We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw 2 Quetzals :)”

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Private Monteverde Cloud Forest Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We saw 2 Quetzals :)”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

After only seeing the Quetzal for a brief second at Curi-Cancha (which is a really, really great reserve!), I wanted to try my luck at another reserve, so we headed to Monteverde. I avoided Monteverde the first time because I had heard it was more crowded and it was, but we did see 2 Quetzals. I highly recommend going with a guide because you will learn so much more about the surroundings and have a better chance at finding the elusive birds. Our guide was Esteban Mendez Vargas (phone: 506-8685-5982; email: mendezguia@hotmail.com). Esteban spoke great English and had and amazing eye and ear for birds. I really enjoyed our tour with him. Monteverde has more primary forest than Curi-Cancha since it sits at a higher elevation and is beautifully shrouded in moss. The trails are really well maintained. If you are looking for just primary forest check out Monteverde. If you want a mixture of forest (and less tourists), go to Curi-Cancha. Both have great wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenGirlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,630
    599
    188
    59
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KlamathFalls, OR
Level Contributor
125 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Please don't go!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The road to this place is dirt for endless kilometers and badly rutted. The people of Monteverde don't want you there, since your presence spoils the natural ambiance of the forest.
Yes, it's pretty and the climate is wonderful.
But you also use up natural resources and contribute to growth and crowding.
If you absolutely insist on going take a bus. Don't drive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time in the clouds”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Awesome walk along the mountains in the clouds. Make sure you bring a jacket and a poncho because you will get wet from the clouds. Bring a camera for the fantastic views and wonderful orchids and other natural plants.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The tour helped bring alive the forest!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was beautiful and peaceful. I took a tour with another couple,which I would recommend to really understand how the plants and animals work together to thrive - they don't just make for beautiful photo's. I also enjoyed an easy and safe walk around the park by myself, which is always lovely as a female solo traveller. Read more and see my photo's on http://imstillalivemom.wordpress.com/2013/04/19/costa-rica-nature-monteverde-volcano-arenal-and-tortuguero/

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“pretty peaceful”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just some lovely paths-i didn't have a guide so probably didn't see as much as others but I just loved ambling along and listening to the forest

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing