We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a rain coat & trekking sandals!”

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Selvatura Park Extreme Adventure Canopy Tour in Monteverde
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Monteverde Cloud Forest and Hanging Bridges from Guanacaste
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Selvatura Park Eco Adventure Tour of Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bring a rain coat & trekking sandals!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Wet like a Seattle winter-lush, green & make sure you take a guide with you- a must if you're visiting the country!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jtrooney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,682
    616
    192
    61
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the rough, rocky roads to get there”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If we hadn't needed to drive there, this might have been an okay visit. There were only a couple of animals but a wealth of plant species. Our guide, Ricardo, knew about many of the different aspects of the jungle. He was worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IBPacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cloud Forest Lodge (which we found very friendly) , and Wil rec Erick Carranza as a guide to walk with us. He is licensed, and a Forestry Engineer by training. I am so pleased, as we would have missed a lot. He pointed out a jaguar track (he had been guiding some other tourists the night before, and thought he heard him), and birds in the tops of trees by their sound. Whatever you do, you must go alone. Those busload tours from companies, with tourists talking all the time (about their grandchildren! while in a C osta Rican forest) are a waste compared to Erick.
I believe we paid him $15 US each (4, 3+ hour walk). His contact info is erickbellocarranza@gmail.com, or cell 8816 5828.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So many creatures, flowers and fauna to see.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

THe guide went out of his way to show us all that he could. It was a wonderful experience. He assisted us in taking pictures through his telescope that our regular camera lens would have missed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice bridge walk”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we skipped the ziplines here and opted for Selvatura Park. Glad we did, although these bridges shouldn't be missed. The place is big --and cloudy-- guide was ok.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing