We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Nearby Hotels
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$239
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$813
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$238
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$301
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$194
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$302
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$116
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,033)
Filter reviews
2,033 results
Traveler rating
1,763
194
43
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,763
194
43
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartplayitas beachocean breeze suitetortilla makingprivate beachsustainability tourlocal snacksmirador restaurantpremium suitehalloween crabscosta ricacart driverstico bartortillaslunch restaurantlower poolnational park
Filter
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 2,033 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We travelled with 2 of our kids aged 22 and 26. Had 2 rooms right next to the office. One was a suite with a jacuzzi and the other without. Perfect location and perfect for convenience. The staff is amazing and is available 24 hours a day for questions. We arranged prior to the trip our adventures for the nature walk(Hannia finds animals where you would see nothing without a guide, she is incredible), white water rafting( so much fun) and hang gliding ( superman is great-$40 extra lasts a minute but worth it ). The food doesn't disappoint either. Try outside the hotel at Kapi Kapi , Victoria's , Ronny's and Raphael's also. You never wait for a golf cart or the staff calls for a cart. The trip from start to finish is phenomenal.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooty4236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at Arenas Del Mar this past week of August 9th, 2014 - and the place was absolutely fantastic! As a family of four - the rooms (each with a deck with its own private hot tub!) were amazing - however, what was truly great, was the incredibly warm, and wonderful service we received each day from the staff. When our daughters commented how much they loved the "rambutan" fruits - (lychees?) one of the wonderful workers (Rodbin) sent a bag to our room!
The location, the beach, the views, the food, the staff all incredible! One of the best vacations and experiences I have ever had! We are already planning to come back - and this would be the place to stay! Claudia and Taub!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taub2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We chose Arenas del Mar based on the great reviews we found on Trip advisor and the proximity to the beach. Needless to say that we were very pleased with the hotel amenities, service, location (Walking distance to the beach),food and the million $ views!!.
Rooms are very large and comfortable and we even had a jet tub in the balcony with an awesome view of the Pacific ocean. We watched iguanas, monkeys, lizards, etc., playing outside on the trees, in front of our room. Our daughter was thrilled! Warning: Be prepared to spend a lot of money as comfort, superb service and luxury accommodations don't come cheap; but it was all worth it! We'll be back to Costa Rica, pretty soon, as we fell in love with the country and Arenas del Mar made us feel like we were in our own vacation home. Happiness and relaxation are…. Priceless!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajandraQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

After a totally blissful three nights at Kura Design Villas we had booked the last three nights of our Costa Rican holiday at the highly rated Arenas del Mar resort. The contrast between the two could not be greater.
The buildings at Arenas del Mar wouldn't look out of place on a third rate golf course. The suites are well appointed in a dull unimaginative way. No thought or flair put into the decoration and no Costa Rican flavour whatsoever. There was nothing Eco about this place at all apart from the beautiful jungle and beach that the buildings were dumped on.
After six hours we were seriously considering our options. After one meal we certainly vowed not to eat there again . The food was bland , poorly presented and vastly overpriced. The drinks similarly . The possible cause of this is that most of the clientele resemble extras from Housewives of New Jersey.
I'm certain it's possible to spend far less and have a far more authentic and satisfactory experience of a beach holiday on Costa Rica's wild and beautiful Pacific coast.
I would like to question the Eco credentials of the place and also question how this hotel can be part of the same group as Kura and Finca Rosa Blanca which are in a different league.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear NickS,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Of course, we were very disappointed to read that we were not able to meet your expectations, especially since you seemed to have had great stays at two other Cayuga Collection properties that share the same commitment to quality and sustainability. But we take your feedback as a challenge and opportunity to improve and get better. We are sorry that the style and décor of the resort was not quite yours and that the meal you had in our restaurant did not live up to your standards. We typically get rave reviews about the guest room experience and our food in the restaurant, but will continue to work hard in order to further improve in both categories. There is one part of your review, however, that surprised us. It seems that we have failed to better explain all our sustainability efforts to you. Most likely you were not on our “back of the house” sustainability tour, that we offer free of charge to all of our guests; we belive that, such an experience would have radically changed your concept of our sustainability program. Arenas del Mar has been built and operated since day one with the highest levels of sustainability in mind. We certainly realize that sustainability is a process and never fully achieved, but we are also very proud of what we have achieved in the past years. We were the first five star hotel in Costa Rica to be awarded the highest award of five sustainability leaves by the CST (Certification for Sustainable Tourism) and have received widespread praise for our continued conservation and community development efforts. Since you reside in Costa Rica, we invite you to come back at your convenience and will be happy to take you on a tour and explain all of our efforts in more detail. For future guests that might read this review, it is very important to note that we welcome guests from all countries of the world and all States of the US. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back at one of the many Cayuga Collection properties in Costa Rica or Nicaragua, including Arenas del Mar, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for a weekend break from volunteer work. The hotel was beautiful. Perfect location on the beach and close to town and park. Rooms were large and beds were very comfortable. The best part however was the staff! They were attentive, knowledgable, helpful, and friendly. One of the best places to stay in the world!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Iimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews