We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get a Free Night
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just spent 2 nights at Arenas and it was wonderful. As I was driven from the welcome pavilion to the reception area, I was immediately enveloped by the exotic surroundings and the warmth and friendliness of my driver, Ariel. Once at reception, I was greeted with a refreshing welcome drink and more smiles and friendly, efficient service.

I stayed in an Ocean View Premium Suite and it was beautiful! Comfortable living area and King sized bed; both rooms with huge glass sliding doors out to the large deck with hot tub and really comfy chairs, which overlooked the Pacific. The bed was heavenly - sooo soft but no backache in the morning!! The wi-fi connection was strong in the bedroom and on the deck but not in the living room.

The food was very good, with attention to excellent service and presentation. The wine selections were Chilean and Argentinian with one French label. Eating at Playitas Restaurant on the beach was relaxing and the ceviche, delicious. My waiter, Luis, was very nice and so gracious.

The tortilla tour gave us the opportunity to make and sample the local Tico tortillas and learn about some of the history of the hotel and ecosystem of the grounds. The dancing lessons in the evening by the bar were fun.

All of the staff seemed genuinely happy to be there:, friendly people who were eager to make my stay with them as pleasant as possible. It is a gorgeous property in a beautiful setting and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderlusting_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    166
    36
    22
    8
See reviews for
454
867
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We honeymooned at Arenas del Mar in the first part of August and had a fantastic time. We stayed in an Ocean View Premium Suite down by the private beach, with a view of the beach and one of the pools. The room was spacious and comfortable, and we made use of the deck hot tub which was very relaxing. There were chip-type snacks and drinks provided daily, which added a local flavor. There was wifi internet provided in the suite, but of note it only worked adequately in the main sitting area; the internet was extremely weak and spotty in the bedroom or on the deck.

The grounds were beautiful and we had many animal sightings, including geckos, iguanas, monkeys and sloths. Early one morning, from the restaurant deck, we spotted a pod of humpback whales swimming very close to shore. We would definitely recommend bringing binoculars if you have them! The waves at the private beach were too rough for swimming, and on many mornings the "no swimming" flag was up. We did enjoy sitting at the beach and walking in the water. The grounds are quite hilly, but the golf carts were readily available and we occasionally walked for some extra exercise.

We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant. The breakfasts were included and tasty, with a variety of fruit and choice of a hot entree. We particularly enjoyed the french toast with mangos and bananas. The dinners were good but not spectacular, and somewhat high priced. We took advantage of the happy hour half-priced drinks.

We took several excursions from the hotel, and enjoyed them all. The guide Ersel lead our tours of Manuel Antonio National Park and the Hanging Bridges and Waterfalls, and was extremely knowledgeable and excited about showing us the diversity of Costa Rican wildlife.

For those worried about traveling to Costa RIca in the "rainy season," the weather did not dampen our enjoyment. The mornings and early afternoons were sunny, and it predictably rained in the late afternoon and evening, leading to some spectacular thunder and lightening storms.

Thanks to everyone at Arenas del Mar! We had a great time and would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a simply fantastic honeymoon at Arenas Del Mar. Our room was absolutely beautiful, with a great view of the beach and one of the pools. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. Our nature guide, Ersel, really knew his stuff, and went out of his way to make sure that we got to see as much of the Costa Rican wildlife as possible. We would highly recommend Arenas del Mar.

Room Tip: We chose the top level room, and were very pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

You know it's been a great hotel experience when you find yourself getting teary eyed at the end of your stay. True, Arenas Del Mar was our last stop of what had been an amazing trip - but the hotel experience more than exceeded our expectations, making it very hard to leave!

My friend and I booked through a Snique Away deal for a "ocean breeze" room. We expected to maybe see a sliver of the ocean, given other descriptions of the breeze rooms. We were pleasantly surprised to walk into our room and discover a huge balcony looking directly out to the ocean and the far end of Manuel Antonio. We loved the coffee bar and free snacks in-room set up on the balcony, and the oversized chairs that were perfect for reading at the end of the day or watching the gekkos on the balcony ceiling at night!

As others have noted, you often need a golf cart to get from one place to another on the property - but that is because the property is huge! It also allows for the hotel to be both on the beach and overlooking the beach with great views :) We also didn't mind sometimes walking the hills, as the hotel is embedded in the jungle and full of iguanas, monkeys and sloths for spotting.

We did a tour of Manuel Antonio park through the hotel. While more expensive than negotiating your own rate at the park entrance, we appreciated the ease of transportation to the park and the extensive knowledge of our guide. Traveling to the park also made us appreciate the tranquility and remoted feel of the hotel. The park entrance has lots of vendors, day visitors at the beach, crowds for the park - but Arenas Del Mar sits just 5 minutes down the road and feels a world away.

The only drawback we experienced was the one restaurant on property. It was not easy to get to other restaurants (up a big hill), so we ate at the hotel restaurant both nights. We had steak served raw, which we sent back (and still came out near raw). We both had fish the second night which was tasty, but for the price of the meal I expected more. If I were to return (and I hope someday I do!) I would make the effort to leave for dinner. That said, the included breakfast at the same restaurant was delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors and/or facing away from the jungle looked to have nicer patios / balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear
Thank you for your very thorough review of your stay at Arenas del Mar. First of all, we would like to apologize for the mistake with your meal at the restaurant the first night. We are happy to hear though, that you enjoyed your other meal as well as breakfast. Thanks for pointing out the great features of our hotel such as the beach access and wildlife that can be seen all over the property. We are glad you enjoyed the room experience with the balcony and views of the Manuel Antonio National Park as well as the little details such as the Tico Bar with the snacks. Thanks for pointing out the quality of the tour to the national park that we arrange for you. You are right that you might be getting the tour for a few dollars less at the entrance of the park, but the quality of guide and personalized experience is well worth the extra money. At least that is what most of our guests tell us. Happy that you picked up on our theme of “pura vida” and we hope to have you back in Costa Rica and at Arenas del Mar real soon.
Greetings from Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon at Arenas del Mar and we wished we would have stayed longer! The hotel was wonderful in every way. The staff was very attentive and helpful, the food was delicious, and the beach was awesome! The drive to the hotel once we arrived in Quepos was a little scary and the road into the hotel was terrifying so be aware! Nevertheless, we had no problems with any of our drivers and they maneuvered the roads very well. The vibe at the hotel was pretty mixed. The ages of the guests were quite varies. We noticed one young couple that seemed younger than us and a lot of middle aged people as well as some older couples. There were even some families with young children.

Our accommodations at the hotel were just perfect. We stayed in an ocean breeze room and were able to see a little of the ocean. There were large trees outside out balcony and the first day we woke up to monkeys swinging on the trees! The food was also very good. The only complaint about the food was that nothing was included except breakfast. We knew this going in but meals became a bit pricey. Also, the drinks were pretty weak.

All in all, it was a beautiful, relaxing trip and Arenas was a great place to begin our honeymoon. This is certainly a place we would consider revisiting in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived in costa Rico in the night so I didn't get my first glimpse of the view until the next morning when we opened our windows to paradise. I have to say that our entire experience was paradise from the food to the incredible staff. We can't wait to go back and take our family. This green resort makes you think about the importance of taking care of our earth. And the incredibly beautiful surroundings make you want to have more of a hand in it as we'll.my favorite vacation ever! Lori kindle Wy

Room Tip: Inlet them know if you prefer to be close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Manuel Antonio is simply beautiful and Arenas Del Mar is as well. Every detail is perfect from the moment that you arrive to the moment that you sadly leave. The welcome drinks were great. Ordered many more during my stay (with a little rum :)). This resort offers the best of both worlds. Unspoiled beaches on one side and jungle on the other. The beach is shaded and my fiance was thrilled with the surf. The rooms were a little small but well furnished/decorated, luxurious and comfortable. Highlights were the beach, Iguanas, sloth right off balcony and the service. Also recommend Pizza Pata in town! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEM345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing