We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Riverhead, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will definitely go back!”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Absolutely beautiful! We stayed here for the last week of our two week honeymoon in Costa Rica. It is the best of both worlds- the beautiful beaches and the rainforest! Monkeys, sloths, and wildlife everywhere! We loved everything about it and have no complaints! The food and drinks are delicious! The staff is friendly and warm! The whole place is well maintained and gorgeous! Thank you for making our honeymoon so memorable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodale11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    183
    42
    22
    10
See reviews for
564
960
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our family of 12 (including cousins and grandparents) just spent 7 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The rooms are pleasant with spacious decks, most which include hot tubs. Our room felt like a treehouse since our deck was surrounded by lush tropical trees and vegetation. Many times we spotted monkeys in the trees. We could also see the ocean through the trees. Beautiful! The rooms also have refrigerators that they fill with free snacks and water every day. They change up the snacks so that you don't get bored with them.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff, all of whom were very friendly, professional, and accommodating. They talked and joked around with us, helped us with anything we needed, and by the end of the trip we felt like they were our friends.

The food was very good (lots of fresh tuna and sea bass, delicious steak, good soups, and a kids menu that even my very picky 8 year old enjoyed). The pools are nice (but on the simple, smaller side) and it's one of the only hotels in the area where you can eat right on the beach (for lunch only - breakfast and dinner is in another part of the hotel, by a pool with a beautiful view of the ocean).

While we were at the hotel we had many animal sightings - monkeys swinging from tree to tree, raccoons (a couple of them actually opened up the door to our room and snuck snacks out of our fridge - make sure to keep your doors locked when you're not right there!), frogs, and even sloths.

The only complaint we had (but not enough to knock it down a star) is that it's kind of isolated - you have to take a car into town or to any restaurant other than the hotels (unless you want to walk a very long and steep road for at least 25 minutes, which is fun once in a while but not every time you want to go out). Since you're pretty stuck without a car, it would be nice if the hotel offered a free (or cheap) shuttle service to other places in Manuel Antonio, but it's $20 round trip no matter where you want to go, even to a taco place that takes only a few minutes by car! We were surprised by this - the car service would have been more money than the tacos at a place called Sanchos which we heard was great. We never went to Sanchos because we couldn't justify the car fee (we did go out, but to nicer places and with more of the family members so that we could split the car).

But other than the car fee, the hotel is very nice and I don't think anyone can go wrong choosing it for their stay in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatAstura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Those were just our best vocations! I can't think about some criticism about Arenas del Mar. Since we arrive at the hotel, we received a wonderfull treatment. All rules were well and clearly explained to us. That was almost a VIP atention. The nature is wonderfull and we can notice the respect that the staff of Arenas del Mar heve with animals and plants. It's an unique esperience, even for us, tha live in Brazil and are used to have contact with nature. Actually, Costa Rica has much to teach us.
And, in addition, I could go fishing for incredible game fish near the hotel. That was really nice for me.
The food is amazing! No criticism about it.
Maybe, to increase the pleasure that Arenas del Mar provide to the costumers, the hotel could put baths in the bathrooms.
We'll be back as soon as possible. We recomend Arenas del Mar for all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

we stayed here a couple of months ago and it really was like walking into paradise. We were spoilt as we had left it to the last minute and the only room they had was the most expensive top floor suite. The service, the views, swimming pool all amazing-definitely worth it! It was fantastic to sit eating breakfast with the monkeys climbing all around you in the trees :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

During our honeymoon we had some change of plans and ended up getting to spend a night at Arenas Del Mar. We loved the hotel, and wish we got to spend more time there. The pools, beaches, and rooms were great. Everyone at the hotel was very nice! The hotel does a great job adding in value for their guests. They offer free calls to America in the rooms and all the food and water in the mini bar is complimentary. Both are a nice touch when traveling for many days in Costa Rica. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicle1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Arenas del Mar and loved every second. The hotel is small and has a great friendly staff that caters to your needs, teaches you a little Spanish and is fun to be around. The rooms are surrounded by rain forest and you see iguanas, monkeys and sloths are regularly. We were in an Ocean View room - so no balcony jacuzzi - but a huge balcony and great view of the Playitas beach and the ocean. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever had and the room was very clean. Breakfast was included and was very good - you have your choice of fruit, juice, coffee & pastries from a buffet as well as one breakfast entree from the menu. The happy hour from 6-7 each night was fantastic because you get to chat with fellow guests and also learn about the local animals with short presentations from the hotels tour guide or have dancing lessons. The lunch served by the lower pool was also tasty every day. The resort is on 2 beaches and is pretty steep to walk around but they will always send a golf cart for you if you don't want to walk. We also took the tour of the Manuel Antonio National Park with the hotel guide, Ercel. He is very knowledgeable as well as funny - we highly recommend him as a guide! MA is very hot & humid in early June so be sure to take plenty of active clothes (trust me you won't want wear them more than once after a sticky hike). The restaurants aren't dressy either - so don't worry about fancy resort wear. Also got a couples massage at the Spa - it was very relaxing! We loved this hotel and can't wait to go back someday.

Room Tip: bldg 1 or 2 for monkeys, bldg 4 or 7 for ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, General Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear allready,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a great vacation with your husband at Arenas Del Mar. Your review is very complete and you pointed out most of the great features of a stay at our hotel: beachfront rooms, wildlife at your doorstep, tours and activities, interaction with our staff, great food, spa services… And thanks for the tips on where to stay for what. Yes, buildings 1,2 and 3 are right on the beach and ideal for families with smaller children. Buildings 4,5,6 and 7 have incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and Manuel Antonio National Park. For your next stay with us, let us know your preference. We hope to have you back real soon!
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I went to Arenas Del Mar for a belated honeymoon. We went for 1 week in late May. We absolutely loved it! The service was wonderful and the staff was very personable. The grounds are beautiful, lush, and full of wildlife. The food was fresh and innovative. Arenas Del Mar also has wonderful surf beaches near-by. We went at the beginning of the green season and found it to be very enjoyable and beautiful. We would highly recommend that time of year.
AND- the spa was awesome! The couples massage was unbelievable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing