We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica to your Saves list
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get a Free Night
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
pa.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heaven in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful accommodations. The people were amazing. They were sooo nice and incredibly accommodating. Still being American, I wanted to see the Academy Awards and just like that, they made a TV appear in the bar area so we could watch with our friends. There were TVs in the bedroom, but we wanted to watch with others. Enough about the tv, the food was great. The breakfasts were good and you had the daily company of an iguana who is just waiting to share your food. It becomes an activity chasing him away from the table. The view is beautiful. The bird sounds are wonderful. The beach area is accessed by a golf cart from the lobby area or you can walk if you want to sweat after you have refreshed yourself swimming. Beautiful photos of the cove area are readily available. Great tours from wonderful guides. We loved Roger. He was so knowledgeable and terrific, a person. He took us on the "Hanging Bridges" tour. Smart, kind lovely young man. Go for it. Great place.

Room Tip: we were in room 602B which was just a moment's walk from the pool, dining area. If walking is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bongail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    166
    36
    22
    8
See reviews for
453
867
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is amazing. You are treated like royalty as you are ferried up and down to the beach in the golf buggy by a lovely smiley bellboys. The location is superb with stunning views over the beach and national park while being surrounded with animal and bird filled forest. The virtually private beach has an excellent bar restaurant and the staff enthusiastically point out wildlife sightings of monkeys and sloths in the trees on the stunning beach. Both small pools are lovely especially the one by the beach. At the main restaurant the food and service is excellent although outside seating is limited. The rooms are lovely, well equiped with spacious balconies. Overall a wonderful experience just wished we could have stayed longer than 3 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterWalkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

After several days travelling around Cost Rica we arrived at the final stop of our holiday. Before we could see the hotel we were taken by golf cart up to the reception area. We were soon to learn that golf carts were the normal way to travel around as the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was elevated from some of the accommodation, lunch restaurant and the two beaches. This mode of transport was extremely efficient and great fun with young handsome Costa Rican males doing the driving! After a lovely lunch in the beach restaurant our accommodation was ready and it didn't disappoint. Called an Ocean Breeze suite, it had a living room, large bedroom, one large bathroom and one smaller one and a double aspect verandah with jacuzzi. Views down to the smaller of the two pools and the ocean behind. Our first night happened to fall on St Valentine's day and a special dinner was arranged on the beach with a great band. A lovely start to our 5 day stay here. The food used fresh local ingredients and was beautifully presented. The breakfasts began with the gorgeous fruits and excellent coffee and the breakfast menu very comprehensive.

On our first day we walked along the beach to the National Park and in spite of the hot and humid weather we had a great time walking around the different trails. We saw lots of birds and the usual monkeys. The next day we visited Parque Nacional Marino Ballena and walked along the fantastic sandy beach to the Whale Tail and saw lots of pelicans flying over. Another day we visited Parque Nacional Carara and saw a nest of Macaws and a Trogon.

In spite of taking trips to other areas, we were always back in time to enjoy the pool and beach at the hotel. Plenty of sun loungers and towels and large square sun beds which were very comfortable. All the staff were so anxious to ensure that our stay was perfect, nothing was too much trouble, even down to supplies of local snacks that appeared each day in the fridge. At our last lunch the Capuchin monkeys really entertained us by drinking from the pool and then coming into the beach restaurant to try and steal lunches!

We couldn't have wished for a better place to relax after all our travels. The hotel's location was perfect, food at all meals was outstanding and staff were excellent. The gift shop was the best we had visited with good quality items at reasonable prices. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nandpfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice location above one of the best beaches in Costa Rica but falls short of 5 star ranking. Lack of stairs means you have to use the golf carts to go to the beach, otherwise you have to share the narrow concrete road with the carts which is unpleasant. The 2 pools are tiny, oddly located and too tepid to bother. The rooms are small and bathrooms poorly laid out. The shower and the bidet take most of the space leaving little room for the toilet and the sink.
The restaurant is dissapointing. Hard to believe that fresh seafood can taste so bland.
Service is friendly as is the norm in Costa Rica but poorly trained. On our arrival we had to endure a limp handshake and introduce ourselves to 5 different people at 3 different times. I am a man of the people but this type of forced familiarity is really out of context and even inappropriate for hygienic reasons.
Finally, the eco credentials are too often used here to charge extra prices for inferior offerings. And when you see workers walking around with noisy leafblowers leaving a trail of nauseus fumes you know it's just PR.
To be sure, this is still a nice place to stay but I thought a dose of reality would be useful to offset all those superlative reviews out there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Anachonist,
thank you for taking the time and review our hotel. We agree that a does of reality is always good in Tripadvisor reviews and we value all constructive feedback. Often, guests have different perceptions and expectations and react very differently to similar situations due to cultural differences. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our golf cart service and that you found the friendliness and handshake introduction, which is very typical for Costa Rica not appropriate. Most of our guests seem to like those features, but we will teach our staff to be more conscious and make sure we understand our guest's preferences better. You are absolutely right about the leaf blower. We have been struggling with this topic and tried electric blowers, but this time of the year, there are just too many leaves. Should you or another reader have found a more sustainable way of dealing with leaves, please write to us at operations@arenasdelmar.com. We would like to ensure you that our commitment to sustainability is genuine and not about PR. We know that we are not perfect and that sustainability is a process. We are never quite there but will continue to improve thanks to contacts like yours. Thanks again and we hope to have you back with us and show you the improvements soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arenas del Mar is a beautiful resort. My husband and I stayed a week in a superior ocean view suite 603A. It had beautiful views and rooms (bedroom and living area, two bathrooms), a very comfortable bed, great bedding, large balcony with a sitting area and an outdoor lounge, and an outdoor tub (I filled it with water, we used it once and then a capuchin monkey decided he needed a bath. I was in the bedroom reading, looked up and saw a little face peeking at me over the side. So cute). Twice daily room cleaning is something I had never experienced. The beaches are beautiful and uncrowded, and the grounds are lovely and well-tended.

As beautiful as the room was, we found that the best thing about the resort is the staff. They are all wonderful and are a great team. We had great service at all times.

The restaurants are really great, too. Good food, beautiful presentation, lots of choices. We ordered something different at every meal and found no reason to go elsewhere.

The tours organized by the resort were very fun, educational and interesting. Go with one of the guides (Roger and Ersel were ours). They are great and find things that otherwise would be missed.

I definitely recommend Arenas del Mar for anyone.

Room Tip: Pay for the superior ocean view suite. It is worth the extra cost. Lots of room to spread out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our first trip to Arenas Del Mar was in 2011 and it was wonderful so when Costa Rican Vacations suggested it for our final stop on a three destinations trip we said yes. We are glad that we did but it could have been different! In 2011 we had a great room with a spacious, wrap around balcony. It was in building 4. I requested the same room but when we arrived we were taken to building 5. When I saw the balcony which was very tiny and the windows that looked into building 4, I knew why the travel agent was surprised when I said I said that I would be happy with the smaller room. I thought they were all like the one we had before and I was very mistaken! We were just lucky the first time. My luck was still with me as we were able to be moved to one of the rooms with the larger balcony. I learned that there are only 2 rooms like those. So it all turned out wonderful.
The staff is great. We remembered several of them and they remember, or seemed to, us.
I love the beach and am happy to see there are now lifeguards as there is a rip tide that is nasty.
I have never been a bird watcher but am hooked after the early moring bird watch where we saw over 25 species.
The food was good, especially the fish serviche served at the beach restaurant.
We would go back for another visit.

Room Tip: If you are not choosing the larger suite rooms, the more expensive A rooms, I recommend 402B or 403...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizxabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

wow!!!!!!

I don't even know where to start. well, that's not true it's the people that make this beautiful place. Laura, Elaine, Ariel, Pual, and of course Brandon were awesome!!!! We felt more like family than guest. From the food, service, our amazing room was more than we could have imagined. The staff made it so much fun for us. They were very open and cheerful all the time. The chef prepared fish I cuaght while on an inshore fishing tour ( Grouper and Sea Bass ) and it was out of this world. My wife and I truly feel we owe the staff a great Big Texas Thank You.....We are counting the days until we see our new Costa Rica family again.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing