We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get a Free Night
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Family Vacation....EVER.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My family (me, wife, boys 7 and 4) recently returned from a week of paradise at Arenas Del Mar. Quite frankly, I cannot say enough wonderful things about this resort. On our first morning there, we walked up to breakfast (by choice, and not very strenuous). On our walk, we saw 3 iguanas, 10 white faced monkeys, and 2 sloths. Our boys were in heaven, and the vacation only got better from there.

Pros (in no particular order):
-Incredible wildlife on site as well as nearby Manuel Antonio
On site, we saw: white faced monkeys, howler monkeys, sloths, iguanas, countless exotic birds and butterflies, etc.
-Stunningly beautiful vistas from main reception and breakfast area
-Private, beautiful beach with year round 84 degree water, and lots of hermit crabs which entertained the kids for hours
-A truly wonderful staff who really cares about each and every guest! After one monring there, the waiters knew how we liked our coffee and how our kids liked their bacon. The staff would constantly tell us/bring us to any interesting wildlife on the property. They played with the kids, and genuinely enjoy their jobs as well as the guests.
-Ersel, the naturalist guide, gave us an unforgettable tour of the national park. (I even ate a termite..minty).
-Hearing the waves on the beach approximately 150 yards from our suite
-Very kid friendly
-concierge organized great Zip Lining tour as well as a great boat trip from Quepos marina for us.
-my kids are already asking when we can go back. According to my 7 year old it was the "best vacation ever" and a "10 by FAR". My little one was crying when we had to leave because he missed Ersel, the naturalist.
-truly eco-friendly, one of only a handful of hotels in C.R. wih top sustainability rating
-ability to do lots of incredible things nearby , or to do nothing and relax at the resort
-free breakfast, international calls, WIFI
-Tico Sours...enough said
-great foods, for kids and adults. We particularly liked the costa rican dishes, while the kids loved the pizzas and chicken fingers (oh well...)
-Quiet and natural beauty
-Rooms were clean, well decorated and bed was amazing

Cons:
absolutely none.

Costa Rica is a magical place, and the staff at Arenas Del Mar really is proud of this unique property in this unique paradise. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PhillyDoc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear PhillyAsthmaDoc,
Thank you for your great review of your family vacation at Arenas Del Mar. Wow, so much praise! We appreciate this very much and it motivates us to get even better. Thanks for pointing out how walking instead of taking the golf carts pays off in terms of wildlife viewing and for noticing our commitment to sustainability. We hope to have you back soon so that you can go on another tour with our tour guide Ersel, enjoy more Tico Sours and of course the “amazing” beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    166
    36
    22
    8
See reviews for
456
867
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I honestly don't know how much better my stay at Arenas could have been. The staff and overall service was incredible. You could tell that they genuinely wanted everyone to love Costa Rica the same way they all do. There were always fun activities for the guests to participate in including dancing and making music. The food and drinks were delicious and I know I already said it but I just can't emphasize enough how wonderful the staff was. I think the layout of the resort was one of my favorite parts, not everything was right next to each other. This way when you were in your room, at the restaurant, or at one of the pools it was easy to feel like there was nothing else but rainforest or ocean around you. A very relaxing and unique experience! Over the course of my stay I had the opportunity to eat at some of the other resorts in town but none of them compared to the service and atmosphere at Arenas. If I have the chance to return I won't be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank courtkiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, Guest Relations Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear courtkiehl,
Thank you for your great review of Arenas Del Mar. Reviews like yours are very important to us as we thrive on feedback, good or constructive. Thanks for pointing out the activities where we try to get our guests involved in the experience of dancing salsa, making tortillas and participating in presentations. We were also happy to hear that you liked the layout of the property, the rainforest and the privacy. We hope to have you stay with us again real soon. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Arenas del Mar provides a fabulous vacation experience for its guests. The staff are very friendly, speak excellent english, and are extremely helpful to guests. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. For example, one morning we were eating breakfast and were talking of our plans to go hiking through the rainforest that day. We asked for a box to take the leftovers with us but were surprised with a whole fresh batch of breads and cakes to take with us on our journey! Talk about service! The hotel is kept in pristine condition, from the hotel rooms to the restaurants, to the walking paths. Our room was situated on the lower end of the hotel, with access to a pool, restaurant, and ocean not 50 ft away! Monkeys, sloths, and iguanas were often within site and made for a fun, relaxing atmosphere. I cannot thank Arenas del Mar for giving me the experience of a lifetime. I had an excellent vacation and cannot wait to come back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aelowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Nice location and the suites were excellent. I do wish the view from the balconies was better though, no close enough to the ocean and too close to other buildings. The beach is nice but not very good for swimming, there are some large rocks and when we were at the hotel there was somewhat heavy waves constantly.

The staff and management are very friendly and accommodating. We had our young (6 months) old son with us and the staff loved him! They were also carrying him around and showing him to people. Overall the staff in Costa Rica are very friendly etc but they were +1 at this location.

The continental breakfast was quite good, fairly average for the area.

The restaurant is OK, quite expensive and somethings were not done very well but they are trying. There are many other places to try in the area and I would encourage people to do that.

The "driveway" down to the resort is very steep and dangerous where it leaves the main road, be VERY careful here.

Room Tip: Big off-season discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petiteTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This resort is definitely 10 stars out of 5!!!! If I had the chance to go to the Bahmmas or to Arenas Del Mar, I would choose Arenas Del Mar easily. there is no money in the WORLD that would make me go antwhere else, honestly!!!!!! This resort is the best of the best NO DOUBT!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We just returned from 3 wonderful days in Arenas del Mar and had a wonderful time. The location and rooms are beautiful, this place and the staff will spoil you forever. Throughout our stay in Costa Rica I was humbled by the kindness of the staff, and this place was no different. Everyone went out of there way to make our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just returned from a fabulous family vacation at Arenas del Mar. I could have stayed a month! Great spot to base yourself and take as many day trips for activities as you'd like. Perfect for doing everything or nothing at all. The white water rafting is now one of our favorites and zip-lining is always a must. No request is too much trouble for the staff. A hike through the national park with the on-site naturalist, Ersel, was not only very enjoyable but a learning experience we'll always remember. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelproNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront And Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing