We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,094)
Filter reviews
2,094 results
Traveler rating
1,820
197
44
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,820
197
44
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartplayitas beachocean breeze suitetortilla makingprivate beachsustainability tourplayitas restauranthalloween crabspremium suitelocal snackscosta ricacart driverstico bartortillaslower poolnational parkmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 2,094 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2017

A lovely resort property and I highly recommend it. Not so much for kids. Adult escape. Super clean, superb service, fresh, local food. Probably the nicest property in Antonio Manuel. Privacy, quiet, balconies with views, good coffee. Leave your fancy gems at home, this is not the place. Extremely casual and even at dinner, everyone is casual. Spa, but very limited

Room Tip: Top floor always wins for me. 802A best room I think. Good light, views, privacy and easy access to main pool, bar, restaurant
Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Thanks for your recommendation, Jan. We actually find that most families have a fantastic time at Arenas del Mar. They thoroughly enjoy crab-catching by the beach, splashing around in the pools, tortilla-making and our themed dinners to name a few things. Families definitely make the most of the many fun activities available around Manuel Antonio too. The monkeys and sloths around the resort also go down well. We like to think we strike an excellent balance between adult luxury and enjoyment for younger ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Room was clean and well maintained. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Floor & bathroom tile were a bit dated but that did not matter at all to us. Loved hearing the howler monkeys. Saw a number of white face monkeys as well as squirrel monkeys. The staff was the best we’ve ever seen! The food is excellent and the welcome drink of pineapple/coconut/mint was a favorite. We are looking forward to our next trip back!

Room Tip: We had a garden view....next time I will pick an ocean view. Even so we loved our stay and will be back. Hotel staff is super friendly and very helpful.
Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Arenas Del Mar was perfect! Prepare to feel well cared for the entire time you visit. Our room was well stocked and clean. The food was excellent and the people were friendly and helpful. We had to leave very early in the morning and the had a to go breakfast waiting for us as we checked out. It was all the special touchs!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ivy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

On our arrival we were greeted by an amazingly friendly staff, a warm breeze, a private beach, and a white faced monkey! Breakfast was included and fantastic. A very romantic and luxe place to hang out. Manuel Antonio beach is a short walk away, and lots of good restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view with a patio. Not a hot tub, which looked great too. I would definitely go for the view. It is right there!
Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allizucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

I did not expect to be this impressed with our stay at Arenas del Mar. The staff are trained VERY well, they provide personalized service and seem to anticipate our every need. True value for money.

The grounds are impeccable, they do a great job in blending the architecture with the natural surroundings.

The pictures of the hotel do not do it justice. We did not have to leave the premises as the restaurants afforded many dining options. The menu had good variety, and everything I ate was delicious and plating was beautiful. The cocktails (specially the Pura Vida drink) were also great.

Lastly, I did not have to go to Manuel Antonio Park as I saw sloths, white faced monkeys, an iguana, tons of racoons and squirrels monkeys in the premises.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Adventure_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

We’re over the moon to hear that we exceeded your expectations, Adventure_MD! You’re right, at times Arenas del Mar can feel more like a safari than a resort. We’re lucky to be located so close to Manuel Antonio National Park – the animals don’t know where the park ends and the hotel begins! Great to hear you loved the personal touch at the resort, and our food too. Everything we serve is fresh, locally-sourced, and always delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews