We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Malibu, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Arenas del Mar, Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We loved our visit! The hotel is lovely, our big room overlooking the forest and ocean was perfect for viewing animals or sitting in our jacuzzi. The staff could not have been more gracious or helpful.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor suites overlooking the beach see a lot of animals, also close to the beach restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andreaz344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    173
    37
    22
    8
See reviews for
477
879
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We took our teenage granddaughters to Costa Rica this past June for a week and stayed at Arenas Del Mar. It was the PERFECT choice! My husband and I had been to Manual Antonio/Quepos once before and were frustrated by the lack of beach access. Arenas Del Mar is one of the few resorts that is directly on the beach and offers rainforest experience by being built up along the rainforest cliffs. This resort is wonderful in so many ways. We chose a 3 room suite that connected to a central foyer with 3 baths (a must for teen girls) and we had two huge, spacious balconies, one with a jacuzzi. Besides the great accommodations, the hotel staff took care of everything. We used the concierge to book two different zip line trips. They called taxis for us to go Into town. They have ocean side tables and serve lunch on the beach and there is a huge beachside cabana bar, also serving everyday until 5. The staff is extremely attentive and courteous. The coolest thing about this location is that we could walk down to the little town of Manuel Antonio, play on the beach, explore in the resort's trails and look and watch for monkeys and sloths that live on the hillside rainforest (which goes all the way down to the beach)--without ever having to leave the area. The hotel also offers nighttime wildlife walks and Eco tours of the facility. The hotel is very eco-friendly and eco-conscious. The level of service was the best we have ever experienced and we have traveled extensively in South .America, North America and Europe. It was wonderful to feel like we were living in a rainforest, right on the Pacific Ocean, and yet were staying in such upscale surroundings. They have two pools, a poolside restaurant and another restaurant at the top of the hill, along with a huge bar and reception lodge. The views from both the top and the bottom of the resort are spectacular. We are definitely planning to go back to Arenas Del Mar and would not consider going anywhere else in Costa Rica. Arenas del Mar provides the total Costa Rican experience.

Room Tip: We found that the rooms next to the beach were the most convenient for the 5 of us. We had a close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianneATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here three nights and the stay was excellent. The staff could not do enough to make the stay wonderful. On the day we arrived we saw and heard howler monkeys on the way to our room which was an ocean view room. We also saw sloths and a boa on the property.

We booked a park tour through the hotel and a guide was provided for us. She was great and we went in the morning and saw lots of animals. The park is nearby.

The restaurant provided most delicious food and the breakfast outside by the pool with an ocean view was fantastic.

If there are better hotels in Manuel Antonio I am not sure how they could be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 5 days and I can not stress enough how EXCELLENT this resort is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The staff treated us like family and we were totally spoiled by the attention. I congratulate this hotel for its staff, location, luxurious surroundings. Just magestic!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We did not stay here. We only visited the resort to eat two times. I am Celiac and they have gluten free choices at both restaurants! The food and service were wonderful. The resort property is absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 5 nights here and did not want to leave. The location, beauty, friendly and helpful staff, great facilities, restaurants, etc., all were just great. Their participation in sustainability and respect of nature and ecology are unique and a great example. Also, the staff really seemed like a big family that enjoyed working there. This spilled over to the guests and everyone seemed to get along so well as a result. We definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean breeze rooms have fine views at less cost than Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This resort was expensive but it was gorgeous and had outstanding service. It delivered everything it promised. All the staff were helpful and spoke English well; they were kind about my attempts to speak a bit of Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg_and_Mike_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing