We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault - beachside bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hard to fault - beachside bliss”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. We'd been travelling around Costa Rica and wanted to end with some seaside sun. We were not disappointed.

This hotel is superb for accessing two great beaches with fab waves.

The room was nice with an excellent beachfront view, large enough for us but not as spacious as other 5 star places we stayed in Costa Rica.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed the golf cart rides to and from the welcome desk as the drivers were chatty and knowledgable.

Easy to get taxis to either Quepos or Manuel Antonio and to other restaurants nearby. We took a taxi to a few restaurants and to the national park at very reasonable prices.

Breakfast is made to order rather than buffet style, which was not as expected but still tasty (if you have a tour or particular time you need to leave for then make sure they know as the service speed is 'leisurely').

We enjoyed the proximity to the beach and the fabulous proximity to wildlife. One morning a troop of white faced monkeys stopped is returning to our room as they passed through the resort. One night whilst waiting for a buggy from the welcome centre to our room we saw an ant-eater adjacent trees!

The hotel was maybe more family orientated than I anticipated but still very peaceful.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a taste of Costa Rica. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_and_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Lucy and Phil,
greetings from hot and sunny Manuel Antonio. Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rain forest Resort. We have happy to hear that you had such a great stay and especially that you were able to observe the wildlife within the nature reserve that our resort is located. The combination of beachfront experiences adjacent to the rain forest and its flora and fauna is what makes a stay at Arenas del Mar so special. Thanks for the feedback about breakfast. We feel that offering a la carte breakfast is of much higher quality than a buffet, but we will work on service speed. Your stay with us was during spring break and we have a lot of families visiting during that time of the year. As of early April, we are usually booked with honeymooners and romantic couples that really enjoy the secluded experience here. We hope you come back for some more beach and wildlife soon. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    183
    42
    22
    10
See reviews for
564
960
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The resort is nice, but for the kind of money you pay, you still expect something more.

It's cut-off from the rest of the town... It may be ok for some, but you need a cab to go anywhere outside the hotel (restaurants, park, etc).
As far as the hotel is concerned, we had a couple of issues. (1) the bedroom is rather small (2) the restaurant service was poor (though the food was good).

On the positive side, there is free international calling and we made good use of that :D
You need a golf-cart to travel within the resort, but we never had to wait for the cart ever. If you are attentive, you can spot of lot of birds and animals within the resort. I will go as far as to suggest skipping the MA park altogether :)

And finally, a comment on the "green-ness" of the resort. It's true that they have done a lot of things to reduce their energy usage, but the resort is on a small hill. and you need a lot of energy to move people, water, trash and everything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Places2GoB4IDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I concluded our trip to Costa Rica with a 5 night stay. After a cool and rainy period in the northern area rain and cloudforest, we looked forward to the warmth and sun at the beach. We stayed in an Ocean Breeze Suite on the top floor of Building 1 down near the private beach. This was a very convenient location. We loved listening to the ocean surf at night. The staff is top notch and remembers everyone's names and activities and alway asked how our day and latest adventure went. The beds were extremely comfortable. The food was just OK. Breakfast was made to order, however, we would have preferred some kind of buffet style. The complimentary snacks in the room min-bar were a nice touch, but getting water or any kind of beverages (other than coffee which we do not drink) was challenging. We definitely would have purchased beer or soft drinks from the mini-bar if they were available. We saw monkeys outside out room as well as slothes in the trees. We saw a couple of amazing sunsets and had a wonderful experience on a morning beach walk witnessing a mother turtle who had just layed her eggs making her way back to the sea. The private beach and being close to the National Park Manuel Antionio make this hotel a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Work2travel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

*******One of my favorite views of Manuel Antonio, I could feel in the clouds, so close to heaven.
You can enjoy oceanfront with "house burger" (playitas) and then rest in comfortable beds.
The sound of the stronge waves at high tide offering good karma /:)
and to dismiss the day, a walk among the trails, is just perfect.

A fact of among view, excellent food, private beach, good service, comfortable rooms and a special boutique, all at a price level of Manuel Antonio.


Arenas del Mar is of course a place in the world that you want to return*******

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I chose Arenas del Mar for a last minute weekend vacation trip. While we had an enjoyable and memorable trip (thanks to a beach walk by moonlight), we are not yearning to return. A good hotel but not wow!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 days at Arenas Del Mar. Location is great and staff is top notch - everyone we met was super friendly and helpful. For the price paid we felt the rooms were a little tired and could use a refresh but they were perfectly fine and the beds comfortable. Certainly not a deal breaker. We enjoyed walking around exploring the grounds and watching the monkeys from our balcony in the evening. The beaches were beautiful and the water super warm.

We booked a tour of Manuel Antonio through the hotel. I highly recommend asking for Roger, he was a great guide!

A few small things: You are kind of isolated so I really wish the mini-fridge was better stocked (I would have been happy to pay) with bottled water, maybe some Imperials, and snacks. Sometimes you just want to grab something and go, not have to wait around and order from room service or at the restaurant, etc. Also, you better like eggs for breakfast as 75% of the menu contains eggs of some form (fine by me but my wife doesn't care for them). It would also be nice if they had a small gym - just a couple of treadmills would do.

Tip: Halfway through our stay we walked down to the public beach where they have some grocery stores. Maybe a 20 minute walk. It was 10am and already blazing hot but worth it. We picked up snacks, bottled water, and beer (one store had a surprisingly large wine selection too).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank err5840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Arenas del Mar is an excellent small {39 rooms} luxury place right on the beach...It has its own grounds for birding and its own monkeys that will come to your balcony to use your jacuzzi. We had a wonderful small suite overlooking the smaller and nicer of the hotels two beaches. There are two small but adequate swimming pools, a very accommodating staff who zip you to and from your room on golf carts , a great bird guide, Roger. who you can hire to go on private tours, a wonderful driver, Bernie, who will spot birds for you as you drive. I would have given it 5 stars but for the fact that the food at dinner is only O.K. There are many places in the Manuel Antonio area to dine at a short drive away so stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiree72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing