We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort in a Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My family- myself, husband, and 17 yr old daughter recently vacationed in Costa Rica and Belize. Our first 6 nights were spent at Arenas Del Mar. Everyone at this resort was very professional and very friendly. We stood in an "ocean breeze suite" in an end unit with a view of Playitas beach. The room was large with a large bathroom and very clean. Hotel staff drive you around in golf carts- to the beaches, parking lot or even main reception & restaurant. The staff that drove the golf carts were all very friendly and personable. They will stop to point out animals, sloths, etc. if you ask them to. The staff in both restaurants were also very friendly. Playitas beach is a beautiful small, secluded beach. We really enjoyed the warm water and great waves! If you want calmer surf I would advise going to the larger neighboring beach- Playa Espadilla. I really had wanted to see the wildlife- monkeys, sloths, toucans and we were lucky to see the white faced capuchin monkeys during our first full day at Playitas beach! We were able to get some great pictures as there were many of them in the trees overhead. We also saw quite a few sloths, with one in a tree right outside of our room. We got to see Toucans during our horseback riding excursion with Finca Valmy Tours which we booked at the hotel. I would really recommend this and also the Canopy Safari tour that we also booked thru the hotel. Both were excellent! The food at the restaurants were good and we had no complaints. The prices were pretty reasonable, particularly the drinks compared to other places that we have stayed at. The hotel is located in a beautiful, peaceful area and only a short taxi ride away from the center of Manuel Antonio. We didn't want to leave and definitely hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljunky037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,576 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2010

Perfection with exception!

Overall the experience was almost perfect. The location is perfect with great beach. Big waves fun to body surf. Walking distance down beach to Manuel Antonio. The animals at the resort were incredible! Sloths everywhere. Lots of iguanas and other lizards as well as birds and monkeys.

The food was amazing! You don't need to go off resort but you must go to kopi kopi. 5 star food at 2 star price! Prices for food are relatively cheap although you over pay for the water and soda.

Hands down nicest most helpful staff. Golf carts always available to shuttle you up and down hill. Never had to wait more than a few minutes for shuttle.

Now here is the one problem that hacked the wife and I off. When they clean the room, the staff turns off the AC! We hiked for 5 hours and came back to a very hot room! They also left door to balcony open worsening the problem. One day we went out to breakfast and I left a do not disturb sign out. Someone entered the room and turned off the ac. The manager told me the staff are told to do that to save energy. I paid for an expensive room and I want it cold especially because there are no other cold areas except a tiny store. I may never go back because of that which is a shame! They need to stop that. It may sound picky until you burst into flames from the heat.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acgold64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Our stay at Arenas Del Mar was a dream come true. Everything about the room was wonderful - the views, the bed, the patio, the jacuzzi, the outdoor chairs - everything. We stayed for 4 nights and ate all 4 meals at the hotel because the food was so good. To name a few of our favorites - the Mahi Mahi, the Shrimp, the traditional Costa Rica rice and beans, amazing French Toast with local fresh fruit, and many more. Everyone on the staff was extremely helpful and over-the-top nice. They all seemed personally committed to ensuring that our trip was enjoyable.

The views from the private beach were not to be believed - I kept taking pictures because I didn't think anyone from home would believe how gorgeous it was! The spa was also a dream - I had a facial and my boyfriend had a massage, and we both really enjoyed it.

I can't say enough nice things about this hotel (and everyone we met there). We are already planning another visit to Arena Del Mar.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Amazing staff, beautiful beach and outstanding rooms. Planning to stay there next visit to Cost Rica. You will not be disappointed with Arenas del Mar.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChilliinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We absolutely loved Arenas Del Mar. All of the staff - security guards, waiters, cart drivers, and front desk - were unbelievable. They, along with the awesome and unique beachfront location, make this hotel a great choice in Manuel Antonio.

Our room, while slightly small, still had a huge comfy bed, a big balcony with an amazing (!) view of the ocean, and a nice bathroom.

The food was outstanding; they were very accommodating of dietary restrictions (one of us is vegan, which they prepared a special meal for more than once!). The beaches were well-kept and tranquil.

While we appreciated the service of being carted around in electric carts, we preferred to walk around their grounds, which despite being a bit of a hike sometimes, allowed us to take in more of the natural surroundings.

We also went on an guided hike of the Manuel Antonio Reserve, organized by Arenas Del Mar. The guide was awesome, and the group was small - both of which made for an unforgettable experience. And being picked up and dropped off at your hotel is a nice bonus.

If you're looking for a special place to stay in an already special place of the world, Arenas Del Mar will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acjcoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

What a fantastic resort! The people were wonderful and very friendly. The room was immaculate and very comfortable! We arrived early that morning and were able to get into our room by 10 am. The food was excellent! The breakfast was complementary and the Costa Rican dishes were delicious. The staff worked very long hours but they always had a smile on their face and went out of their way to provide exceptional service! There are no cars at the hotel but the guys that drove the golf carts were always there to give people rides. Ersel was fantastic! He is the resident naturalist and we took a wonderful early morning bird tours with him. He knows his birds and we saw so many different species. It was awesome! He also guided on a very informative tour through Manuel Antonio National Park that I would strongly recommend. He knew the paths to take to avoid the crowds and where the cool animals and birds were. He was awesome and very nice!! Service was excellent at this hotel! We could not have found a better place and we definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlolsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

After much research on TA and elsewhere we selected Arenas del Mar based on location near water and the consistently great reviews. We were not disappointed. Booked directly with the hotel and communication was very efficient. We booked a Premium Suite and were in building 4 which is totally private...possibily not the straightaway view as from building 7 but we preferred it because it was not right at the pool restaurant and reception area and therefore the terrace was very private. I believe the room was 403A. For a smaller room 403B had some view and also very private. The room was just as expected but be prepared that in any of the suite type rooms the sitting area in not air conditioned and many have sofa beds (for families) and it is really too hot so they bring in a very large a/c unit which does work but very noisy. There is talk of air conditioning the whole unit which probably should have been done when being built. The terraces are just beautiful and jacuzzi really nice. It was a great room and although very expensive worth it for the view and space.
Service at the hotel from the golf cart drivers to wait staff at the restaurant was very good as well as reception. We did receive some incorrect info on certain things at the reception but it worked out fine...one reception staff member was less than welcoming but most were very professional.
Spa experience very good...Paloma for massage one of the best I have ever had. Restaurant was good...it was very hot when we were there with not much wind so I must say I found it pretty hot in there and preferred to have a table by the pool which they set up about three for breakfast and dinner. Dinners were excellent ...breakfast buffet was okay but not the selection I was expecting.. Arenas del Mar is a great choice for your stay in Manual Antonio...very quiet and relaxing in a low key way while still offering everything you could want. There was a mix of families, couples and others staying there...I personally think the pool etc. is more geared to adults and most of the families were gone all day. The small beach area is nice for sitting under a tree and reading.....too many waves for serious swimming but beautiful. I know some people prefer the buildings closer to the water ie 1/2/3 but honestly the views are pretty blocked and I was glad we had not requested that area. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $377 - $1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing