We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This resort was great! The views were spectacular! I visited with my Mom, sister and 2 aunts and we all had a great time. The breakfast was delicious! Our rooms were comfortable and everyone at the hotel was very friendly and accommidating. The dinner and lunches were good, not much of a selection when it came to Tico food but they had good choices. A little pricey for dinner...but we opted to go out on the town with recommendations from the staff for authentic Tico food which was great! The hotel drove us one night and the other they set up a taxi ride for us. The hotel is on a mountain and there are hills on premesis, but if you cannot walk up these steep inclines, they have 24 hr service to pick you up in a golf-cart! We went on a sustainability tour and tortilla making tour which was so cool! Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: My sister and I stayed in an ocean view room which was amazing! We woke up to the sound of the ocean...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,835)
There are newer reviews for Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2012 visit so much we decided to return to paradise one more time, and hopefully many more in the future too.
By far this resort is the best we have visited. The rooms are large and luxurious. Staff is remarkably friendly, knowledgable and remember your name from first time you meet them, some even from last year! You can be as lazy and relaxed as you want to be, under the palms on the beach, or adventurous as your body will allow. This year we zip-lined, kayaked thru the mangroves, visited a butterfly garden and went whale watching on jet skis! Also, As a former science teacher, really enjoyed the Sustainability tour of the resort itself and the extreme measures they take to earn and keep their 5 Leaf, like stars, environmental awards. Of course left time every other day, and most afternoons, for our daily rejuvenation on the beach. This place is way far and above "Top of the class". Will definitely be back, can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lcowhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Ichowig,
greetings from Manuel Antonio and Arenas del Mar. It was a great pleasure to have you back for a second visit this year. We appreciate your nice comments about your second stay with us. Thanks for your nice words about our sustainability program at the hotel. We are very proud to be Costa Rica's first hotel that achieved 5 Stars AND 5 Sustainability Leaves. And of course, there is nothing like our beach just a few steps from our room. I am glad you left time for some beach time every day. We very much look forward to your next visit with us. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was the perfect resort and area of Costa Rica to end our trip. The staff was wonderfully gracious, the food was superb, the scenery breathtaking, the accommodations delightful, and the spa/massages a touch of class. We highly recommend Arenas del Mar...wonderful location and beautiful place.

Room Tip: Choose the closest building to the main pool-3rd floor for the best view. For most privacy, furthes...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amfp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is the best. We have been here 4 times now and will be back again and again. The best is breakfast in the morning overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and trees and monkeys and colorful birds. Wow, wish we could just stay there.
The excursions are about anything you could want. We went to the "Vanilla Farm" and picked the bark off a tree for Cinnamon, then had a lesson on how to make chocolate then went to the top of a building to see all around for miles and had delicious chocolate cooking and hot chocolate too.
We went on a safari and saw so much on this trip with our guide that it is impossible to describe.
Back to the Hotel where the accommodations are luxurious, having a hugh shower with surround tile and a balcony overlooking the ocean with all the sights and sounds.
In the dining room is an array of wonderful choices every evening to choose from with activities for young and old alike.
If you have not been here, you must treat yourself at least once (you'll be back)

Room Tip: The third floor has the best view. It is spectacular.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This resort should be on the top of anybody's list of Costa Rican destinations. Overlooking the Manue Antonio National Park and beach, the views from the reception, pool and restaurant areas are spectacular. It is a very plesant walk between the resort and Manuel Antonio Park. My wife and I and friends have been to Arenas Del Mar 4 times. The rooms are spacious and most include verandas with hot tub, lounging area and incredible views. The property is located on a very steep road (but negotiable) and is centered in the rain forest. You can walk between resort activities if you want to, but electric carts are manned at all hours to quitely transport guests between beach, reception, pool etc. Monkeys, birds, butterflies and an overwhelming array of rain forest flora are everywhere. This is no accident since the hotel is one of a few 4-Leaf rated ecology resorts in Costa Rica.
There is a very nice SPA and open air restaurant, as well as a bar and restaurant at the beach. The food is very good and artfully presented.
While these amenities are all first class, it is the outstanding staff that sets this resort apart. To a person, they are helpful, friendly, speak very good english (which is hepful to some Americans) and are knowledgeable and effecient at their jobs. The staff will gladly make arrangements for some of the best fishing in Central America, kayaking through the mangroves, a jetski ride, zip-lining, whitewater rafting or what have you. All are generally nearby. If you want to stay in paradise, help a country that helps itself (the resort helps support a local school and environmental efforts) and kick back with some exciting overtones... this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are into a sustainable life style or not, this place is a treasure. I don't think my husband and I have ever had a better vacation in a resort. Not only is the location incredible- not over stating- but the staff is the best I have ever encountered. Going to sleep at night listening to the ocean was the best, even with the doors closed. The wildlife is everywhere and amazing to watch. The naturalist Ercil ( hope I spelled that correctly) is so enthusiastic. Don't miss a tour with him. We saw a toucan nest, monkeys, a flock of macaws and a viper. Not to mention beautiful flora and fauna. Just go. You will love it.

Room Tip: ocean view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice friendly staff - they point out the wild life- great monkeys- lizards- sloths- very nice almost bungalow style room- not cheap but you pay for what you get- I took a private tour to the park with a hotel guy- a guide- nice guy- a little isolated and the road in a little dicey- a little steep too- but who cares it was pura vida

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,582 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $272 - $1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing