We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile guided tour of the cloud forest”

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Private Monteverde Cloud Forest Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worthwhile guided tour of the cloud forest”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

There are two very bad dirt roads up to St Helena. Take the more southerly approach even though it is longer. The reserve's guides are very knowledgeable and can usually find birds worth seeing. Do not count on seeing much more fauna, but the flora is certainly worth the trip. Pay the admission fee ($18) and definitely the additional $15 for the guide. Lots of elevation gain, but the trails are easy to traverse.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,631
    599
    188
    59
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very crowded morning tours, explore yourself too”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arrived at 7:30 for morning guided tour. Very crowded: back room holding pen, waiting on side trail for access to trail, passing multiple groups and bird watchers on trail . So although guide was very personable and knowledgeable and we learned a lot, it was not the mystical encounter with nature we had anticipated. Also a little disneyesque: all the guides showed seem to show the same scorpion and quetzals
So after the tour we took off by ourselves and hiked til closing along the continental divide. Fewer people and quieter which gave us a better chance to experience a more natural experience. Some stretches of the trails were quite steep and slippery so watch your time and your footing

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 625twt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top experience in Costa Rica”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place is a treasure. Lush forest, well market trails and great wildlife sightings. Go with a guide in the morning and then hike all day. There are two places to eat near the park entrance.
Hummingbird feeders are the coffee house outside the park are worth watching for an hour or more. Don't miss the suspension bridge in the park and the mild climb to the Continental Divide.
Trails are clearly marked.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A bit on the busy side”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Whatever time of day you go it is a bit like Piccadilly Circus. Crowds & transports abound - early or late. The treks are great and the viewing opportunities numerous. We didn't use a guide and found our own pace and observations enough to have a nice mornings roam around the trails.
Remember to visit the humming birds just outside the park.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank number240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay and wander”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Because I went on a guided hike, I saw many birds, through a telescope or not. However, despite the fact that I went early in the morning, the reserve was very crowded. I am not sure if it is less crowded later in the day, but the experience was somewhat lessened by the many groups of people. My guide was knowledgeable, though he admonished us frequently to enjoy the forest and so did not talk much unless prompted to by a bird. The trails themselves appear to be much more expansive than the guided tours reach. I would recommend going, because it is beautiful and there are many interesting birds, but I would suggest staying extra by yourself if you take a guided hike, so you can see more away from the crowds. The hummingbirds are also fun to see if you stop by the hummingbird feeders.

Helpful?
Thank katatatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing