiful but not for people with any walking difficulites. A taxi is easy to call. There is one local in the center of town but make sure you get his number, because the receptionist isn t always available.Suggest you take an emergency radio and flashlight and food supply just in case. CR lies on a major quake fault. We were taken better care of by the Zuma Tours group which we booked our travel with in advance. The rooms are kept clean by Coco and the pool is cleaned every morning by the gardener. The infinity pool is wonderful and where we spent a great deal of our time. Outside shower is inviting to centipedes ,lizards, spiders and ants. Suggest you take your own bug spray as well. I think this could be a wonderful hotel with minor improvements.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms w a/c unless heat and/or mosquitoes dont bother you. It is extreemely hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights and I really liked it!

The location is NOT in town, make no mistake, and it is uphill. If you do not mind walking, this is not an issue. But if you do, or if the heat is too much, you can always get a cab.

The property is absolutely stunning! The grounds are perfectly manicured...lovely plants and flowers everywhere and a gorgeous pool. And, the crowning glory is the view of the ocean...it's everywhere!

We were there in March and there was only one other couple at the time. So, it felt as if we had the place to ourselves. The room was lovely...clean, modern and comfortable. The open-roof shower under the towering trees was a real treat!

I also fell in love with the resident dogs AND the cute pig!!!

A few things put me off. The young American girl on staff was essentially lazy. I asked her for things on three occasions but she did NOTHING!

The front desk also advised us that it would cost $3 per taxi ride to get into town, but the cabbies were asking for $4 (except for one honest one who confirmed that it should only be $3). I mentioned this to another girl at reception and asked her to please talk to the cabbie, but she did nothing.

The Wifi connection was also horrible. Would not work at all in the rooms, and at best, it was spotty on parts of the grounds. The owner advised that it was supposed to be fixed 'next week'. I would be curious to see if this were in fact the case!

I struggled with grading this hotel. The indifferent service at times wanted me to give it a four-star grading. But, aside from that and the wifi, the place really is SO lovely that I cannot help but give it 5 stars!

Overall, it was a lovely stay and I recommend the hotel. Make sure to see the pig...he is absolutely adorable!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying here for a week while I was doing a poi retreat. The place is absolutely beautiful, with a magnificent ocean view and lovely garden surroundings. The pool is clean and a good thing to have when in Montezuma, as the days can get pretty hot.

Our little house was spotlessly clean, with a nice kitchen equipped with what we needed for cooking our own meals. The bedroom had a powerful fan in addition to the house having air conditioning.

The location is a little walk from downtown Montezuma, so you should have a car or be prepared to get taxis up and down. It's possible to walk down a jungle path or the road, like we did. It's not very far, but you will get warm and sweaty dute to the hot weather. And bring a flashlight for walking at night. The good aspect of the location is that it is nice and quiet. Also, there is a nice jungle path to walk to one of the waterfalls.

The service was very good, except for the young american girl working at the reception. She obviously wanted to do as little as possible. We enqired about getting a second key, as we were sharing house with two other people and we were not all together every day and needed to get in and out. She said she would have one made for us, but she never did. She also tried to get me and my boyfriend to carry yoga-mats down to the practice deck even though we were not part of the group doing yoga.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here two nights during our honeymoon, although we had booked for four. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but the place itself was completely unsuited to us. We were put in a self catering bungalow which was down an unsafe, dirt track and overlooked a rubbish strewn slope and the washing lines. The bungalow was clean enough but lacked basic self-catering things like normal knives (we only had steak knives) and although the hotel offers frewe wi-fi it was impossible to get any. We were also joined by huge ants and a giant stick insect. On our second night our key broke in the lock (it was a cheap Yale rip-off) and we couldn't find anyone to help us for over 40 minutes - eventually another guest managed to get hold of the owner, who wasn't apologetic and at first said that he would just put us in another room for the night, even though all of our belongings were in the bungalow, including our dinner. Overall we felt as though we had paid a lot of money to be shoved out of sight and out of mind. Luckily we were able to check out early - the receptionist was very helpful and apologetic, to her credit - and paid $15 extra to stay at the wonderful Agua Vista.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

we are from israel and toke 2 nighets in tish hotel. it a littel far from the center but is very quite area. the crew is very nice and helpfull. take it!

Room Tip: take the room that close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ch00ch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My Aunt (58) and I (32) rented a room, which is more like a studio apt, for over a week. It was amazing. Relaxing, quiet, surrounded by ocean and jungle views and humming birds! It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the beach, which we did everyday. We walked down (steep hills, but fun - saw monkeys and lizards) every morning and took a taxi up (cost about $2). The pool is splendid and the patio is AMAZING - did yoga, got a massage, read in the hammock, and ate meals on it. Felt like a home!

Would definitely return. I highly recommend Casitas for family, friends, couples and individuals alike. I WILL return!

Room Tip: Confirm hammock is there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casitas Sollevante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Property: Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Address: Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Sollevante 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning your next holidays in Costa Rica you must take some time to go and visit the resort "Casitas Sollevante" in Montezuma. The resort itself is located just minutes away from the lively town of Montezuma, situated in the province of Puntarenas, in the southern Nicoya Peninsula (one of the 4 Blue Zones in the world). Casitas Sollevante is the perfect destination for travelers seeking an enchanting escape for their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Sollevante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing