We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay at Arena Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We spent another spectacular 10 days at Arenas Del Mar from December 4 - December 14. Similar to our stay last year, the staff are superior and make you feel like royalty. The rooms are marvelous, and I would urge you to take the ocean view with jacuzzi if one is available. The selection at Mirador is extensive and the Executive Chef will cook almost anything you want. In Costa Rica, we love Cosado and had it almost every night with either sea bass or chicken. I cannot brag enough about how all of the staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. They truly understand how to provide an exceptional customer experience. We will be returning again. The only regret is that they no longer have the breakfast buffet with fruits, cereal, and pastries; instead, they provide you with a fruit and pastry platter. I suspect this is to avoid waste and save money, but we did like the buffet last year as we could pick and choose exactly what we wanted. When we asked for another fruit plate, the staff did provide it, so we did not feel too deprived. Anyway, this is a first class outfit and you will not be disappointed if you stay.

Room Tip: Do not rent a car in Costa Rica. For tours, they will provide transportation anyway, and the hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevenB-cpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

this was my first trip to Cost Rica and, my, it was a wonderful one!! We stay the first three days in Puntarenas and the last three near the Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park at the Arenas Del Mar Resort..
The two rooms we had, one in bldg 5 and one in bldg 1, were both nice size and beautifully decorated. The one in bldg 1 was close to the lunch restaurant on one end of the property - closest to the beach. It had the most wonderful screened-in porch, fully furnished, overlooking the rain forest. Our room, in bldg 5, had a open-air porch off the room with a jacuzzi - it was sheltered by lush greenery so others couldn't see you in the hot tub - it felt like you were in the middle of the rain forest! There were also two large easy chairs so you could enjoy the porch. there are only 38 rooms (all non-smoking) in a total of 7 bldgs so it has a very intimate feeling.

We saw many iguanas roaming the resort and even saw two sloths high in the tree tops above the walking path. Although the property is pretty spread out there are golf carts available to take you anywhere on the property at any time. There are two restaurants, 2 pools and a great bar in the lobby that has happy hour about 6pm.

Food!!! I have to say that this is the first resort we've been to where we couldn't wait to get back to eat lunch and dinner each day! Our favorite dishes were the wonderful ahi tuna burger, sea bass, blackened tuna entree and fried cod basket with fries. The menu offered a great variety - and the desserts - - - we never had room to eat dessert at dinnertime so we went to the bar and asked for dessert one afternoon about 2pm. We each had a different dessert and they were amazing!

We took our 16 yr old grandson and he told us that he thought that the meals at Arenas Del Mar were the best he had ever had!! Even if you are staying somewhere in the area, this restaurant is well worth the taxi fare to get there!

Room Tip: Bldg 7 is the closest to the lobby and main restaurant. Bldg 1 is closest to the beach and small lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texascat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I am just back from my trip to Costa Rica (I am a travel agency owner and travel several times a year). This trip was business and pleasure.
I am so happy I chose Arenas del Mar out of so many to pick from.
It was by far the best resort in Manuel Antonio, I checked out several properties that were very nice, but my favorite is Arenas del Mar and here of some reasons why:
- From the time we checked in to checked out everyone was amazing and so helpful and happy!!
- Our room was beautiful overlooking the ocean and jacuzzi on the huge wrap around balcony. Maid service was amazing.
- The food at the restaurants were great.
- The bell men were so nice and very helpful (especially Robin, my 4 year old loved him and cried when we left, he wanted to take Robin home with us).
- Lots of wildlife everywhere around the resort.
- The pools were scattered throughout the resort (not big but nice).
- The beach was absolutely beautiful, you can access right from the hotel. It is so quiet, it is like you have the entire beach to yourself.
- The true rainforest atmosphere makes for a great experience.

Anyway, I could go on and on....if you choose this hotel you will have made the best choice.
Everyone is amazing!!

Room Tip: If you are on your honeymoon, definitely choose the oceanfront with jacuzzi on the deck (building 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank swallace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear swallace123,
Thank you for your most generous review of your stay at Arenas Del Mar in
Manuel Antonio. This is especially gratifying for us as it comes from a
professional. Thank you for the bullet point format, you sum up the great
things about our hotel in a very concise way. Sorry we were not able to let
Rodbin go with you, we need him here! But we hope you and your family can
come back to Costa Rica soon. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This was a wonderful resort with excellent people. Our suite was beautiful with a wonderful balcony from which we could see monkeys playing and iguanas courting. The people who worked there were extremely friendly and helpful. There was nothing they could have done to improve upon our experience. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GJColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Yes all reviews are right.

This was the best resort out of the 12 we visited this year. Extreme luxurious. Very friendly staff, beautiful rooms, good restaurants (even one on the beach) and nice pools.

Can really recommend this place!

Room Tip: There are 2 pools. One is in front of the restaurant area and one down on the beach. You can walk, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichielMazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have now been to 50 foreign countries, but Arenas del Mar was far and away the BEST hotel experience we've ever had. The site -- with two "private" beaches; wonderful views of ocean, rainforest, sloths, iguanas, and monkeys; two restaurants; a short and fun walk to Manuel Antonio National Park -- was impressive in itself, but the service is almost inconceivably excellent. All employees obviously have been rigorously trained, but training cannot explain the universally observed attitude of "What can I do to make you happier?" From front desk to golf-cart drivers to beach guardians, each smiling person seems to have immense empathy. My wife booked this paradise for our 46th anniversary, but I wish it had existed for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room whose balcony has a built-in hot tub/whirlpool bath. VERY romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ValpoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Rooms are spacious but outdated. Our bathroom smelled really bad. No privacy in the jacuzzi if you get a rainforest suite on ground floor. Dining room is way to big and not romantic at all. Quality of the food is way to basic and doesn't meet the expectations of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Oceanview2011,
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate you took the time to let us know about the shortfalls of your stay and apologize about the issues you are pointing out. We wish, we would have had the chance to correct those problems on the spot during your stay. We are taking actions on changing the things that are in our control. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $282 - $1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing