We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with top notch, personal, caring service + great beaches + views +rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a great time at this top notch hotel; such a pleasant surprise to find this gem tucked away in such close proximity to Manuel Antonio...We had some excellent meals at the formal restaurant (really interesting and tasty dishes, including each morning's free breakfast) and at the very fun, casual restaurant on the beach. Service was tremendously personal, with nearly all staff members greeting us by name. Grounds were beautiful, both the beaches and the jungle/forest where we saw all kinds of exotic birds, iguanas, JC lizards, monkeys, etc. Kids favorite had to be the fun hot tub located in the oversized balconies...it was a great experience, five-star quality. Great views all around

Room Tip: we had the ocean breeze suite on top floor- 103A in building 1 near the bottom pool. Great view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shadowcreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was a very unique kind of Costa Rican experience and I loved every minute of it and wished I could have had much more time to ponder and enjoy it!

You are dropped off within the forest and greeted by your driver who takes you further into the forest stopping to show you monkeys and sloths along the way until you arrive at the reception area which immediately steps out on the pool area at the top of a cliff overlooking the sea, seated by the pool you can enjoy your welcome drink before checking in to your room.

My room was by the secluded beach at the bottom of the property, reached after another delightful drive down through the rain forest.

My first night was spent under the trees on the beach being serenada'd by spanish guitars and served the most wonderful candlelight meal along with the sound of the sea, very magical experience.

Early the next morning I joined a bird watching group at about 6am and within an hour we had spotted 22 different varieties of birds including one new variety not yet on the resort's bird list which was very exciting for our guide.

Breakfast was served by the pool each morning on the upper deck overlooking the sea with the ocassional local wildlife coming by, iguanas, monkeys, paraquets ... The breakfast itself is a choice of specialities from an alacarte menu, a wonderful change from the normal standard buffet affair most hotels provide.

I took a whale watching excursion and we spotted both whales and dolphins in the bay below the hotel.

The hotel's secluded beach is an absolute delight with wonderful cane lounge chairs and excellent food and drink service including coconuts to sip from.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to those who like a unique kind of holiday experience and I am longing for the opportunity to return myself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwiCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My friend and I stayed two nights at the Arenas del Mar and enjoyed every moment. The staff was more than accommodating and knowledgeable in many areas of interest. The grounds were beautiful, the room was nice and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan19612014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The beach at Arenas del Mar is paradise. You can spend all day there, with food and beverage service, lounge chairs, welcome shade, toilets and a shaded pool nearby. Watch the waves crash on the rocks at this secluded beach. Our room was comfortable, although not spacious. There was a mini-bar and refrigerator on the patio. We were advised to keep the refrigerator locked so monkeys could not access the contents. The air conditioner worked well and the bed was comfortable. However, be careful of the door stops in front of the toilet (Yes, that's right, in front of the toilet!). I cut my foot on the way to the toilet in the middle of the night. The rooms at Arenas del Mar are in two separate areas, one near the beach and the other at a higher level overlooking the ocean. The main check in, gift shop and restaurant are on the upper level. While it is possible to walk from one area to the other, the normal mode of transportation is the golf cart. Also, when leaving the property you will likely need a golf cart to go to the front gate, which is not close to the check in area. Golf carts, including driver, were always very responsive when I needed to go somewhere. Upon our initial arrival after dark, we were taken by golf cart directly to our room. On the trip we saw thousands of Halloween crabs all over. The cart driver could not help but run over a few. To get to our room we had to make our way past many of the crabs. After a while you realize that they are terrified of you. They run, flying off of planters and sidewalks. Kind of hilarious once you get used to it. Too bad they can't see you coming sooner. The cart driver said that it was mating season. The next morning there was no evidence of the crabs. Either birds or other animals must have had a crab feed while we slept.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want to be near the beach or at the higher level with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and three kids just returned from a one week getaway to Costa Rica with 10 other family members. We stayed at Arenas del Mar our entire trip and had a tremendous experience. The rooms were very spacious - we stayed in a suite and our kids stayed in standard rooms. The grounds were beautiful and very jungle like. There were plenty of animals and birds on the grounds; perhaps even better than the Manuel Antonio National Park which was about a 20 minute walk along the beach from the hotel.

The service was first class. All of the staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help out. We used the hotel as a headquarters from which we took several day trips for outside excursions, ranging from offshore fishing to parasailing to kayaking to zip lining, etc. On a couple of days we just lounged around the grounds enjoying their secluded beach.

The suites were very large - a master bedroom, guest room with pullout sofa (we didn't use, but could be used for kids), 2 bathrooms, and large outdoor patio area with jacuzzi and outdoor furniture. Everything was clean and I was very surprised that we saw no signs of bugs in such a tropical climate.

The hotel consists of 7 separate buildings, each with about 3 floors (no elevators). We had a top level floor which involved a hike up the stairs - no problem for us, but if that sort of thing bothers you, ask for a ground level room. The buildings are numbered, with the lowest numbers being the farthest away from the lobby and dining areas. I would say that the best rooms are in the highest numbered buildings as they are closest to the main facilities and appear to have the best views of the ocean.

The only slight complaint I have is that the breakfasts were relatively weak and somewhat bland. The lunches and dinners were perfectly satisfactory however.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of 7 separate buildings, each with about 3 floors (no elevators). We had a top l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jwclevelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Arenas Del Mar for four nights on our honeymoon. We stayed in an Ocean Breeze room. The room had a king size bed with enough room to walk around the bed but not much more room than that. The bathroom and porch, however, were very roomy. The porch overlooked the ocean providing gorgeous views and was very private. Have to be careful of monkeys and raccoons- we were woken up one night to monkeys raiding our fridge that we forgot to lock! The hotel has two pools and two restaurants. One pool is on the beach with a poolside restaurant. There are tables available on the beach as well- great spot for lunch. We ate dinner at the other restaurant on the cliff portion of the hotel two nights and the food was good- nothing spectacular but really fresh seafood. The hotel has one private beach that is a great size (never felt crowded) and the hotel is a short three minute walk from the public beach with a bunch of restaurants and souvenir shops. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the hotel and recommend it as it was overall an enjoyable experience. The hotel is great for couples and/or families. The property is steep but there are constantly golf carts roaming around if you aren't up for the walks! There is also a nature trail on the property. If you stay here keep in mind that the staff will turn off the air conditioner in your room while you are out (unless you have the "do not disturb" sign on the door). We came back to our room several times and it was so hot!! Also, breakfast is included. Other meals are not.

Room Tip: Unless you are a family with young kids, you may want to ask to be away from Playitas pool and bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed only one night at the Arenas Del Mar but I wished we stayed longer. This was by far the most beautiful hotel, the rooms, food and service was amazing.

The wonderful part of this hotel was that you can walk down to their private beach, and then walk along the beach about a 1 mile and come to the entrance of the National Park. We had a car with us but never had to use it. The service was probably the best I had ever experienced. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. I would highly recommend it for families, honeymooners, and couples. It was lovely.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite which was well worth the added cost and the views of the pacific were magnifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $380 - $1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing