We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Two Nights at Mandarina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mandarina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mandarina
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two Nights at Mandarina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Mandarina for two nights. The room was nice (fan and A/C both worked) and had a safe and TV. The bathroom had a curtain instead of a door, but it was fine. The staff was great and really helped you determine what to do when to make the most of your visit. We hiked to Manuel Antonio from the hotel early in the morning based on this advice - it was worth it. There were very few groups out yet, so the private beaches had no one or just a few people. Later in the morning and early afternoon there were A LOT of people, so we left to do other things! Breakfast options were also good. The pool looked nice, but we never used it. The "workout room" is 2 or 3 outdated machines, but an option I suppose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fang7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    113
    21
    20
    12
See reviews for
35
133
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went to the Manuel Antonio area without any reservations. We tried a few places, but none were up to our standards in cleanliness or technology capabilities. La Mandarina was recommended to us by another hotel, classifying it as gay-friendly. The accommodations were comfortable, but the in-room Wi-Fi was spotty at best. You need to be agile as the only access to the rooms is via a main staircase. The breakfast was OK but I would have rather have fresh fruit juice instead of the packaged artificially tasting options given.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadRod787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in May and we loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the lady at the reception (I'm sorry I didn't catch your name!), she showed us where we were located in relation to all the main attractions and gave us a map. There were also beach towel available in reception for no extra charge. Our rooms were ready even though we arrived early and were all we needed for a very comfortable stay. We had to check out at 2pm but our transport was not booked until 5pm, the hotel very kindly stored our bags for us while we went to the national park in the morning and then allowed us to use the pool and shower facilities before we left at 5pm. Thank you for a fantastic stay, we will definitely recommend you to everyone!

Room Tip: We had a studio room on the upper level, paying a little more is definitely worth it as they are lig...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here 3 years ago and loved it so when we came back we booked this hotel again. The staff is very nice and knowledgeable. The rooms are clean and well appointed, although there are a lot of stairs. We went in the rainy season and there was a faint musty smell but not too bothersome. The internet was week but if you went up to around the office it was better. Breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived much earlier than check in time so we were given a place to leave our things which was nice. We were also given free breakfast which was fantastic after the long drive from the airport. The food and service was excellent! Our room was nice and the grounds are pretty. There were monkeys on our roof and above us in the trees!! Just a quick drive to the park and to the beach. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmr352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Mandarina and loved it. Its location on the main road was perfect for us. It is a short walk to the bus stop that will take you directly to the beach or to Quepos, but the rooms are set back from the road so they're quiet. There's a small but well-stocked grocery right across the street and it's a short stroll to many delicious restaurants (Emilio's Cafe, El Gato Fish & Chips, Cafe Milagro, to name a few). Our room had an extra bed we used as a couch, so we had a great place to relax and hang out. The A/C, in-room refrigerator and coffee pot with Cafe Britt coffee make hanging in your room a pleasure, but the pool and common areas are good for relaxing, too. Lorena, the manager, is a friendly, valuable source of information and tour bookings.

Room Tip: They have 2 types of rooms. The upper level rooms are much larger and have great windows so you can...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked this place based on the fact that it had great value for its money, a swimming pool, breakfast and a good location.

The place is somewhat hidden and doesn't show what it truly is like. Rooms are spacious, have great air conditioning and I loved the size of the bed. Great sleep quality!!! additionally the swimming pool is like in the middle of the jungle so you can see monkeys while you're swimming and relaxing. Loved it.

One more point in its favour- Breakfast. They have a lady in charge of cooking a typical breakfast, includding gallo pinto, eggs and fruits.

I would definetely stay here again- no doubt about it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#21 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#32 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandarina

Property: Hotel Mandarina
Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio kilometer 4 | across the street from Agua Azul Restaurant, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandarina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mandarina is a small boutique hotel. It has a history in Manuel Antonio since the early 1990s. It has previously been known as Hotel El Dorado Mojado and Hotel Kekoldi. In 2007, the 12 unit hotel has been given the new name Hotel Mandarina. Mandarina is known as a small orange, like a tangerine, in Costa Rica. Hotel Mandarina is located in Manuel Antonio, just outside the small Pacific coast port town of Quepos. We are at the highest elevation on the main road about halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. If you choose to drive, you can park your rental car in our secure lot behind the reception building. Manuel Antonio is only 3 1/2 hours by car or bus from San Jose, so long as you take the shortest route. Faster yet is a 20 minute plane ride from San Jose on Nature Air or Sansa Airlines. Quepos and Manuel Antonio are fairly easy to navigate since there are only a few main roads. We are just 3 km away from some of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica with the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park at the end of the main road. A twenty minute walk down the secondary road from the hotel will bring you to a secluded beach. The local bus stops 50 yards from the hotel and brings you to the main beach or Manuel Antonio National Park in 5 minutes. There are several restaurants and cafes within walking distance as well as services like supermarket, bank/ATM, bars, yoga/spa, gym, and souvenir stores among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mandarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel
Hotel Mandarina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing