We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Waterfall

San Luis Waterfall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A beautiful hike down the mountain of Monteverde! I recommend hiking down the Trocha, the view is gorgeous and the small San Luis town has a totally different ambiance from Monteverde. A beautiful day trip. It would be good to call a cab back up the mountain. The house at the entrance to the waterfall is beautiful. Alicia, who owns the plot of land through which one has to pass, was in the region before the Quakers settled in around the 1950s. It's great to support local families! Take good hiking shoes, a camera, and a jacket.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    5
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hiking beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After 45 minutes of good walking in the middle of the mountain, around the little river, with a wet tropical weather very sunny and with high humidity, but with well made trails, some kind of stairs -for an easiest access- you finally get into a beautiful waterfall, with very cold water.

After come back, there are natural drinks, fruit juice, free water, and local snacks like empanadas.

Try to get early (before 9 AM) to avoid highest temperatures, and walk at your own way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My partner and I had had a poor experience at one of the organised cloud forest sites, so we needed an interesting activity for the afternoon. We saw it on the map and set off on a 2+ hour walk down hill. Had no idea what to expect. It was down a long long road with amazing views of the coast. We got there and was welcomed by a lovely family. Paid them $8 (if think) and walked through their garden for another 20mins. We were the only people there and it was fan-blooming-tastic. It change my view of Monteverde 100%.
We sat in their cafe eating homemade cake and watching the local wildlife for over an hour and then got a taxi back for $20.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank whodeystock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A 'must do' for your Monteverde activity list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A grueling drive, but once you're there, it's a 30-minute hike to one of the most spectacular sights in this section of Costa Rica. Go early (arrive by 9 or 9:30) and you'll most likely have the waterfall to yourself until 11 or 11:30.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seans873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Put this on your list of things to see in MonteVerde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a must see if you are in the area. Make sure to walk all the way to the really big falls. We took a cab from our hotel (Hotel Belmar), and the cab waited for us while we hiked it (maybe 45 minutes one way, 15 minutes swimming) - $40. Also there was a $10 per person fee to the trail. The hike was not very strenuous, but was scenic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Waterfall also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to San Luis Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing