We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it but I almost didn't make it down the road to the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I just finished a 2 week tour of Costa Rica. Of the places we stayed, I enjoyed Arenas del Mar the best. Location is right in the middle of the forest. The rooms were great. However, they are clearly not meant for a family of 4!! The resturant was fantastic. In fact we ate there 3 nights in a row and we almost never do that if there are other options!! The views form the lobby area are magnificent. I was a little concerned that it might not be a great family resort. However, there were other families there and I was pleasantly surprised.
The road to the hotel is horrendous! You are heading straight down a single lane road with no lights or markers on the side of the road which is a 12 inch ditch. Under no circumstances, attempt it on your own at night as I ended up in a ditch and had to be towed out. The hotel was extremely helpful but I am sure they all had a good laugh. Even though you are in the rain forest, there is tons to do in the area. You are still near enough to civilization. I would definately return

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 make sure you get 2 rooms. The so called suites are just larger rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVEBUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our room was very small but had a good view and good wifi.  The Mirador restaurant for dinner was very good and you can see sloths, monkeys and iguanas when walking around. Service was good apart from Sindy B, the concierge, who was unhelpful and lazy. The beach was nice too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The rooms are very large and ours had a great ocean view. We had a two bedroom with large sitting area and very spacious porch with hot tub. The monkeys were everywhere!

Gluten free food was outstanding! Every morning the chef made my son a special muffin - yes I said muffin! or a cake or some special gluten free breakfast treat. Dinner and lunch also had great gluten free options but we did bring our own break for sandwiches. If you are gluten free - you will love this place!

If you are not gluten free, you will really enjoy the fresh baked basket of treats served at breakfast. At night, if you like wine, they have a very good wine list.

The beach - black sand that really sticks to you - but sandy - no rocks. Surfing was fantastic and the water was very warm. It is a small but somewhat private beach made very comfortable with the fantastic hotel service.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms down by the beach and pool- some rooms are on the hill towards the spa - those lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have just spent a week at the Arenas del Mar with my husband and children (age 7 and 4) and none of us wanted to leave. The staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating, always keen to share their knowledge and love of the surrounding area and the wildlife. Every little request we had was immediately dealt with, often going beyond the call of duty.
We saw so much wildlife within the hotel grounds: sloths, cappucin and howler monkeys, iguanas, lizards, eagles, halloween crabs, raccoons (although they did manage to break into the fridge which was less welcome).
The children loved the pools and the private beaches, and the water was so warm and inviting. We had no problems with mosquitos etc which was a relief.
There was so much fresh and delicious fruit and sea food - the fruit smoothies were a favourite with everyone.
Most evenings there was a different group of musicians to entertain us, and sometimes the staff even danced with our children, which they loved.
Above all, the hotel is genuinely responsible about its impact on the environment, and does all it can to reduce it's footprint. We were even able to plant trees in the forest during our visit!
We can't wait to go back - and would highly recommend it for families, and equally as a romantic getaway for adults.

Room Tip: Chose and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Arenas del Mar for four days and three nights. Check-in was quick and we were weclomed with their house cocktail- Mint Pina Colada (non-alcoholic). We stayed in room 102B. It was a spacious room with a large bathroom and large balcony facing the ocean. The refrigerator was stocked with local Costa Rican snacks, which were complimentary.

The property is fairly vast. You can walk around on foot or be shuttled back and forth by golf carts. The golf cart drivers are friendly and at your service. We loved Alex the best.

The side of the property where we were (the Northern) had it's own pool and bar/restaurant. It also faced Playitas, the less populated section of the beach. (As you probably gathered from other reviews, the Arenas is the only hotel that can boast beachfront). If you go South down the beach, you will walk into the beachside of Manuel Antonio's town center and national park entrance. There are several bars and restuarants there. Worth the walk to check it out. About a 20 minute walk.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. At our request, the staff booked our excursions- horseback riding and ziplining. The transportation comes right to the hotel for pick-up.

We had two dinners and one breakfast (note: breakfast is complimentary) at El Mirador Restaurant. Food was delicious and was a good fusion of American and Costa Rican food. We also had lunch at the restaurant by our room and we were pleased. We have to make special note of the servers, Yaheira and Luis. Always friendly and attentive.

The property has 24/7 security by the beach, so non-guests don't wander onto the property. Angel Jesus was one of the guards who always made us feel welcomed back when we walked in from the beach. He even made us a grasshopper out of plam leaves- sweet surprise.

The hotel is almost 3 hours from San Jose, but so worth the drive. It is is fairly easy to get to-just follow signs to Jaco and Quepos. The hotel has complimentary parking.

Other hotels may appear that they are more conveniently located, but in fact they are not.

We would definitely return to Arenas del Mar if we returned to the paradise that is Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is a truly extraordinary ocean front resort in the rain forest with a private beach and away from the Manuel Antonio bustle and crowds. Our family of five rented an Ocean View suite and a connecting Ocean Breeze room for three nights. The views are unforgettable. While the individual rooms are not large, the overall size was 1650 sq. ft. with three bathrooms (two of them quite large) and the expansive decks and hot tub could not be beat. The third floor of the second building from the lodge and restaurant are highly recommended. You go to Manuel Antonio to see the rugged beauty and flora and fauna - you will not be disappointed. Many sloths in the trees (just outside our entry way) with occasional visits from howler and capuccine monkeys plus large iguanas. The resort restaurant consistently served fine meals, although we had to deal with some bugs at dinner. The staff and hotel guides were quite friendly, helpful and thoughful. While the cost of the stay approached expensive Hawaii prices (unlike the rest of Costa Rica), the overall experience was well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NorcalWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have stayed in many beachside hotels but this one really has a raw beauty and takes you away from it all. I loved the way the architectural seemed to fit into the surrounding enviornment. Green paradise. The room had a stunning view of the crashing tide and sunset. The staff are kind and considerate and cater to your every request. We did a trip into Manuel Antonio National Park with Roger, a guide at the hotel. The Park was underwhelming but Roger made the outing interesting and informative. Breakfast by the pool overlooking the ocean was fresh and interesting. My teenagers appreciated the sloths that hung around and all the monkeys! The Jesus Christ Lizard was our favorite!!

Room Tip: Buildings 1-4 are up higher and afford great views. The other 3 building find you closer to beach bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tinaanndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $284 - $1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing