We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling this an amazing hotel doesn't come close.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is a great case of size doesn't matter. This is a small hotel where you are treated like royalty. Seriously. By the end of our 6 day stay, most of the staff knew our names (and we're not particularly outgoing). They were always there with whatever you needed, always ready to bring you another drink, make sure you had the opportunity to make dinner reservations, help with tour arrangements. The grounds were breathtaking. There was always wildlife running around. It's right on a beautiful Pacific Ocean beach. Word of caution. The hotel is built into a cliff. Getting from the lobby to the beach can be a bit of a workout, but there's a fleet of golf carts always at the ready. Downsides? Not much in the way of night-life at the hotel besides the lobby bar. But you're a short cab or shuttle ride from Quepos and Manuel Antonio with a ton of restaurants and bars, so it's not really a big deal. We hope to go back again. We had the time of our lives.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoTravelerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceADM, General Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Dear ColoradoTraveleCA,
Thank you very much for your “raving review” about our little hotel. We feel that being small gives us an advantage to make sure that all of our guests receive the personalized service that you mention above. Thanks for pointing out the great attributes of the hotel like breathtaking views, the presence of wildlife on the grounds and of course our beachfront location. We also hope you will be back again and that we can even top your experience. Oh, and by the way, the workout of walking from the beach to the lobby is just to ensure that you can have one of our delicious deserts every day of your stay!
See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
There are newer reviews for Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,403 - 1,409 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Arenas Del Mar in the Middle of October 2010 for the first part of our Honeymoon and it was breathtaking!!!
We stayed for 5 days and could have stayed much longer! We were in room 503A, a fantastic suite! All the main staff members knew are names, some even before we introduced ourselves!
We ate at the hotel the first night, and it was perfect. The remainder of the nights we ate in town just for the variety! When we would leave the hotel, they would always call the same cab driver, which was nice to see a familiar face!
The best place in town to go eat was Rancho Tipico Bijaqual (Chicharronera) the owner is the father of one of the bar tenders! Breakfast at the lower pool every morning was also wonderful!
We did the white water rafting and the National Park tour though the hotel, both arranged and paid the night before and they were both great!
On the national park tour we decided to walk back to the hotel along the beach, and when we got to the lower guard station, they knew that we had left on the tour and knew we were walking back! The great thing about the park tour through the hotel was that the guides spotted animals that you have never seen if you walked the park by yourself!
The Hotel prides itself on knowing you personally as well as the safety of all its guests!
On the hotel grounds we saw almost all the wildlife the area has to offer… from monkeys to lizards and sloths.
Although we went during the ‘rainy season’ we only had an afternoon of rain that lasted into the evening… but it was great to experience a Tropical Rain!
There is really nothing bad I can say about our stay…
There was some light construction by the restaurant during the day, but they stopped and cleaned everything to open each night for dinner.
Our internet did not work in the room because they were currently upgrading it, but it working in the lobby, so no big deal there!
I could go on and on about how fantastic our stay was and every little detail but there is no question I would/will return in the future!!!
If anyone has any questions please ask, I am more than willing to share any information I can offer!
Thank you Arenas Del Mar for a great first half of our honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bm_see_all_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

If you don't mind to spend some money on a good hotel, then don't hesitate.
Reception: Exactly what it should be, friendly, knowledgeble, helpfull
Rooms (Ocean View Premium Room third floor): Large and light, super bathroom, great balcony with jacuzzi, fabulous views.
Swimming Pools: small but well placed and maintained.
Restaurant: Good menucard, good food, reasonably priced compared to places in town.
Breakfast: Likewise - One a la card included and more than enough. Early birds can have breakfast at the swimming pool overlokking the bay.
Beach: small but all you need.

The only negative is that it is sometimes annoying that you arrive at a security point where the parking is and than have to wait for a golfcart to take you up to the reception. The first time this is ok but when going in and out several times it is a bit of a waste of time. The lay out and terrain no doubt dictated this but if anything can be done about this the hotel will really be a winner.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We spent a week at the resort in late May. The setting of the resort is stunning - you can have your room on the cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean or right at the beach. We saw sloths with their babies, howler, white face and even sqirrel monkeys in the trees surrounding the hotel on a daily basis. What stands out most for me was the friendliness and customer focus of the staff. All of our requests were handled quickly and in a friendly manner. They all knew our names by the 2nd day and we got to know all of theirs as well. We enjoyed talking with them and learning about their lives in Costa Rica. The food at the restaurant was excellent - the Red Snapper was exceptional. We ate all but one meal there. Ask for Luis or David. We set up our tours through the hotel - they have a tour guide - Ersel - who took us through Manuel Antonio Park - he was excellent. I recommend using him as you see so much more than going by yourself. We will go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAT7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our family ( husband & wife + 9 & 12 yr old children) enjoyed a beautiful and relaxing stay at Arenas del Mar. Consistency is what struck me as per the title I picked for this review. We enjoyed a 5 day luxurious stay in a one bedroom suite that offered a spectacular ocean and rain forest view out of an expansive and private terrace. The jaccuzzi on the terrace was a great place to relax in the evenings during the green season when the rain wraps the day. The attention to details in the room was appreciated: excellent bed, fine linen, comfy bathrobes, great reading and lounge chairs on the terrace for all family members, different fridge content everdy day, great shower etc.... I definitely enjoyed the interactions with the staff . I can speak Spanish which deepens one's understanding of the way people relate to eachothers. It became clear to me that the company is doing a great job in human resources based on how we were looked after and how the staff interacted with eachothers. I witnessed indirectly the staff ping pong semi-final while attending a tortilla making activity happening near the staff kitchen. The percussions and cheering that went on to encourage the teams made our tortilla making and tasting moment very special. Thank you to Arenas del Mar for preserving the beauty of the surroundings while treating us to a luxurious stay. My company Expérience Authentique specializes in designing travel experiences in France and I get to qualify many hotels and design lots of experiences for clients. Arenas del Mar is definitely an inspiring model. Gracias!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank EDufau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The worst part of our stay was when we had to leave. My wife & I have traveled extensively over the years & stayed at some very nice resorts & hotels, but none compare to Arenas del Mar. If you're looking to get away from it all & feel disconnected from the daily grind, this is the place to be. There's a true sense that you've connected with nature while staying at the resort. There were almost daily sightings of monkey's, iguana's, birds, butterflies, etc..., which is a nice change of pace from resorts packed with people. Arenas del Mar is situated in the jungle overlooking the Pacific Ocean with spectacular views from all around the resort & has a nice uncrowded feel. Our room had what we felt was the best view on the property (room 603A). It had a big comfy bed, huge bathroom (one of two) & we loved the "Tico Bar" & the daily treats that gave us a taste of what the Tico's eat. The staff was extremely accommodating & met our every need. I've seen other negative comments on this site about the staff not being able to speak good English, but we never met anyone like that & if we did, what's it matter because we we're in Costa Rica not the US. If anything we could've tried speaking more Spanish (we tried, especially my wife). A special thanks to Luis, Danny, Brian, our park guide, & our hostess at Mirador restaurant (cant remember their names), as well as the rest of the staff. There are many more things I could comment about, but I'll end this by saying that for a true Costa Rican experience, Arenas del Mar is the place to be! Pura Vida!!!

Room Tip: Request bldg #6 top floor, room 603A, best views.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Trina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We came to Manuel Antonio with great expectations and Arenas del Mar did not disappoint. Got picked up with a golf cart (you will get used to that) and whisked us away to the front desk. We were greeted with drinks and a very welcoming staff.

We stayed in one of the beach front buildings which is just a very short walk to the sand. Our suite overlooked the ocean and was quiet and spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Nice assortment of fruits and freshly made organic juices. You can also order off the menu for one of your items. Definitely try the french toast and coconut syrup - OMG! Make sure you say "Hi" to the capuchin monkeys that are always hanging around. They are everywhere.

Bed was very comfortable. Only complaint I had and it's small is the golf cart thing. You need it pretty much anytime you want to move around the place. No biggie - the staff driving the carts are always friendly and letting you know of any recent animal sitings so it's a wash.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ediruzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $274 - $948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing