We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natures beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 55-5655, Costa Rica
(506) 2645-5122
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$91*
and up
Selvatura Park Extreme Adventure Canopy Tour in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Natures beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you love nature, then you will enjoy trekking in the cloud forest. I recommend that you choose a day where is not raining so that you gan get a better view of the fauna as if it rains they will hardly come out! I recommend doing also a night walk in the forest as you will be amazed to see many species of birds like Tucans and Papagallo sleeping. If you are stay in Santa Elena There is a public bus that you take early in the morning that leaves you in the entrance of the park for 2 usd each way! The park entrance is 17 dlls USA. Make sure that you have with you a k way.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mexamerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,317
    470
    134
    46
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome.....even in the rain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had an amazing time here even though it rained the whole time we were there, well it is a rain forest!
Didn't really get to see any wildlife, views etc, but we did get a few memorable photos of us completely drenched standing in the clouds!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MAWRAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
676 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“One of the Most Beautiful Places on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have traveled around the world, been to every Central American country numerous times, but this is a walk through one of the world's special places. The moss on the trees...lush vegetation...clouds below you...vistas...wildlife... are awesome. It is so calm and peaceful there.

The trails are very good and you may see some wildlife. We visited during the rainy season, which is also the time hummingbirds were in the area. We did not have a guide for our three hour hike, but it might not be a bad idea.

THIS IS A MUST GO-TO PLACE IN THE WORLD!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The tour guide was very informative and there was so much wildlife to see. The place is really amazing. Our kids wanted to keep hiking all day, which is not like them at all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nicely set up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I did not take a guided tour so really did not see any wildlife but the setting is surreal. I planned to walk for 2 hours and was frankly a little creeped out at first (as I was on my own) but soon I relaxed and ended up spending over 3 hours exploring all the trails and rarely came a cross another human being. I love d it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank darcitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing