We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mansion Inn(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arboleda(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karahe Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Costa Verde(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,033)
Filter reviews
2,033 results
Traveler rating
1,763
194
43
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,763
194
43
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartplayitas beachocean breeze suitetortilla makingprivate beachsustainability tourlocal snacksmirador restaurantpremium suitehalloween crabscosta ricacart driverstico bartortillaslunch restaurantlower poolnational park
Filter
Updating list...
1,291 - 1,296 of 2,033 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I chose Arenas del Mar for a last minute weekend vacation trip. While we had an enjoyable and memorable trip (thanks to a beach walk by moonlight), we are not yearning to return. A good hotel but not wow!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 days at Arenas Del Mar. Location is great and staff is top notch - everyone we met was super friendly and helpful. For the price paid we felt the rooms were a little tired and could use a refresh but they were perfectly fine and the beds comfortable. Certainly not a deal breaker. We enjoyed walking around exploring the grounds and watching the monkeys from our balcony in the evening. The beaches were beautiful and the water super warm.

We booked a tour of Manuel Antonio through the hotel. I highly recommend asking for Roger, he was a great guide!

A few small things: You are kind of isolated so I really wish the mini-fridge was better stocked (I would have been happy to pay) with bottled water, maybe some Imperials, and snacks. Sometimes you just want to grab something and go, not have to wait around and order from room service or at the restaurant, etc. Also, you better like eggs for breakfast as 75% of the menu contains eggs of some form (fine by me but my wife doesn't care for them). It would also be nice if they had a small gym - just a couple of treadmills would do.

Tip: Halfway through our stay we walked down to the public beach where they have some grocery stores. Maybe a 20 minute walk. It was 10am and already blazing hot but worth it. We picked up snacks, bottled water, and beer (one store had a surprisingly large wine selection too).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank err5840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Arenas del Mar is an excellent small {39 rooms} luxury place right on the beach...It has its own grounds for birding and its own monkeys that will come to your balcony to use your jacuzzi. We had a wonderful small suite overlooking the smaller and nicer of the hotels two beaches. There are two small but adequate swimming pools, a very accommodating staff who zip you to and from your room on golf carts , a great bird guide, Roger. who you can hire to go on private tours, a wonderful driver, Bernie, who will spot birds for you as you drive. I would have given it 5 stars but for the fact that the food at dinner is only O.K. There are many places in the Manuel Antonio area to dine at a short drive away so stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiree72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our last location while visiting Costa Rica. It was perfect in every way. The location was nestled into the rainforest and right on the beach. Our room overlooked the ocean and we were treated to beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed relaxing on the beach under the shade of the almond trees. It is a great spot to just relax or take advantage of seeing the beautiful flora and fauna.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are looking for a fantastically beautiful, yet quiet, vacation, this is a great place to visit. Surrounded by rain forest and animal life (not in intrusive way), right on the beach, and walking distance to the national park, with staff who are extremely helpful and pleasant. Ceviche is must, and breakfast was wonderful! Can't wait to go back and take children.

Room Tip: Always nice to face beach, but unique to face rain forest as well.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRMCc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear BRMCc3,
greetings from sunny Manuel Antionio and Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort. Thanks for your great and concise to the point review of our hotel. In a few words you said it all. Beachfront, secluded, wildlife and rain forest and walking distance to the Manuel Antonio National Park. We truly have a very privileged location. We are especially happy to hear your positive comments about the service and staff and agree with you that the ceviche is not to be missed. But then again, when you sit at the beach under the palm trees with your feet in the sand, everthing tastes like glory, right? We look forward to having you back with your family real soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews