We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,330)
Filter reviews
2,330 results
Traveler rating
2,023
217
52
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,023
217
52
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart playitas beach ocean breeze suite tortilla making private beach sustainability tour local snacks mirador restaurant halloween crabs costa rica tortillas lunch restaurant lower pool pura vida national park main restaurant mini bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,330 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We’ve just returned from our third visit to ADM. my wife,daughter and I are starting to feel a little like family. That’s how special the staff are at Arenas Del Mar. if you are looking for the best location ( where the rainforest and jungle meet the ocean) this is the spot. The kindest most attentive staff, great food and beverage service, on the beach, by the pool, in your room, you name it and they will make it happen. A special mention to our friend Jorge A.. You are a gem and we are so appreciative of all of your kind and thoughtful service. Pure Vida to you all and we will see you soon. Jones family

Room tip: We stayed in 703A one night...WOW
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kennethj166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayugaCollection, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kennth,
thanks for your wonderful review. We love that you and your family keep coming back to Arenas del Mar. We will work hard to make continued improvements to the infrastructure and service. And yes, it is hard to beat that mix of Ocean Views, Beachfront Experiences and Rainforest and Wildlife all around you. We hope to see you again soon. and thanks for the special mention of Jorge. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Our family was fortunate enough to get to spend 6 days at this spectacular resort located right on the beach and just a short drive to Manuel Antonio Park. The views from our room were stunning and we were just steps away from a private beach, or a 3 minute golf cart ride to the larger Espadilla beach, which is perfect for playing in the waves or going for long walks. The resort also has two beautiful infinity pools if swimming in the ocean isn’t for you.

But what is most impressive about the resort is the staff. Every person we interacted with was genuinely friendly and accommodating. No matter what we asked for the answer was always yes, and the staff often anticipated our needs before we even asked. We were traveling with our nearly four-year-old son, and the staff were all so kind to him and made him feel special. A particular thank you to the manager, Raimund, for being Theo’s best friend during our stay and treating him like a little prince. We are very grateful for everything you did to make our stay so memorable.

One more thing. My wife is currently on a gluten-free diet, and we are generally very particular about food. Arenas didn’t disappoint. Nearly everything on the menu is either gluten free, or can be made gluten free and all our meals were delicious. They have a creative menu with freshly prepared dishes using only the best local ingredients. We hesitate to stay at a hotel for this long if it isn’t close to good restaurants, but in this case we needn’t have worried. We really didn’t want to eat anywhere else.

Overall, our experience at Arenas Del Mar was absolutely top notch and the best place we’ve ever stayed.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ElieS426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We had an ocean view room and monkeys who visited every day (OK, they were trying to break in the minibar). The staff is awesome! Everyone was so helpful and gracious with my botched Spanish. Freddy, thank you for all your personalized attention. We were at first not crazy about having to take golf carts to the beach etc (hotel on a hill), but in the end we appreciated it and how easily available they were. We felt at home. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Ocean view was amazing.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DayTrip613725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayugaCollection, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Thank you for your visit and great feedback. We loved having you here and thanks for keeping your minibar locked (-; When you say that you "felt right at home" at Arenas del Mar, we know that we have done our job. Thank you for mentioning Freddy and his personalized attention. We are excited that you highly recommend us to future travelers and hope that you come back soon. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

A truly special place. We came here for 4 nights and would have extended in a heartbeat if we could. Incredible food, wonderful staff, panoramic views, and one of the best private beaches I've ever seen. Would love to come back again soon.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alisaqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We just returned from 6 nights at Arenas Del Mar and our stay was mediocre. While some aspects were excellent it is truly puzzling how this place basically has 5 stars consistently from people. We did have a good trip but we would not stay here again. To be kind I will start with the pros.

Pros:
-The front desk/concierge staff is excellent. The on and off site excursions they help you plan are excellent and well executed. They are helpful and navigated everything we threw at them very well. Our son even got an ear infection and they sent someone to the pharmacy in town and brought back drops for us then came and found us at the beach to give them to us.
-Their naturalist guides are awesome
-The grounds are lovely and you will see plenty of amazing wildlife right at the hotel, sloths, scarlet macaws, tree frogs, monkeys...
-The private beach is superb. One of the best beaches I have ever been to. Water warm, sand beautiful, huge variety of lounging arrangements.
-They do appear to have excellent sustainability practices.

Cons:
-The rooms don't feel much nicer than a motel. They feel built in the early 90's and are stylistically out of date and a little run down. We even had one of the largest and "nicest" suites. We had several minor flaws like our jacuzzi jets didn't work, our screen door didn't have a latch (key for keeping monkeys out of the room). Every morning one of our toilets smelled like raw sewage. My mother was in a bottom floor room that was built into the hillside. It was dark and smelled constantly musty.
-The food is not great and neither is the food service. The food is very expensive and just really wasn't anything special. The food staff is gruff and not very attentive. We were there for 6 days and only had one female server once. The rest seem to be mostly older males that feel like they are just sitting on these jobs without having to work very hard. Or possibly they are over worked and can't put the attention into the job. It was puzzling how attentive and high quality the front desk staff was and how lacking the food service was. Luckily town is close with a lot of eating options and I strongly recommend exploring them!

Room tip: Make sure you don't get a bottom floor room which was built into a hillside and dark and musty.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayugaCollection, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Dear Sarah,
thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. This is extremely helpful for us and today we had a management meeting and discussed every single point on your review. Please be assured that we are taking action immediately. We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations and was not at part with the great majority of our other guests. We are resolving the smell issue in your room and are also working on hiring more female staff as you suggested. You will see a real difference very soon. But also thanks for pointing out our great service and friendly concierge staff, the quality of our onside guides and tours and of course our rain forest location right on the beach. And thanks for also noticing our efforts in sustainability. We hope that knowing that we are taking your feedback into consideration, you would think about coming back someday. All the best to you and your family from us here in Manuel Antonio. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews