We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing waterfall!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Waterfall

San Luis Waterfall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing waterfall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is 45 min. hike thru the cloud forest.
The trail is muddy, so you should wear hiking boots.
The trail crosses the river several times.
You can really swim in the waterfall. We were planning to, but it was a little bit chilly in there.
Definitely recommend it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kl_Katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    20
    5
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Cool, off the beaten-path experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beautiful (though bumpy drive) with small stream-crossing, adventurous hike with river crossings on bridges made of tree lots, and stunning waterfall. We had the place to ourselves which was great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A small adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well-maintained trail to waterfall. Good opportunity for wildlife watching along the trail. Recent landslide wiped out part of the trail, but the owners are quick to repair it. Swimming hole at the base of the waterfall but there was so much water coming down it seemed a bit dangerous. Probably better swimming opportunity in the dry season.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to go by horseback!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a beautiful site on the outskirts of Monteverde -- great way to go see it is by horseback. Well worth the visit. If you go by horse, you'll have to leave the horse at a certain point and then hike in about 30 minutes. Well worth it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DesafioAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hike and beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Could not agree with NH-Couple more! In really was even better in the rain!!

We were there in mid-November and hiked during a morning of moderate-light but continuous rain but it did not detract from the experience at all, in fact once I'd given up on my rain-mac (it's still warm and I didn't like sweating underneath it) I thoroughly enjoyed getting soaked through. The trail was empty when we went (by one guided middle-aged couple [NH-Couple?!]) which made it even more special. We had been on 2-3 guided hikes already in Monteverde and Arenal so went without here, only paying the $10 park fee, which worked fine for us having driven there in our rented 4x4 (NB: do not try to drive to this trail without a 4x4, the roads are very rough and rocky and you have to ford a small stream).

The hike is not strenuous at all but very pleasant, the plank crossings are rudimentary but fun and have been wrapped in chicken-wire which delivered more than enough grip for us in our hiking boats.

Costa Rica is not suffocated by health & safety regulations, this is a wonderful relief compared to places like the UK and US - so stop complaining and enjoy it!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidE171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Waterfall also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to San Luis Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing