We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I felt like a Queen.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“I felt like a Queen.”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The service we received here was wonderful. We were waited like royalty. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and we slept to the sound of the waves crashing against the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgaringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    181
    42
    22
    10
See reviews for
541
950
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We loved the little private beach! And some rooms (buildings 3,4,5,6) have amazing views! We had GREAT massages and saw TONS of monkeys and sloths! It was romantic, relaxing, beautiful, and fun. The only negative - the food was only so-so. Totally edible and fine, but not great. Overall - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlps25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Everything about this place was great. The 2 pools, the food in the restaurants, the staff, the room (we had one of the better ones I think, terrace with jacuzzi), views and access to beaches.
Only 1 downside for a hotel of this quality was that there was no free shuttle into town given it's location, way down a windy road, they charged to do this. But that is only a small complaint, otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aifric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We were greeted with frozen, minty drinks and a smile. Such comfort after a long day travelling the roads of Costa Rica! Room was beautiful, comfortable and spacious. I actually had to pull up one of the bed sheets to see what kind of mattress we were sleeping on, as it was the most comfortable I've ever rested in.
Restaurant fare was well-prepared and presented.
My highest compliments!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmy2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We booked to stay in Arenas del Mar based on the excellent reviews it receives on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed when just before we were due to fly out, the hotel tried to cancel our reservation, giving the obviously spurious reason that they had decided to become a 'no-children' resort (they knew we had a child when we booked??). Despite this we insisted they honour the booking and agreed to change our dates o accommodate them (to a date when children were allowed?!). We re-arranged our holiday in order to stay here. I'm glad we did.

Staying at this hotel was one of the best parts of our tour of Costa Rica. We saw more animals in the hotel grounds within the first half an hour than we had seen anywhere else (and we had been to two of the national parks by then). The room was like a luxury apartment and it was great to go to sleep witht he balcony doors open, listening to the waves on the beach.

The beach itself is accessed via a small band of tropical forest and gives the impression of being a private beach, although it is not. The hotel has security guards patrolling this secluded section of the coast and serves cocktails and meals to its guests. Surf boards, towels and buckets and spades are also provided and it's great fun playing in the waves or watching the ghost crabs. Truly idyllic setting for families or honeymooners.

Aside from the short wak to the beach, in order to move around the hotel it is necessary to call reception to arrange golf buggy transport. The staff who arrive outside your room within minutes to chauffeur you to the restaurant are always cheerful and friendly and twe appreciated that they made a real effort with our seven-year-old who can be a bit shy around new people.

Having dinner in the hotel restaurant in the pitch dark whilst a thunderstorm raged around was a truly special experience although there are some better value places to eat locally including Marlins and Ronny's Place. The hotel is completely self-contained but it is worth venturing out as the gift shop is expensive and Quepos is a delightful area to explore.

We will definitely be coming back to stay here in the future and would consider returning every year if the hotel could sort out it's family policy and improve facilities for children. In particular, by providing more suitable sleeping arrangements.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minidelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
Dear Minidelts

First of all, we want to thank you for the great review you wrote on Tripadvisor about Arenas Del Mar and we will make sure we fix the issues you mentioned to make sure you become a regular guest and come back every year. We are a bit surprised by the confusion about our child policy as we have always had a policy of welcoming children at Arenas Del Mar. Most of the other upscale hotels in Manuel Antonio do not accept children and maybe there was some kind of confusion with the agency you booked with. Nevertheless, we will work on improving the sleeping arrangements with the extra bed for children and makes sure that next time you come, you will perceive eating at our restaurants as the best value in town. Looking forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2009

LOVED this place. Cannot say enough good things about every detail. The staff was so friendly and nice. The rooms were great and the bed was really comfy! The beaches and pools are amazing. The food is really good. Definitely the best place we stayed during our trip and I would only stay here if we go back to Manuel Antonio!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

You can stop your hotel research right now, Arenas del Mar is the place to go. This place was amazing from the minute we checked in! Arenas del Mar has beachfront access and to my knowledge you will not find this anywhere else in Manuel Antonio. Our room was in the 300 building, which is a perfect location. We had a pool and the ocean both just steps away. The room was phenomenal. This is the first time in all my years of travel that I can recall a hotel room exceeding my expectations. We stayed in an Ocean Breeze Suite and it was worth every penny. The bedroom had a gorgeous view through the trees right to the ocean and the deck was huge! I also can't say enough about the service at this hotel. Every single staff member was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is built on the side of a mountain and guests are driven around in golf carts. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a cart to come pick us up. The hotel has much of the same wildlife as the National Park. In fact, we saw more animals (iguanas, monkeys, sloths, etc) on the hotel grounds than we did in the National Park. The breakfast that is included with the room rate is very good. We enjoyed both restaurants on the property. Our favorite restaurant in Manuel Antonio was Kappi Kappi - the food was fantastic and dessert was out of this world! We booked a surf lesson and canopy zipline tour through the hotel and we recommend both. Our zipline tour guides were great! Also, I had a hot stone massage at Las Brisas Spa (in the hotel) that was to die for! Of all the places we've visited, Arenas del Mar has been our favorite!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MABKJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing