We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,126)
Filter reviews
2,126 results
Traveler rating
1,845
204
44
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,845
204
44
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart playitas beach ocean breeze suite tortilla making private beach sustainability tour playitas restaurant local snacks halloween crabs costa rica cart drivers tico bar tortillas pura vida lower pool national park main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,435 - 1,440 of 2,126 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at Arenas del Mar for 3 nights with my girlfriend, we found it last minute on Jetsetter and i'm so glad we chose this property. We got a fabulous off season deal, and we felt spoiled rotten every single second of our stay. The room was fantastic, we used the balcony jacuzzi every night and it was so amazing sitting in our private little tub sipping wine and listening to the ocean and rain and jungle. The aesthetic of the room is nice, sort of like island italian, not totally my taste but i certainly had nothing to complain about. The bed was SO GOOD. Really high quality linens, and i slept so well. But, where this property really, truly shines is the staff and the amenities. I can not say enough good things about the incredible staff at this place. There are golf carts to take you anywhere you want to go, 24hs a day. And the guys who drive these carts are seriously wonderful They are always smiling, they all remember your name and where your room is, they have witty conversation and they are just lovely! I wish i could take them all home. The bartenders and servers are also awesome, same with the people at the front desk and the people at the Spa. The free breakfast is MASSIVE and delicious with tons of options. The spa services were GLORIOUS. We also had lunch at the beach cafe and dinner one night and all was perfection. I can not think of one thing that could have possible been better and i am really picky. I would go back here in a heartbeat, especially if i really needed a vacation where i am pampered and catered to every single second of the day, and isn't' that sort of the whole point of vacation? Every person working at this hotel should be given raises, huge massive raises. They are wonderful. Can't wait to come back.

Room tip: Go for the suite, totally worth it.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank esheld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at the Arenas Del Mar property in Quepos, Costa Rica. Went there with two other couples. Couldn't wait to share our wonderful experience with return and future travelers. Everything was wonderful at this beachfront/rainforest property. The location was like being on a Fantasy Island. The staff were amazing and fun. William Bernie, Ariel, et al., treated us like favorite family members. The food and specialty drinks were fantastic. Food presentation, quality and taste were excellent. Again the staff, who seem to be there 24-7 were so good natured and eager to help. The view of the Pacific and Manuel Antonio National Park from the lovely room made the decision to go out and do anything difficult. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Our balcony with the semi circular hot tub is a delightful touch. The second pool and secluded restaurant at beach level were very much enjoyed. the beachfront chaises made vegging out an addiction. Whatever we wanted to do off-property was arranged by the front desk, and all the details were exact. The property is well maintained and kept very clean. Tucked back into the hill overlooking the Pacific we were treated to many sightings of monkeys (and serenaded by the uber-cool Howler Monkeys daily), as well as sloths, aguti, iguana, birds, etc., etc. Took advantage of the spa on site and was not disappointed. First rate treatments and affordable. There is a small shop behind registration that had local handicrafts. We compared prices when we visited the town of Quepos and the shop's prices were very competitive. The property is delightful and the staff are off-the-chart professional and accommodating. Off property we did some deep sea fishing (1 blue marlin, 3 sailfish, 3 Mahi-Mahi - thank you Captain Franklin and first mate, Jackson on the Big Eye 2), We did a rainforsest tour to a waterfall and swimming hole with Ersel (Arenas Del Mar ecologist), We went river rapids rafting and had a ball. Can't wait to return to Arenas Del Mar with more friends and family.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just spent 2 nights at Arenas and it was wonderful. As I was driven from the welcome pavilion to the reception area, I was immediately enveloped by the exotic surroundings and the warmth and friendliness of my driver, Ariel. Once at reception, I was greeted with a refreshing welcome drink and more smiles and friendly, efficient service.

I stayed in an Ocean View Premium Suite and it was beautiful! Comfortable living area and King sized bed; both rooms with huge glass sliding doors out to the large deck with hot tub and really comfy chairs, which overlooked the Pacific. The bed was heavenly - sooo soft but no backache in the morning!! The wi-fi connection was strong in the bedroom and on the deck but not in the living room.

The food was very good, with attention to excellent service and presentation. The wine selections were Chilean and Argentinian with one French label. Eating at Playitas Restaurant on the beach was relaxing and the ceviche, delicious. My waiter, Luis, was very nice and so gracious.

The tortilla tour gave us the opportunity to make and sample the local Tico tortillas and learn about some of the history of the hotel and ecosystem of the grounds. The dancing lessons in the evening by the bar were fun.

All of the staff seemed genuinely happy to be there:, friendly people who were eager to make my stay with them as pleasant as possible. It is a gorgeous property in a beautiful setting and I look forward to returning.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderlusting_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We honeymooned at Arenas del Mar in the first part of August and had a fantastic time. We stayed in an Ocean View Premium Suite down by the private beach, with a view of the beach and one of the pools. The room was spacious and comfortable, and we made use of the deck hot tub which was very relaxing. There were chip-type snacks and drinks provided daily, which added a local flavor. There was wifi internet provided in the suite, but of note it only worked adequately in the main sitting area; the internet was extremely weak and spotty in the bedroom or on the deck.

The grounds were beautiful and we had many animal sightings, including geckos, iguanas, monkeys and sloths. Early one morning, from the restaurant deck, we spotted a pod of humpback whales swimming very close to shore. We would definitely recommend bringing binoculars if you have them! The waves at the private beach were too rough for swimming, and on many mornings the "no swimming" flag was up. We did enjoy sitting at the beach and walking in the water. The grounds are quite hilly, but the golf carts were readily available and we occasionally walked for some extra exercise.

We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant. The breakfasts were included and tasty, with a variety of fruit and choice of a hot entree. We particularly enjoyed the french toast with mangos and bananas. The dinners were good but not spectacular, and somewhat high priced. We took advantage of the happy hour half-priced drinks.

We took several excursions from the hotel, and enjoyed them all. The guide Ersel lead our tours of Manuel Antonio National Park and the Hanging Bridges and Waterfalls, and was extremely knowledgeable and excited about showing us the diversity of Costa Rican wildlife.

For those worried about traveling to Costa RIca in the "rainy season," the weather did not dampen our enjoyment. The mornings and early afternoons were sunny, and it predictably rained in the late afternoon and evening, leading to some spectacular thunder and lightening storms.

Thanks to everyone at Arenas del Mar! We had a great time and would love to return!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a simply fantastic honeymoon at Arenas Del Mar. Our room was absolutely beautiful, with a great view of the beach and one of the pools. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. Our nature guide, Ersel, really knew his stuff, and went out of his way to make sure that we got to see as much of the Costa Rican wildlife as possible. We would highly recommend Arenas del Mar.

Room tip: We chose the top level room, and were very pleased with it.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews