We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and were AMAZED by the impeccable customer service and peaceful facilities. The hotel room was way bigger and nicer than we expected, and we were treated like royalty the entire time. There wasn't a single bad item on the menu, and we had something new everyday! Thank you Arenas Del Mar for an incredible vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

We loved our stay at this resort, the food was amazing, we had a great meal for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We stayed in building 2 which overlooks the pool, it was very clean, and the bed was super comfy. The balcony was nice, and had a great day bed, in which i found myself taking plenty of afternoon siestas. The staff is super friendly, and they take the time to answer any questions that you may have. We had an amazing time at this resort, and i have to thank the staff for this, they truly know the meaning of great service!

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms on the cliff for the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ToniS2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We just got back from Arenas del Mar. The location of this resort is perfect. It is on the edge of the rain forest bordering on a long, beautiful beach. We stayed in building 4, which I like very much because you are high in the rain forest and very close to the restaurant. Buildings 4-7 are high up on the cliff and buildings 1-3 are on the smaller beach. We saw monkeys, sloths and raccoons right from the balcony of our room. The staff, especially our favorite guy Angel, is so pleasant and engaging and happy to fulfill your every need. You are driven to the beach and to your taxi in golf carts which creates a fun experience. There are surf lessons right on the beach and the entrance to the National Park is a 20 minute walk down the beach. The restaurant is wonderful and we dined every morning at our table by the pool. The food is excellent and I consider myself a good judge because my son and his wife are both great chefs. Breakfast includes everything from pancakes to french toast to omlettes to Costa Rican egg specialties. Dinners were delicious with my personal favorites being serviche and mushroom risotto. And great burgers and mac and cheese by room service. Weather was sunny and humid with showers most afternoons. We only had one day of clouds. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Arenas del Mar was all that we hoped for - a quiet, secluded paradise right on the Pacific. The hotel has its own private beach, along with access to the larger public beach. We had planned to do lots of excursions in Manuel Antonio, but once we arrived at this oasis, we were not eager to leave. The rooms are beautiful, with their own private balconies overlooking the ocean. Breakfast is included and it is delicious. Dinner is slightly pricey but pretty yummy. The hotel staff is fantastic. They drive you around the hilly property in little golf carts and are very friendly. If you are looking for a great experience near Manuel Antonio, don't look any further! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in 102B. It was a smaller room but was on the end of the building and so felt very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a small hotel in the Manuel Antonio area. It consists of seven buildings, each three stories, with two units per story. On each floor there is a large suite type room with a small outside tub and an expansive outdoor terrace and the other room is a large room with a huge bathroom and also an extensive terrace. The buildings cascade down from the reception/restaurant area to the beach, this means that the buildings closer to the restaurant are higher and have nicer views. I stayed in the regular room on the third floor of building 7 (the highest one) and the wrap around terrace had the most amazing view. This building is also the closest to the restaurant so that means less uphill walking but note that there is a service which shuttles you up if you don't want to walk. Being on these higher buildings also means you are further away from the beach and if you don't want to wait to be brought up then you have quite a hike.

The hotel is lush with vegetation and there is ton of wildlife right on the premises. We counted four sloths sleeping on the beach one day, were visited by a band of white faced capuchins right in front of our room and saw a myriad of birds.

The food in the hotel is very good. The breakfast was the best meal, there is food and drink service on the beach and it was very good. The dinner was ok but we tried the two other "best restaurants" in Manuel Antonio and they weren't any better..if I were to go back I would just eat at the Hotel.

Anyone who has been to Costa Rica has to notice that the people are just the best, they are warm and helpful and just plain kind. The staff at the hotel was outstanding, everyone.

After staying in other more expensive places I find that Arenas is a great value and definitively the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: For the best views, third floor on buildings 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank interterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

A fantastic vacation with our family. The place is beautiful, clean, with a good location and amazing views.
The staff was friendly and always in a good attitude to help and provide information.
We had the monkeys coming over every day for breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margherita_krupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was scared to go anywhere that lacked the word "four seasons" in it, let alone in a developing country on an adventure that was planned by someone that I hold dear but has exhibited the decision making skills of 1990s Robert Downey jr. or Scott Weiland. In the nights leading up to the trip, I fantasized that a bankruptcy, a natural disaster, or an extreme illness would cause people to sober up and cancel the trip or redirect us to somewhere with a tree logo.

I was all up in my head and totally wrong. Arenas del Mar is an amazing incredible place worthy of five stars. There are three things that set it apart.

First, the people. Everyone that works there exhibits passion and caring. We arrived after a 7 hour red eye flight and a 3 hour van ride from San Jose. We got there at 10 am and they told us breakfast was over at 10 and the next meal was at noon. We told of our travel and they kept the kitchen open. georgette served us and treated us like family. The kids dove in the pool between fruit courses. My mother in law, who generally reacts quickly to stress, exhibited a sense of calm and happiness not seen since i put the ring on her daughters hand some 15 years ago. My significant others in law put away his hand sanitizer and sketched a smile. Aside from Georgette, every staff member was outstanding. Angel, Luis, Ersel should be on the Costa Rican Mt Rushmore.

Second, the rooms. We had two rooms two bathrooms a huge balcony with a spa and 360 degree ocean views. The shower was built for a giant and the beds and air conditioning were so comfortable. My brother in law, who is the money guy,estimated it was $20 million view.

Third, the location. You are in the middle of the rainforest on a beach. You are surrounded by monkeys, iguanas, sloths, and yet, you can raise a smile and whatever you want will be delivered to you by people who care. There is no corporate manual, they will get you whatever they want. Pineapple juice, seafood risotto, you name it. They get it.

Just so you know I'm not totally drinking the kool aid, there are some things that could be improved but you could say that about a Beatles record. Total nits but the food could be better, happy hour could include snacks, and there could be more seats around the pool.

Room Tip: Highest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Petezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Petezilla,
thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and entertaining review. We love your sense of humor and we love even more that you and your family had such a great time in Manuel Antonio. First of all, congratulations on taking the plunge to stay in a hotel that is not a four seasons and ritz carlton. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed the experience at our resort that is part of a small group of sustainable luxury hotels and lodges called Cayuga Collection. Thank you also for pointing our the areas where we can improve. This kind of feedback is very important for us and we will work on the snacks, more chairs and constantly improving our food. We loved hearing about how your "suegra" (that is mother in law in Spanish) and the 20 Mio dollar view. But what we were most excited about was the way you described your service experience in general and the connection that you were able to create with our staff. This is what we strive for and we are very happy to hear that it happened. Please come back soon. All the best from the team at Arenas del Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,606 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $427 - $1,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing