We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This place really has everything. I recommend requesting room #703A or B for the most spectacular view, crashing wave ambience and some porch privacy. The food was excellent-lunch and dinners priced reasonably. Fresh vegetables and fruits throughout the menus. The hotel provided excellent guides for our birdwatching and kayak tours. Everyone we spoke to enjoyed their tours of rafting and zip line. All the staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing and hovering. We could sit at the beach and pool without being pestered to buy drinks or anything. Upon arrival our room's ceiling fan squeaked and needed oiling. The stafff was very prompt at sending a maintainence man to correct the problem. My husband and I don't speak Spanish, but never had communication problems with the staff since they were all bilinguel. My lack of 5 stars for service is the result of a 45 minute wait at check in for our room to be ready. We were hot and tired from driving 4 hours, although we were seated in their beachside restaurant while they readied our room. We had to change rooms during our stay which I knew about ahead of time and the staff was efficient and very considerate helping us do that. We saw monkeys, sloths, and birds all of our 5 days. Happy hour drinks were 1/2 price and great live music was played during 2 nights. Free internet located in their gift shop. If you want a fantasic dark chocolate dessert go to Kavi Kavi for their chocolate souffle cake with vanilla ice cream. It is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaunakeeCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, General Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

Dear WaunakeeCarolyn,
Thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review about your stay at Arenas Del Mar. We are happy to hear that you feel were are a top notch destination. In terms of the check in, we are sorry that you had to wait a bit. We guarantee our guests to be able to check in at 2 pm for sure, but sometimes with earlier arrivals there might be a short wait. Thanks again and we hope to have you back with us at Areans del Mar soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed the first 5 nights of our honeymoon at Arenas del Mar and we loved it! It’s more expensive than some of the other resorts in the area, but it’s worth it. Here’s an overview…

Beaches: This resort has the best beach access in Manuel Antonio with access to 2 beaches—one public and one private. Both beaches felt very secluded which was wonderful. The paths down to the beaches are a little steep (although not nearly as steep as the other hotels in the area!), but they provide free golf cart rides if you choose not to walk. We didn’t mind walking down, but walking up was a little tiring after being in the sun and heat all morning. However, if you go to Manuel Antonio just be aware that walking up hills and steep paths is almost a must, but it’s worth it to stay in this area.

Hotel rooms: We splurged for an Ocean View Superior Room, and we’re so glad we did! We had 603B in Building 6, 3rd floor with a great view of the ocean. We got lucky…we had one of the best views and honestly, we probably would have been a little disappointed if we had been put in some of the other buildings or lower level rooms. We also had easy access to breakfast and the lobby. The rooms are pretty standard but nice. They’re spacious with a very comfortable king-size bed. The shower is huge! The only thing I would change (and it wasn’t a big deal) is the lighting in the bathroom was very dim.

Staff: We loved the staff! They are hard workers and some of the friendliest and most helpful people we met while in Costa Rica! They take the time to remember your name, joke with you, show you wildlife, and get to know you. They don’t expect tips but we tipped them anyway because we wanted to…they’re so kind! We also hired their tour guide Erosel (?) for a morning at Manuel Antonio National Park, and we loved him! He’s very knowledgeable and humorous. He brought a telescope for better viewing of the animals and got some amazing pictures through the telescope using my camera.

Other things about the resort: It’s right in the rainforest, so nature is everywhere. We saw monkeys, sloths, iguanas, geckos, and other lizards on the property. It’s $10 roundtrip if you hire one of their drivers to take you anywhere in Manuel Antonio. Breakfast is served buffet style every day with fresh fruits, various breads, rice and beans, cereal, and other options that change daily. We only ate at the El Mirador restaurant for dinner one night because we wanted to get out and explore, but we didn’t really like our penne primavera dish…it was just too spicy for us, but I’m sure they have other entrees that are better. We loved the bar which has all drinks half price during Happy Hour from 6-7pm. We can’t comment on the spa (unfortunately) because we got too sunburned the first day! However, they were running a great special “buy one treatment, get one free” while we were there.

We loved this place! Feel free to message me for more info!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie_and_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at Arenas del Mar. Its the only hotel in the area that has both views AND access to the beach. Our room was huge, beautiful and clean, and the bed was honestly one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. But the staff are really what make the place. They are beyond friendly and helpful...we were there for 5 nights and got to know many of them. They even hunted down some more of their bamboo straws for me to buy when it seemed they had run out! I agree with pbjsandwiches that the food is not the best, but its also not bad and its so convenient that we ate their twice anyway, and then went out a few times--its really easy to go out -- a taxi ride to Quepos is only $8. And yes, the drinks are great--especially at their half off happy hour! This hotel is certainly expensive, but I think its totally worth a splurge!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johiattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

If you are going to Manueal Antonio there is no place else to stay. I wouldn't bother going if you aren't going to stay here. The food was bad. Just eat somewhere else. The drinks were awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbjsandwiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

Dear pbjsandwiches,

We are happy to hear you had a good time at Arenas Del Mar Beach & Nature in Manuel Antonio. The beach, nature and amazing staff combination has made our hotel a very special place. We value your feedback about the food and Angelo, our Chef, is profoundly thankful you have mentioned this. Please contact us for anything special or direct feedback you would like to give.

Once again, thank you for your comments and feedback, which are greatly appreciated. Costa Rica (and specially Arenas Del Mar) is now your home and will be a pleasure to have you back.

The Management Team
Arenas Del Mar Beach & Nature Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The hotel borders Manuel Antonio National Park and is a short walk to the beaches. When we first arrived, I was freaked out by the long steep hills but then I was greeted by a sloth hanging out by the lobby so I quickly got over the drive. Everything is green and full of wildlife.

The location is perfect if you're looking for rainforest, beaches, wildlife and views. Any tour you book will pick you up from the hotel so it's very easy to get in and out (and every tour comes with a Costa Rican massage - roads are insane.)

The staff is nothing short of perfect. Everyone is over the top friendly and helpful.

I love this place and will be returning with my children.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We booked room 603A---one of the best rooms on the property--and it was superb. We had a giant patio with two sitting areas and a private whirlpool. Our bed had a direct ocean view. The sound of the large waves crashing on the shore was so relaxing. The bed was comfortable.

I booked a massage and a facial at the spa and both were excellent.

The hotel is the only access to the first beach (unless tide is low and nonguests would still have to cross a big rock structure to get there) and chairs and towels are provided for you. It was a beautiful beach that not crowded like the beaches in the park with an infiniti pool, bar, and restaurant a short walk away.

We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner. It was okay, and I would recommend maybe eating one night there, but there are better restaurants around if you have a car. I highly recommend Kapi Kapi for dinner. Aqua Azul was also great for lunch and I've heard the dinner is even better.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank slataw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We just got back from Arenas del Mar and had the time of our lives!! It was our second anniversary but somewhere around our tenth honeymoon. We have traveled all over the world, from Greece, to London, Paris, Costa Rica several other trips, but Arenas del Mar, by far is the best place we’ve ever stayed in!!
We rented a car to get there and it didn’t take that long. Once you get to the hotel, you don’t really need the car anymore, since the resort has a no-car policy to avoid noise pollution. From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with smiles. Victor, Rodbin and all the bellboys were always willing to take us up and down the hill!! The receptionists and management (yes management) greets you when you walk in with a wonderful fruit cocktail (you can ask for the recipe, it’s great for a girls afternoon during summer!).
Our room had the best ocean view ever!! We really enjoyed the jacuzzi outdoors, where we could not only hear the sounds of the waves, but we could also almost touch the monkeys when they came by early morning!! It was amazing. We ordered room service a couple of times, and just enjoyed staying in our beautiful, clean, comfortable room. There are two restaurants, one is right on the beach, with amazing snacks and you can enjoy cold beers on the sand or on the beach chairs, without having to walk too much. Breakfast is included in the rate, and it’s wonderful. You can chose to eat in the restaurant, or by the pool with the ocean view. Fresh fruit and a wide variety of things are offered. We ate dinner there almost everyday. We tried a couple of other restaurant in town, but we definitely liked the service and the food at Arenas del Mar much better. It’s not worth leaving this paradise!! For those who want to exercise, we recommend walking up and down (which we did, after big meals, to feel less guilty about all the wonderful food we tried).
We were also fascinated by the spa services, the location might not be the best, but the therapists were great!! They are sweet and really know how to work with your body to heal you and make you feel in heaven.
Our guide (Elses?) took us to the National Park and it was a perfect tour. We saw so much wildlife. Elses also took us on a tour around the property – they actually let you see all of the operations if you chose too! Yes! Even where the staff live. The place is not only amazing in service, but it is truly fantastic to see how they take care of their people and nature. Arenas del Mar is really sustainable and “walks the talk”.
We stayed for almost a week, since it wasn’t our first time in Costa Rica or Manuel Antonio, and we wish we would have stayed longer. There is no better place than this!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rambofix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2010

It was our pleasure to have made your experience at Arenas del Mar memorable in every way possible. It's so good to hear you had such an amazing time with us and that you were able to tour the facility and get a feel for our commitment to sustainable tourism. We are always thrilled whenever our guests take the time to write such detailed reviews on their wonderful stay here – and to spread the word about our sustainable resort accommodation. We sincerely hope that you will be able to come back to Arenas del Mar at some future date. If you have not already done so, please visit us on Facebook so that we may keep you informed about our staff, everyday events, and wildlife sightings here as part of our valued community. Thank you, again, on behalf of the entire staff at Arenas del Mar Beach & Nature Reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $365 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing