We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Private Monteverde Cloud Forest Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful walks ,the quetzal is elusive but well worth the patience to see.Helpful staff at the entrance.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,632
    599
    188
    59
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Hike”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve in September, the rainiest month of the year. As a result we saw only 6 or 7 people, even though we got there about 12:30 pm, and that only at the first "outlook" on the trail. We saw no one for the next two hours of the hike. And maybe we were lucky as there were only a couple of sprinkles the whole time we were there. Be sure to take the long trail which takes about 3 hours. There is definitely a fair bit of up and down on the trail but nothing too strenuous. We did not see many animals or birds (some monkeys and a hummingbird, we did not bother with a guide and amazingly we were not even asked if we wanted one) but just walking the trails was great. And unbelievably there were hardly any insects that were bothersome throughout the entire hike. Definitely an experience not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At the top of the continental divide”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The trails are very nice, the waterfalls beautiful, with great opportunities to see the resplendent quetzal in season. It can get very crowded, so go first thing in the morning, like 7 am! If it's a clear day, you can go to the Ventana and see the Caribbean to the east and the Pacific to the west! Go with a guide, or you will miss seeing the stripe sided palm pit viper or the blue-eyed anole or other cryptic species that you won't know how to look for.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank maggieeisenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Reserve....Go Early...Don't get a Guide!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were told to go early to the park to avoid crowds and get a better experience. This was such great advice. We got there right as the park opened and were the first people in the park. This made the experience all the more better. We felt like we had the entire forest to ourselves and didn't see a single person for the first hour or two. It was quiet, beautiful and magical.

We did a 2-3 hour hike through the reserve. When you arrive they ask you how long you're going to spend, then recommend what hikes to do accordingly. We did the continental divide first (do not miss this one...if you only have a little bit of time... do this!!). It was beautiful, had awesome views and in the morning the clouds are rising so it was such a cool experience!). We then hiked to the waterfall then just explored a bit. We didn't see any wildlife really...just a lot of bugs..and a few birds.

Advice: Go early! Don't get a guide. It's not worth the money. Everyone we talked to afterwards said they wished they hadn't because they only saw bugs. Just go for the beautiful forest. Don't miss the continental divide hike. Stop by the hummingbird gallery after and also there's a tarantula that lives by the welcome center. Ask someone to show it to you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a great way to experience the rainforest!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We came here by bus from Santa Elena, 800 colones (about a dollar 50) and came during offseason which I am so thankful for. They only allow 180 people in the park at a time which is so wonderful since you will hardly see other tourists along the path. There are many paths to choose from and so many beautiful view points. The hummingbird gallery outside the entrance was amazing, and better yet it's free. I spent a lot of time there!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrejka08675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing