We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landlady was rude and inconsiderate!”
Review of Hotel Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The location is great but the landlady had no care about our personal safety after our key went missing. The doors have no lock inside so we basically couldn't leave the room and were worried someone would be able to come in with the key. The pool was also dirty as the rooms were dingy. The rest of the staff was helpful and nice. We went across the street to a different hotel and had a much better experience all around.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zwanderlustqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coco Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is the kind of place you'd stay if you were John McAfee, it was the night after your neighbor had been killed, and you were on the run from the cops to avoid deported. Imagine the type of run-down shack you'd lay low in while Los Federales were patrolling, whilst you pulled out rumpled dollar bills for that dubious friend to give to the reception desk - the shady type who normally only sees places like this for a maximum of an hour.

I try to be generous in a review, but Coco Beach really is a $10-20/night motel - the kind you'd never stay at in the US unless you'd done something wrong - but it's... $70/night. And the reason it's that ridiculously over-priced is because it's in an area Lonely Planet calls "hopelessly expensive" (Manuel Antonio village). The others are $100-200/night, which is a next level kind of Gringo tax, and comparatively, it's the cheapest rung of the ladder. But that comparative to its neighbors, and when you can get a 4* modern cosmopolitan hotel anywhere else in Central America for half that price, it just feels like a massive rip-off.

So let's get to the nitty-gritty. Firstly, it's an oldish, overgrown white colonial house built into the curve of the road - without the attractive lighting of the other hotels, and with a strong smell of sewage. Nice. There's no reception, just a messy amateur store with harsh fluorescents, and a wooden desk with a picture of the pope, surrounded by worn brochures. Everything's hand-written, so the whole "email" thing is a slight misnomer. The "courtyard" (if you can call it that) is a ramshackle chaos of plastic garden chairs, next to a pool that is about 5 times smaller and dirtier than it looks. It has a balcony which is relatively nice, but the view is blocked by trees - not scenic.

Towels litter every rail, making it look like a backpackers hostel - which is obviously cool, if that's your bag. Only, backpacking travelers don't pay $70/night. In fact, i'd rather have slept on the beach, and i'll bet many of them did.

The rooms themselves aren't much to write home about. The AC works, and there's a flatscreen cable TV, with some effort to place the towels decoratively. It's thankfully clean - totally sterile and devoid of any personality as you'd expect, of course - with the obligatory cold-water shower, cheap soap, and a little storage space.

I have no idea what the food is like, as i was out of there pretty fast - to take the more blatant kind of anti-tourist resentment the passive aggressive local restauranteurs serve up so unapologetically. Very grateful i didn't get any kind of skin disease, but equally frustrated that i ended up paying 50% more than i would in San Jose, to get about 95% less. It's bearable if you have to do an overnight (i.e. no immediate ill effects), but i don't understand anyone who is OK with paying $70/night for this, when laying out a sheet on the beach is probably a lot more scenic and value-for-money.

It's mostly bad, with the rest a classic example of the "this will do for the gringos." style attitude. However, if you want the experience of what it's like to be on the run in an over-priced tropical tourist trap, maybe you won't leave wondering about all the other things that money may have bought.

Room Tip: Don't do it. Avoid. Sleep on the beach, or fork out cash for a better place.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week in one of the top floor rooms at Coco beach and had an amazing view over the Manuel Antonio beach. You can get a coffee in the restaurant in the morning and bring it back to sit outside the room and taking in the view,or alternatively go and cook your own breakfast in the communal kitchen. Good as we were staying for a week. The room was big and had a large flat screen TV and a fridge to keep the beers cold. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the amazing beach, so perfectly placed. The national park entrance is a 10 minutes walk.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank stefanfager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

For nearly $100USD we got a crappy, barely functioning shower, gross bedding, no working a/c and a swift kick in the butt when we expressed discontent.. If you want backpacking hotel, this is for you! Expect nothing and you won't be disappointed! No thanks!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Walking distance to the beach. For the price you will pay is perfect. You can use the kitchen to prepared your own meals. They also have breakfast for good price. Quite, pool, wifi, parking available. Very nice commun area. 5 min to Manuel Antonio park entrance, 10 min to Quepos down town. Perfect for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LianetGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have stayed here in february 2013 the 2nd time after several years. I had almos forgotten, why I did nt want to come back, but was reminded within a couple of minuites. The rooms are ok, and relatievely cheap, in good location, but the korean lady owner is worse then anybody could ever immagine. She is like a wild pit bull terrier, with Zero maners and friendlyness. The highlight of my stay was when the internet was not working too good, and I complained, she simply unplugged the internet entirely. So if you can get through with this type of manners, the hotel is OK for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurikan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We moved from other backpackers hotel (backpackers paradise, which is a dump) to this one for 6$ more and it was worth every peny.
Big rooms and big private bathroom.
Great deal.
The owner was nice and droped 5$ cause of the off season.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank nivzimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#28 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $41 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coco Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Beach Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing