We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in Manuel Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a small hotel in the Manuel Antonio area. It consists of seven buildings, each three stories, with two units per story. On each floor there is a large suite type room with a small outside tub and an expansive outdoor terrace and the other room is a large room with a huge bathroom and also an extensive terrace. The buildings cascade down from the reception/restaurant area to the beach, this means that the buildings closer to the restaurant are higher and have nicer views. I stayed in the regular room on the third floor of building 7 (the highest one) and the wrap around terrace had the most amazing view. This building is also the closest to the restaurant so that means less uphill walking but note that there is a service which shuttles you up if you don't want to walk. Being on these higher buildings also means you are further away from the beach and if you don't want to wait to be brought up then you have quite a hike.

The hotel is lush with vegetation and there is ton of wildlife right on the premises. We counted four sloths sleeping on the beach one day, were visited by a band of white faced capuchins right in front of our room and saw a myriad of birds.

The food in the hotel is very good. The breakfast was the best meal, there is food and drink service on the beach and it was very good. The dinner was ok but we tried the two other "best restaurants" in Manuel Antonio and they weren't any better..if I were to go back I would just eat at the Hotel.

Anyone who has been to Costa Rica has to notice that the people are just the best, they are warm and helpful and just plain kind. The staff at the hotel was outstanding, everyone.

After staying in other more expensive places I find that Arenas is a great value and definitively the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: For the best views, third floor on buildings 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank interterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

A fantastic vacation with our family. The place is beautiful, clean, with a good location and amazing views.
The staff was friendly and always in a good attitude to help and provide information.
We had the monkeys coming over every day for breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margherita_krupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was scared to go anywhere that lacked the word "four seasons" in it, let alone in a developing country on an adventure that was planned by someone that I hold dear but has exhibited the decision making skills of 1990s Robert Downey jr. or Scott Weiland. In the nights leading up to the trip, I fantasized that a bankruptcy, a natural disaster, or an extreme illness would cause people to sober up and cancel the trip or redirect us to somewhere with a tree logo.

I was all up in my head and totally wrong. Arenas del Mar is an amazing incredible place worthy of five stars. There are three things that set it apart.

First, the people. Everyone that works there exhibits passion and caring. We arrived after a 7 hour red eye flight and a 3 hour van ride from San Jose. We got there at 10 am and they told us breakfast was over at 10 and the next meal was at noon. We told of our travel and they kept the kitchen open. georgette served us and treated us like family. The kids dove in the pool between fruit courses. My mother in law, who generally reacts quickly to stress, exhibited a sense of calm and happiness not seen since i put the ring on her daughters hand some 15 years ago. My significant others in law put away his hand sanitizer and sketched a smile. Aside from Georgette, every staff member was outstanding. Angel, Luis, Ersel should be on the Costa Rican Mt Rushmore.

Second, the rooms. We had two rooms two bathrooms a huge balcony with a spa and 360 degree ocean views. The shower was built for a giant and the beds and air conditioning were so comfortable. My brother in law, who is the money guy,estimated it was $20 million view.

Third, the location. You are in the middle of the rainforest on a beach. You are surrounded by monkeys, iguanas, sloths, and yet, you can raise a smile and whatever you want will be delivered to you by people who care. There is no corporate manual, they will get you whatever they want. Pineapple juice, seafood risotto, you name it. They get it.

Just so you know I'm not totally drinking the kool aid, there are some things that could be improved but you could say that about a Beatles record. Total nits but the food could be better, happy hour could include snacks, and there could be more seats around the pool.

Room Tip: Highest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Petezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Petezilla,
thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and entertaining review. We love your sense of humor and we love even more that you and your family had such a great time in Manuel Antonio. First of all, congratulations on taking the plunge to stay in a hotel that is not a four seasons and ritz carlton. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed the experience at our resort that is part of a small group of sustainable luxury hotels and lodges called Cayuga Collection. Thank you also for pointing our the areas where we can improve. This kind of feedback is very important for us and we will work on the snacks, more chairs and constantly improving our food. We loved hearing about how your "suegra" (that is mother in law in Spanish) and the 20 Mio dollar view. But what we were most excited about was the way you described your service experience in general and the connection that you were able to create with our staff. This is what we strive for and we are very happy to hear that it happened. Please come back soon. All the best from the team at Arenas del Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is my first entry on trip advisor and even though we went to Costa Rica in June, I still have wonderful memories of our trip and have wanted to write this review since the day we came home. My family and I went to Costa Rica for the first time and we stayed at Arenas del Mar in June 2014. We all loved it so very much! The staff were amazing! All of the staff were so warm and friendly and so accommodating! We felt like family! We stayed at Arenas del mar during the World Cup and the hotel guests and the staff all watched the soccer games together and they painted our faces with the Costa Rican flag. We all cheered and hugged when the Costa Rican team won. The staff and management went out of their way to make our trip so memorable. Our room was immaculate as was the whole resort! The beach was beautiful and we enjoyed the waves and the kids loved their surfing lessons with Alex. Alex gave us a pineapple and the bartender gladly cut it up for us and we all shared it! We still talk about the fantastic food and fruit that we got on our trip!! We loved the nature tours, the beach and surfing, the food and the pools! I especially enjoyed the functional training workouts in the early mornings! At first I was disappointed because there was no fitness room, but these workouts were more challenging than any workout I could have done in a gym and they were lead by the hotel manager!! Thanks for everything! I would highly recommend Arenas del Mar to families, couples or single individuals!!! Beth and Frank

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We travelled with 2 of our kids aged 22 and 26. Had 2 rooms right next to the office. One was a suite with a jacuzzi and the other without. Perfect location and perfect for convenience. The staff is amazing and is available 24 hours a day for questions. We arranged prior to the trip our adventures for the nature walk(Hannia finds animals where you would see nothing without a guide, she is incredible), white water rafting( so much fun) and hang gliding ( superman is great-$40 extra lasts a minute but worth it ). The food doesn't disappoint either. Try outside the hotel at Kapi Kapi , Victoria's , Ronny's and Raphael's also. You never wait for a golf cart or the staff calls for a cart. The trip from start to finish is phenomenal.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooty4236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at Arenas Del Mar this past week of August 9th, 2014 - and the place was absolutely fantastic! As a family of four - the rooms (each with a deck with its own private hot tub!) were amazing - however, what was truly great, was the incredibly warm, and wonderful service we received each day from the staff. When our daughters commented how much they loved the "rambutan" fruits - (lychees?) one of the wonderful workers (Rodbin) sent a bag to our room!
The location, the beach, the views, the food, the staff all incredible! One of the best vacations and experiences I have ever had! We are already planning to come back - and this would be the place to stay! Claudia and Taub!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taub2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We chose Arenas del Mar based on the great reviews we found on Trip advisor and the proximity to the beach. Needless to say that we were very pleased with the hotel amenities, service, location (Walking distance to the beach),food and the million $ views!!.
Rooms are very large and comfortable and we even had a jet tub in the balcony with an awesome view of the Pacific ocean. We watched iguanas, monkeys, lizards, etc., playing outside on the trees, in front of our room. Our daughter was thrilled! Warning: Be prepared to spend a lot of money as comfort, superb service and luxury accommodations don't come cheap; but it was all worth it! We'll be back to Costa Rica, pretty soon, as we fell in love with the country and Arenas del Mar made us feel like we were in our own vacation home. Happiness and relaxation are…. Priceless!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajandraQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $377 - $1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing