We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour!!”

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Selvatura Park Extreme Adventure Canopy Tour in Monteverde
More Info
$126.00*
and up
Monteverde Cloud Forest and Hanging Bridges from Guanacaste
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Selvatura Park Eco Adventure Tour of Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

It was not our first tour in a forest in costa rica, so we did not want to go for a guided tour. Luckily we have been convinced at the reception to take one and it was the best thing we did! Oscar (our guide) is very knowledgeable and passionate about is job! The 2.5h flew extremely fast! We could learn so many things about Toucans, Heliconias, orchids, etc... Walking alone would have been probably 5% as much fun! Overall a great experience.
Strongly recommended with guide.

Helpful?
Thank Marcoscara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,655
    608
    189
    59
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, but too many people”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed our 3-hour trek through the Reserve but felt that they let in too many groups at one time. It's no doubt having an impact on the wildlife there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samsarah714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wet but great!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We read the numerous reviews about MCFBR before we decided to go. What an awesome experience!!! We had the good fortune of getting Juan-Carlos as our tour guide. We read about him in other reviews so we asked to have him as our tour guide when we made the reservations but were told that they could not book a particular guide. Boy were we lucky to get him! He is full of information and so knowledgeable about the reserve and ecology. He is very passionate about saving the rain/cloud forests. We saw numerous birds and a few ground roaming mammals. Unfortunately, we were not able to see the famous Resplendent Quetzal. Oh well, next time, because there definitely will be a next time.
Btw, it is a cloud forest so be prepared to be rained on, or at least misted on and dripped on by dew drops off of the leaves and trees. Wear good hiking shoes and have a poncho.
The guides carry a spotting scope with a tripod so if they see something, they'll set it up quickly so you can see them. Not really necessary to have a binocular but nice to have.
Anyway, I highly recommend going and spend the few extra dollars for a guided tour. If not, you'll be hiking around a gorgeous forest and may or may not see anything.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Likes -- there are numerous trails to hike so you can venture out on your own and get away from the crowds. The number of hummingbirds you can get close to is also a positive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great guide”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved the Reserve. Had a guide with about 8 other people. Very good. You should get a guide...a little more expensive but well worth it

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SWM8421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing