We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here three nights and the stay was excellent. The staff could not do enough to make the stay wonderful. On the day we arrived we saw and heard howler monkeys on the way to our room which was an ocean view room. We also saw sloths and a boa on the property.

We booked a park tour through the hotel and a guide was provided for us. She was great and we went in the morning and saw lots of animals. The park is nearby.

The restaurant provided most delicious food and the breakfast outside by the pool with an ocean view was fantastic.

If there are better hotels in Manuel Antonio I am not sure how they could be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,509
    180
    40
    22
    10
See reviews for
532
939
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 5 days and I can not stress enough how EXCELLENT this resort is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The staff treated us like family and we were totally spoiled by the attention. I congratulate this hotel for its staff, location, luxurious surroundings. Just magestic!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We did not stay here. We only visited the resort to eat two times. I am Celiac and they have gluten free choices at both restaurants! The food and service were wonderful. The resort property is absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 5 nights here and did not want to leave. The location, beauty, friendly and helpful staff, great facilities, restaurants, etc., all were just great. Their participation in sustainability and respect of nature and ecology are unique and a great example. Also, the staff really seemed like a big family that enjoyed working there. This spilled over to the guests and everyone seemed to get along so well as a result. We definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean breeze rooms have fine views at less cost than Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This resort was expensive but it was gorgeous and had outstanding service. It delivered everything it promised. All the staff were helpful and spoke English well; they were kind about my attempts to speak a bit of Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg_and_Mike_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I normally would have given this resort a 4-5 rating. The rooms are night, the setting is lovely, the food is quite good. However, our last day at the resort was hard to forget and left a lasting negative impression. Each day at the resort, we had visited a baby sloth who had spent the prior 2-3 days napping in a tree next to the reception area. On the final day, we saw a group of staff members around the tree watching a huge boa constrictor stalk the baby sloth. I was distressed by this and asked if something might be done to save the vulnerable baby sloth. The staff members laughed at me and patronizingly tried to explain to me that "its nature." I have to see suffering and death on a daily basis at work and really didn't need to experience this "nature" on my vacation. I was disgusted by the reaction of the staff and was left with a horrible memory of this resort. Despite all of the nice things about it, I won't ever go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CatieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Catie,
On behalf of all of our team at Arenas Del Mar, we regret having provoked this bad memory about your stay with us. Even if there is a natural “circle of life” that we deeply respect as part of our sustainability philosophy, there is a greater respect that we like to pay to our visiting guests. We would also like to let you know that Arenas Del Mar does work with several animal shelters that cure, house and release wildlife who have been hurt. Please accept our sincere apology since we did not intend to patronize you or make you feel uncomfortable in any way possible. We are also happy to let you know that, fortunately, after a couple of hours, the boa desisted and the baby sloth is still alive. Again, we are sorry for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful visit to Costa Rica. It is a beautiful country, and is distinguished by the warmth of its people.

One of the high points was absolutely our 3 night stay at Arenas Del Mar. The only "downside" was we had to depart. The resort is distinguished by its location directly on beach. The dense jungle property is navigated by carts driven by the efficient and friendly staff. Whenever the transportation on the extensive ground is needed, the response is immediate. The entire staff is warm and caring.

Arenas is luxurious and casual at the same time. As one could expect at a resort at this level, the food and service were extraordinarily good.

This is luxury in an exotic location, and deserves the highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms near the beach for immediate access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffreylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing