We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Super nice hotel at excellent position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mandarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mandarina
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super nice hotel at excellent position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Super nice Hotel with unbeatable price and sweetest view restaurants just around - thanks a lot for all the arrangements and letting me use your computer in urgent cases! I'll definitely return to you on my next stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRL_Senning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    120
    28
    21
    13
See reviews for
40
144
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful! I contacted Lorena, the manager, before my trip since I was arriving and departing in the middle of the night, while the main office would be closed. Since this was my first trip to Costa Rica and I was traveling alone, I asked her about transportation options to and from the San Jose airport (2-3 hours drive away), and she discussed options with me and arranged for a taxi/van for me. When I arrived around 1 AM, the hotel security guard met me and made sure I got to my room. I stayed for 5 nights and had no problems at all. Maybe my one complaint is that the shower had poor water flow. I took at least two showers a day due to the humidity. :) I appreciated the AC unit in my room quite a bit. I really enjoyed eating breakfast on their terrace. The first morning I saw a few monkeys and admired the hummingbirds and beautiful plants. I was in Manuel Antonio for a friend's wedding on Playitas beach which is a 15 minute walk downhill. Very convenient location for those wanting to spend time on the beach and at the National Park. I'd recommend going with a guide for your first walk through the Park, since they can spot animals and plants that might be difficult for a first-timer to notice. There's a bus stop across the street and a bank with ATM a few doors down. Being a coffee drinker, Cafe Milagro two doors down was also a convenient daily stop for me. Bars and restaurants, like El Avion and Byblos are also in short walking distance. We took the bride-to-be to Byblos (three doors down from Mandarina) for dancing and drinks, and it was lots of fun, despite the humidity and sweat. :) I'm glad I found Hotel Mandarina and would come back again!

Room Tip: My room (F- rooms are by letter rather than number) was well shaded during the day, but the next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank In P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days/4 nights and I loved it. The location is right in the jungle so while you're eating breakfast you can watch the wildlife. One morning a group of titi monkeys even joined us! The owner is very nice and I found the service to be outstanding. Lorena and the rest of the girls were so nice and answered all of my many questions. I thought the breakfast was delicious and it took no more than 5 minutes for them to cook (and they actually hand made their own juice!). The location was in the middle of (in my opinion) the best restaurants in the area and also with the best views! And it is a short bus ride to the beach although it did take me 45 to walk back. And i found the bed to be very comfortable. I cannot think of a single complaint. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khuete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I just spent the weekend at this hotel and it was a very good experience... very clean, quite place... Nice room... great shower...Very good service... I really enjoyed the breakfast... there are many good restaurants around (walking distance) the beach and the national Park are very closed. Pricing is Good specially for the area where the hotel is located. Front desk Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agustin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful. You're surrounded by rainforest. Stay out on the porch around dusk - I did and I saw dozens of monkeys running around the trees, and several beautiful birds. Breakfast was great. The pool was nice and refreshing, a bonus considering the heat in this area. Our room was unique and nice, very clean. It seems that each room in this hotel is different. The air conditioner didn't make our room icy cold, but who needs that anyhow? It was comfortable and we slept well under a sheet. Staff booked a great rafting trip for us. Awesome guides... I think the company was called Ultimate something?? This hotel was an affordable choice along the pricey string of hotels on the main road. Many excellent dining options within walking distance.

Room Tip: Book a rafting trip through the desk, the company they work with for rafting is awesome! Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Manager at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. The tour company you mentioned is called Unique Tours and it has been our number one choice for this kind of tour for their profesionalism and enthusiam as well as their excellent feedback from our guests.
As you mentioned the Hotel is in a prime location in Manuel Antonio without being a pricey place to stay and still offering all the services most travellers are looking for.
We thank you for your visit and are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

They charged us 80$ for one night , the service was excellent but :
the shower had hair "leftovers" of hair (probably from the last guest).
Air condition was very loud .
Bed was uncomfortable.
Breakfast - very poor and slow ( extra tico time)...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie1983il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerineTangerine, Owner at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Before responding to this review I sent this guest two messages on TripAdvisor and also tried to send a personal email to her (I cannot make out her email address), to find out more details about her complaints and have not received a response yet.

I am sorry there was hair in the shower... don't know whether we are talking about a few strands or a pile. Our air conditioners are not that old and although I know some of them can be a little noisy, they are not so loud to keep you awake at night. About the bed being uncomfortable... I think we have gotten that complaint maybe only once before. Most people a very satisfied with our high-density foam mattresses. They are much better than the worn out old spring mattresses found in many hotels in Costa Rica!

Breakfast — poor and slow? Again... it would be helpful to have more details... I mean did you wait an hour for your breakfast? or was 10 minutes too long? We receive many compliments on our included breakfasts! How was it bad?

This reviewer also gave a our location a poor rating. I guess if being within short walking distance to many great restaurants while still being able to have a nice 20-30 minute hike down to the beach is terrible... then I don't know what to say.

Well, I'm glad our service is excellent!
Our manager, Lorena remembers this guest and how she was friendly... it would have been nice to bring these issues to Lorena's attention instead of just writing about it after.

Thank You!
Gary A. Wexler
co-owner
Hotel Mandarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Cozy and calm place. Good room with mango tree wood floors...
Extraordinary greeting. We had to order a bunch of flowers at 7 p.m. - we got all help from the staff and got the flowers.
We also left an ipad and phone in the safety box - all was safe. Want to thank Lorena, the manager. She was open and helpful.
Great place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansolute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandarina

Property: Hotel Mandarina
Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio kilometer 4 | across the street from Agua Azul Restaurant, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandarina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mandarina is a small boutique hotel. It has a history in Manuel Antonio since the early 1990s. It has previously been known as Hotel El Dorado Mojado and Hotel Kekoldi. In 2007, the 12 unit hotel has been given the new name Hotel Mandarina. Mandarina is known as a small orange, like a tangerine, in Costa Rica. Hotel Mandarina is located in Manuel Antonio, just outside the small Pacific coast port town of Quepos. We are at the highest elevation on the main road about halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. If you choose to drive, you can park your rental car in our secure lot behind the reception building. Manuel Antonio is only 3 1/2 hours by car or bus from San Jose, so long as you take the shortest route. Faster yet is a 20 minute plane ride from San Jose on Nature Air or Sansa Airlines. Quepos and Manuel Antonio are fairly easy to navigate since there are only a few main roads. We are just 3 km away from some of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica with the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park at the end of the main road. A twenty minute walk down the secondary road from the hotel will bring you to a secluded beach. The local bus stops 50 yards from the hotel and brings you to the main beach or Manuel Antonio National Park in 5 minutes. There are several restaurants and cafes within walking distance as well as services like supermarket, bank/ATM, bars, yoga/spa, gym, and souvenir stores among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mandarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarina Hotel
Hotel Mandarina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing