We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband & I wanted to celebrate our 25th anniversary "off the beaten path" in an exotic, tropical location. After much consideration, we chose Arenas del Mar. One of the best decisions we've ever made. From the very moment we were greeted at the entrance, we felt like we belonged there. The entire staff was so genuinely friendly, and patiently helped me strengthen my very weak Spanish skills. We were fortunate to be given room 201, which had a large bedroom, a bathroom that I seriously want in my house (that shower!), and outdoor living areas with our own private jacuzzi tub that overlooked the pool next to Playitas Bar & Restaurant, which also overlooked the beach. The overnight rains and sounds of the waves lapping the shore were so relaxing. The food at both Playitas and the main restaurant El Mirador was not only fresh and delicious (a party for the tastebuds, really), but was presented so beautifully as well. My massage at the spa was literally like a physical therapy session. After one of the most amazing deep tissue massages I've ever had, Andrea then visited with me about what she worked on and why.

We were also fortunate enough to be able to watch the Costa Rica v. Uruguay World Cup match at Playitas. The place erupted in cheers when Costa Rica scored, and it was easy to be drawn into the excitement!

Our tour with Arsel through "The Rainmaker" Hanging Bridges and Waterfalls tour was more magnificent than words can express. My eyes literally welled with tears at the beauty surrounding us.

Every view from every location throughout the resort is breathtaking. The friendly staff is second to none. The food is magnificent. The beach offers great waves to play in and squish toes in the sand. I simply cannot express how spectacular this stay at Arenas del Mar was.

Room Tip: If you can snag room 201 or any of those close to Playitas, take full advantage of that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenaRockinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    183
    42
    22
    10
See reviews for
564
960
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The resort is beautiful and the staff was terrific. Everyone went out of their way to know us by name and do everything possible to make our stay wonderful. The dining was great, as well, and we enjoyed our time with Harald very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. (Last year we were here for a week.) Our stay was paradise once again. The entire staff remembered us from last year. They welcomed us with open arms and hugs which made us feel like family. They were truly happy to see us again. You just don't build those types of relationships at other resorts. ADM has increased its gluten free selections which was a necessity for my wife and youngest daughter. The manager also had the chef create a special gluten free, dairy free dessert. She did it as a special treat for us. Also, we were upgraded, at no cost, from an ocean breeze suite to an ocean premium suite with a complimentary bottle of wine. Talk about knowing how to make your returning gusts feel special. Well it worked. The resort offers stunning views. Also, the abundance of monkeys, toucans, and other animals makes it a fun place. Hannia, a new guide, took us on a tour of Rainmaker Park with it's hiking trails, waterfalls and suspension bridges and wonderful meal afterwards. Hannia is very knowledgeable and is a great guide. She also served as a good example to my girls that women can be nature guides. Ersel, another guide who led us around last time, did the tortilla making tour with one of their chefs. Ersel is a great guide as well. His night time presentations (I.e. Chats) are entertaining. We also hung out for the salsa and merengue dance lessons one night. The dj had the music pumping and the instructors got the crowd involved and even spent time dancing with my girls.
The service at ADM is top notch and this is our resort of choice in Manuel Antonio. This is true paradise in the rainforest/beach. The breakfast at El mirador is delightful -- go for the gallo pinto and fresh fruits. I only wish that ADM would improve its dinner selection and serve more authentic Costa Rican cuisine. Yet that is a minor flaw of this fantastic resort. The staff at ADM made us feel like family and we look forward to seeing them again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GT2_Law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Second leg of our Costa Rica adventure. What a view! The staff was wonderful. We are senior travelers which you don't see in Costa Rica much. Lots of honeymooners! We were on the third floor of the building closest to the lobby, main restaurant and pool. A healthy hike up the stairs! On arrival our golf cart escort promptly pointed out howler monkeys in the trees.every day there was new wildlife to see up close at the resort. Capuchins cavorting across the rooftops, squirrel monkeys, iguanas, crabs, lots of birds and butterflies! We saw more wildlife at the resort than on any of our tours! All natural but from the comfort of this beautiful resort! DON'T LEAVE

Room Tip: Top floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wine4Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

What an experience! I'm sitting on our patio overlooking the Pacific Ocean counting down the hours until our flight heads back to San Jose then ultimately back home to the US feeling sad to head back to reality. You have to experience Arenas Del Mar to full appreciate what an amazing place this is. It begins with the staff. I've been on multiple vacations throughout my years and seen many beautiful places across the globe but never have I experience such humility and appreciation. It is not something that can be taught; it comes from within and the employees at Arenas Del Mar exhibit these character traits from sun up until their day is complete. Costa Ricans in general are extremely appreciative of visitors and make you feel welcome in their country. Why spend your money elsewhere? The views are spectacular and the beach is a few steps away. El Mirador (the hotels restaurant) is fantastic. William, Allen, Angel, Georgette, Luis and the rest of the staff (sorry I cannot mention them all) are all the most hospitable, attentive hospitality employees you could have. Juan Pablo, Andres, Sergio, Raymundo (get him a name tag that doesn't say "Intern"), Laura along with all the other guest service staff are fantastic! The staff at Arenas Del Mar will truly make your vacation into what it should be; a relaxing time to get your break from reality. Allow them to book your tours as well as they can handle all the details.. Don't forget to chat with Jorge (your driver) as he is a great resource and has a fantastic personality.
Pura Vida

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigginss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is breathtaking and the sound of the surf and the view of the ocean from our room was exactly what I wanted for my husband and I to unwind. We stayed for 4 days at the end of May 2014 having been in Arenal for 5 days prior. We had a superior Ocean Breeze room with a great ocean view but the room was really small! We were overall fine with it but I was a little surprised when we first saw it. It was just a quick walk though to the private Playitas beach which is beautiful. Laying on a lounge chair in the shade of the trees was so comfortable with the nice breeze and we enjoyed the drinks and food. My favorites were the grilled tuna burger and the fried calamari. The water was warm but it had a strong surf. Pay attention to the rocks hidden close to shore during high tide and also watch the surge as several times we saw towels or chairs washed away when the tide came up unexpectedly. I was a little disappointed in the dinner menu as it was a limited selection and there is only the one restaurant in the hotel. The food, however, is delicious and service is excellent. We did take the hotel shuttle to Marluna seafood restaurant in Manuel Antonio and I would highly recommend it for the food quality and the view is beautiful. We shared the seafood platter and it was more than enough food for two! I think the hotel charged us around $14 for the round trip service. Also, be sure to lock the mini bar fridge on the balcony as we came home one evening to find all the chips eaten and trash all around. Later that night we woke up to see a raccoon searching the bar area and it wasn't fazed at all to have the light shined on him. He took his time and then crawled away. I was hoping to see monkeys in the resort but never did. Luckily we saw plenty at Manuel Antonio National Park. We also visited the other beach (Espadilla) and it had a calmer surf and the security guard brought us towels and lounge chairs. There were no bathrooms there though and no food service so Playitas was our favorite!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorreySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent several days in Costa Rica at the Arenas Del Mar Resort. It is an intimate resort with thirty-six suites divided among six buildings perched on a cliff above the Pacific Ocean. It offers two pools, two bars and two restaurants at different levels.
Our room was very comfortable, air-conditioned, with a private, outdoor Jacuzzi on the patio. The wi-fi and calls to the States were free, and complementary juices and snacks were restocked daily.
The staff was as friendly and welcoming as any we’ve encountered anywhere in the world - always calling us by name and graciously assisting us in any way they could. At a moment’s notice, they were available to take us by golf cart anywhere on the property from the reception area at the top to a private beach at the bottom.
All of the amenities offered at the resort were exceptional. The restaurants served everything from gourmet choices to delicious Costa Rican dishes. Several times we enjoyed wonderful live music and dance lessons as well as lectures on the indigenous animals.
Sit long enough anywhere on the property and you are sure to hear howler monkeys in the canopy above and see iguanas wandering around unafraid. A rambunctious family of squirrel monkeys plays near the entrance. Frequently, you can spot a sloth along the path to your room, even a boa constrictor snoozing in a tree on the beach.
Stroll along a long stretch of beautiful beach to the nearby town of Manuel Antonio where you can try your hand at activities such as parasailing or a walk through the national park of the same name full of all the resident animals.
We know you’ll enjoy it as much as we did. Frank & Toni Pezz

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing