We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Monteverde Cloud Forest Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Trumansburg, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is why you come to Monte Verde. We saw a number of birds including the Resplendent Quetzal. Our guide was excellent and explained the cloud forest. He was also very adapt at taking photos through his spotting scope. We also saw sloths and tarantulas. The hike lasted about 2.5 hours and was very rewarding

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,528
    570
    178
    59
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

go with a naturalist who has binoculars and can educate you about the flora and fauna. Plan to spend a few hours walking around and learning how to look in the forest.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnSCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible learning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We hired a guide who happened to be the son of one of the original Quaker families who founded Monteverde. It was an unforgettable 2.5 hours walking among the life of the cloud forest. I highly recommend a guide, as walking thru it can't possibly give you the knowledge that we enjoyed. Their eyes and ears are attuned to movements and sounds and what they might be. We DID see the quetzal...in fact, she dropped the avocado see she was chewing right in front of us. Warm to the touch! It's amazing how much respect he had for the forest, even suggesting we not use flash as we don't know the impact of that flash. We went back later that afternoon to walk the trail to the hanging bridge. Great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adlernews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An incredible way to experience the cloud forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve should be the first and last place you visit on a trip to Monteverde/Santa Elena. The guides are all knowledgeable, but I don't think it's necessary to have one unless you want to really dig into the biodiversity that exists in this area. Save room for lunch, as the cafeteria serves a delicious casado for lunch (the chuleta option -- pork chop -- was excellent). Don't miss the opportunity to take a guided night hike, which lasts about two hours...the guide will show you where the tarantulas sleep right underneath the spot where everyone sits during the day time! ;-D

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seans873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“With or without a guide it was a great hike. Go to the Continental Divide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went without a guide and found it relaxing and pleasant. The hummingbird garden was just amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing