We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So true and natural - beautiful in every way!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy feel, comfy futon, large windows to enjoy the amazing view Fully equipped kitchen with large picture windows overlooking the Gulf and mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Cozy feel, comfy futon, large windows to enjoy the amazing view
Fully equipped kitchen with large picture windows overlooking the Gulf and mountains
Relax and unwind in your private paradise
Enjoy this romantic bathtub for two overlooking the mountains
A beautiful family of tucans lives right on our property
'The BEST spot for guest-watching' say the white-throated magpies
A hot, organic and home-made Costarican snack, often from our garden, awaits you upon arrival
Walk through our trails and see all the beauty around
Our guests enjoy the free organic coffee we provide
Children love to bug-hunt... lots of beautiful surprises!
100% of proceeds go towards animal welfare, social & economic justice, and environmental protection!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DBlessing
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So true and natural - beautiful in every way!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

While in CR, we visited Monteverde, Arenal, and Samara. All three places were absolutely amazing, but the highlight to our trip (by far) was staying at Casa Cielo and Rancho el Rio (both houses are owned by the same kind-hearted people, and only 30 minutes apart). We left Cielo feeling relaxed and inspired. The house was even more beautiful and charming than pictures.

We had everything we needed to have a seamless stay: wifi, all cooking equipment/spices, hot shower, maps, and more. They even provided us with warm delicious snacks, fresh coffee from their organic farm, and a bird book and binoculars to use on on the balcony and at nature parks. The house, kitchen, and linens were all super clean.

For activities, we hiked around casa cielo, went to Curi Cancha Wildlife Refuge, and took a chocolate/coffee tour. There is so much more to do in the area, but we were limited on time (unfortunately!)- we will no doubt be back to visit and experience more.

We love to cook and we went to the Monteverde Whole Foods shop, next to the Casem Coop, which is a great place to buy souvenirs that benefit the local community. The grocery was perfect place to buy fresh, local/organic foods.

All in all, If you want to have a truly "pure" experience in CR, Casa Cielo and Monteverde are the places to be. The owners make you feel like a friend or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful property, location, and the owners (gentle, kind-hearted people)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socalsurf...
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I, 24 yo., were traveling around Costa Rica for our honeymoon, from California, and had the pleasure of staying at Casa Cielo. This place was wonderful, the house is great, clean, comfortable, could easily fit 4-6 people. Its settled on the side of the mountain with some of the most spectacular view and sunsets I have seen. The house is on a piece of property set aside as a reserve, and a hike through the property itself is awesome. Its a bit of a ways from downtown, but the taxi ride is really easy, we walked it a few times.
Veronica was unbelievably hospitable and helped us out a lot, she is very knowledgeable and will have you doing some pretty amazing things if you choose to follow her suggestions. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrequentF...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute little cabin with all you could need in a beautiful private location”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Cielo for 6 nights in early February. Before we arrived, Veronica had been great help in advising on car hire and the right route to take to find the casa. We had hired a car and were experiencing the unpaved roads of CR for the first time, so the directions were a lifesaver.

From the minute we arrived we got a warm welcome from Stuart & Veronica including a Costa Rican snack and a guided tour around the gardens. Stuart is so knowledgable about his surroundings! Once we settled in, we were able to use the free phone in the house to call Veronica and set up excursions. We highly recommend the hot springs horseback trip, the guided tour at Curi Cancha with Grieven, the Don Juan tour and Casem for lunch.

Cabin had all the amenities you would expect when self catering, with lots of helpful notes from Veronica and a great guidebook to the house written by other guests.

It's a very cosy place with spectacular views. To spend time on the balcony in the hammock both for sunrise and sunset is very special.

The cabin is secluded, which is what we were after, but be warned it really does feel like the middle of nowhere during the night. You definitely need a good torch to walk the path from the car parking spot to the cabin.

You are around 10 minutes drive from Santa Elena where there are plenty of restaurants and cafes, but this is on gravel roads. We would definitely recommend that you hire a 4x4 for driving in the Monteverde region, we think you would struggle in a normal car. It's worth the effort though, the entire area is beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from balcony and seclusion
Liked least: Can be very windy at night which is very loud in the little cabin bedroom!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogiglo
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Spectacular View, Amazing Sunsets”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As many others have said, you can't beat this rental for the incredible view, the warm and homey feeling to the cabin and the privacy. But what makes it special is the host family. Veronica and Alex's son Stuart took us on a tour of the property upon arrival and the next day we visited the ranch and he again showed us around and pointed out the many bird species - he is an exceptional young man! During our stay my husband got a stomach virus and was quite sick for a couple of days, but once again Veronica was more than helpful, bringing chamomile tea and ginger root and offering help of any kind. She really went above and beyond what is expected of a host family and I can't thank her enough. I would highly recommend this place to anyone interested in the Monteverde / Santa Elena area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host family, view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arkansas
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$110
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing