We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo
Ranked #1 of 2 Miramar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I went on this zipline trip based on the positive reivews, and I was very pleased. We felt safe the whole time (except for when we got attacked by killer ants)...and it felt like a real accomplishment when we finally got through the jungle.

I'm very impressed by the German couple that started this adventure park...well done!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 300 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We would like to separate our experiences at Adventure Park Hotel Golfo Vista, to give them different ratings, if possible. The horseback trip/zipline down the waterfalls was an excellent 5-star-plus experience. The staff were all helpful, efficient and organized, and the ziplines were fantastic! We had read that they weren’t as high or fast as some other ziplines, but found them to be perfect for our first zipline experience. And the scenery can’t be beat! Every single zipline was a beautiful glide across a waterfall, and the stop in the middle to swim in the pool beneath a huge waterfall was amazing. We especially appreciated the guides’ helpfulness with our kids – our son was small so had to go with a guide on the 2 rappels, and they were very fun and reassuring to him. Our daughter got nervous on the horse ride and one of the guides dropped back and rode with her to keep her calm and distracted. At the hotel, the food was very impressive. Our daughter was pleased to have a pasta option on the menu (picky eater!) while the rest of us were excited to have delicious local cuisine (the plantains were wonderful). A definite 5 stars for the food! The room was probably about 3 1/2 stars, because while it was very large and had two bathrooms, it seemed kind of old and worn in areas, and one shower didn’t work. It was fine, but nothing special. This location was gorgeous – perched on the side of the mountain with a wonderful view. It was quite a drive to reach the place (pouring rain as the road got narrower and more windy going up the mountain) but the road was smooth and we had no problem following signs to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was an awesome day!

The guides were funny, smart, and patient. The whole day was filled with activities, from horseback ridding to ATVs. The staff were knowledgeable and accommodating. Planning a trip to Costa Rica - you will not want to miss this adventure. Be sure to tell Jorge and Walter we said hello!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDTutle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I booked this for 2 nights thinking our kids would want to do the zip lines. However, we had done that in Monte Verde, and they didn't want to do it again. The room was OK< however, the TV didn't work, and the bed made noise whenever we turned over--loud noise. The toilet seat was broken. It was clean, and nice to have trundle beds so we could all be in one roon (5 of us).
Food in restaurant was very good.
Also, having been in Monte Verde, the views from this hotel are of clear cut forest and cows. It was a little disappointing in that regard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent tour. Guides are great. Breath taking views. Very peacefull and wonderfully fun!!! The number of lines exceeds any other tour. The owners.are very nice and strive to make your stay the best possible. Would do it again in heart beat.

John and stacey

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radman1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent Thursday evening to Monday morning. We did about everything except the ATV ride.
To break it down
Zip lines: It was Amazing. We did it one time in St.Lucia and there is no comparison. Here you follow the river downstream. Crossing and re-crossing. The break in the middle at a waterfall-swimming hole was great fun and very welcome. For anyone who might be nervous, these guys are the BEST! The other places send their guys here to get trained. It is a month long course.
The High Ropes: These will challenge you to the level you want. It is 3 separate courses,each a bit harder. If you don't rely on your safety harness (You do have to have it hooked) it can be very hard. But,with some help even my 16 y.o. daughter did it. The Tarzan swing is great fun, You will do it more that once!
The Super Man : 1/2 mile long head first speed trip! We did it twice. The 2nd day we did it , there was no wind so I had to release a drag chute at the end to help slow me down.
Side note - EVERY Zipline here has a special breaking system that the owner original invented.
Cloud Forest : We had a great time. The views and pictures we got are amazing.
The Rooms: Folks,this is an eco type resort,not a 5 star Hilton. The rooms were VERY clean and the view can not be beat. The shower took a bit to figure out the hot water. There is a small electric heater attached to the shower head. You have to finesse between the amount of flow and the heat of the water. If you like to stand in a steamy hot shower, it's not gonna happen.
The Food. We found it to be very good. Not write home about,but always enjoyable and filling after a long day of adventure.
The Staff/Guides: Because we spent several days we got to know them . All were always very nice and friendly and checking for our safety.
One man was special - Cristian/Chris We met him on the Zip line and then he ended up being our guide to the Cloud Forest. It was great as it is was just the my Wife,Daughter and I ,with him. We had lunch with him at the little inn up top and he selected our lunch items, He described what each was. It really was one of our best meals over our while stay. He took time with us to point out interesting (and tasty) things. Took pictures with us and more. We made a new friend on our visit.
I have to talk about the horses from the one bad review of the self described novice. I talked to Barb about them. I went and looked at them all and saw how they were treated and cared for. Yes.The older horses may look skinny,older horses almost always are. These horses are FAR from being overworked or abused. They are used for only ONE trip a day.The trip is up the mountain but only about 45min. She never gets "rid" of an old horse. They are retired and used as companion animals for the foals after they are weaned from their mothers. Every horse had a name. NO over weight riders are allowed. I had to get on a scale and I'm not even close to the limit. One guy had to take the truck up.
To sum up.
Great fun, amazing views,clean rooms and friendly staff. Now book it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Getting to the hotel was a challenge for us since we forgot to print directions. Lucky for us there are signs on the side of the road pointing you in the correct direction (sadly they do not tell you how far to the hotel). When you start to think “are we still going the correct direction” another sign shows up encouraging to you to continue. Once we got to the place and went into the reception/restaurant area all of our frustrations of the drive melted away with the gorgeous view. We had purchased the Gold package with 2 additional nights. The package includes dinner one night, horseback to the top of the ziplines, the 25 zipline tour, lunch after the tour and breakfast in the morning.

We were told when we booked our package that the age requirement to ride the horses was 8yrs old and that the weight limit to ride was 200 pounds. This was a bit of an issue for us since our 7yr old son wanted to ride a horse to the top, no worries the staff was able to come up with a great compromise.

The night we checked in we had our dinner that was included in the package. There aren’t words enough to express how great this meal was. It was perfect and so very delicious. I would highly recommend the Marlin in Garlic. After dinner we went back to our room which was just across from the restaurant on the second floor. The room was very nice with a large bed for us (queen or king, not sure which), bunk beds for the kids in a nice large room and large bathroom. This room also comes with a huge deck that overlooks the horse prep area and the restaurant. Many people wouldn’t find this room “perfect” but we did. It allowed the children to watch every morning as the staff got the horses ready for the day. This was the highlight of our 7yr olds mornings. He would run out to the deck as soon as he heard the horses coming and would sit out there watching as the guys got the horses ready and talk to anyone that would answer him (remember our son doesn’t really speak Spanish and some of the staff doesn’t speak English).

He met a wonderful man named Al that tried to answer all of his questions while still getting his work done. Al was so wonderful to our family especially our boys. At breakfast our darling 7yr old requested “frampled eggs” instead of picking scrambled or fried. I thought for sure this was going to be an issue since in my opinion he was being difficult but Chris (one of the staff) took it in stride and asked the boy “what is that exactly” when our son said it was both fried and scrambled, Chris went off to the kitchen and explained what the boy wanted. I was so very amazed when Chris brought out his “frambled eggs” and they were exactly how my son wanted them.

After breakfast we got a safety talk from George about what we should or shouldn’t take on the zipline tour. We were so happy to find out that Chris would also be joining us as a guide on the tour. After everyone was given a horse that was going to ride up there were a few extra horses still in the corral. This was wonderful because our 7yr old was taken down to the horses and was allowed to ride around the corral a bit. This was wonderful since it was his first time on a horse and he was bummed before this that he wasn’t going to get to ride a horse. The horses are great and are not normal trail horses, they do follow the trail without issue but they also have a personality of their own that you do no normally see in trail horses. This was great for our family since our oldest child (11yrs) hadn’t been on a horse before either and this gave him a better idea of how a horse really is than a normal trail horse would have.

Once at the top of the ziplines we were geared up and given another light hearted safety talk. Afterwards, it was time to start the tour. Our 11yr old requested to go first and everyone allowed him to do so. Next was our 7yr old, after the 7yr old went all the rest of us decided we couldn’t back out if he could do it so could the rest of us. The guides were so wonderful, friendly and an overall joy to spend the day with. When we got back to the restaurant, there was a wonderful and filling lunch waiting for us.

The next two days there were also awesome (even if nothing else compared to the zipline tour), we did the low level course, played in the spring fed pool, walked a bunch of the trails and spent a night in the restaurant with others watching the basketball playoffs. Overall, this is place is a treasure to find. Thank you Barbara, Sasha, Al, George, Chris and everyone else for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
24.5 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 20 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Las Brisas
Hotel Las Brisas
#6 of 20 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
13.8 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#10 of 20 in Punta Arenas
74 reviews
11.4 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo

Address: Tajo Alto | 6 km north of the center of Miramar, Miramar 60401, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Miramar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Miramar
Price Range: $81 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo is a gateway to adventure in Costa Rica. The peaceful resort with a magnificent view over the Gulf of Nicoya offers a great source of outdoor entertainment. Its unique Waterfall Canopy Tour over 11 Waterfalls is the attraction for adventure loving people. A second Canopy Tour includes one of the longest cables in Costa Rica,an ATV- Funpark, Horseback riding and the only High- Ropes Course in Costa Rica complete the range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Park And Hotel Vista Golfo Costa Rica/Miramar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing