We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our trip”
Review of Hotel Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great little place and great price. The best part is we lost a good amount of money and gave up on finding it. We checked out and went to the national park for the day before leaving the area. On the way out of the park there was a sign posted saying room 16 we found your belongings. We couldnt believe it and we drove back to coco beach and the owner had gone around town asking if anyone had seen us. Talk about going out of their way when they certainly didnt have to. THANK YOU COCO BEACH!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChieferSutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

PROS
Cheap
Walking distance to the beach
Secure parking (in the restaurant which was weird)
Huge rooms
Reasonably clean


CONS
Swimming pool was tiny and looked dirty
No view and right on the road
The whole place needs a lick of paint

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've stayed here twice... One with my husband and one with a group of friends. Truth be told, this is the kind of hotel you stay in when you're on a budget... For 35 or 40 bucks a room, there's not so much to expect. Anita, the owner, is a piece of work... But she´s funny. The rooms in building A (the ones near the reception office) are nicer, and if you're lucky, you will get to see a lot of monkeys in the mornings. If you stay in the other building you will have a great view, but also will have to climb a lot of stairs to get to your room. Both buildings ahve a small pool (nothing fancy), but the one at building A it's nicer. The two main (maybe the only) highlights of this hotel are the price and the fact that it's really close to the main beach, restaurants and the supermarket. There are lots of nicer hotels, but for many of them you need some kind of shuttling, or you'll have to pay a cab.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is really good value for money at $30/night for a double, including private bathroom and fan. The rooms are spacious, very clean, comfortable bed, and there's wifi. Has a nice pool to cool off in if you don't feel like visiting the beach. 5mins walk to beach, shops, restaurants and just under 10mins walk to the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not sure why this place gets such bad reviews. We stayed a few nights for $30 a night for 3 people. Nothing luxurious but much cleaner than hostel options in town for the same price. Owner seemed nice, monkeys in the trees on the property, nice pool to cool off in, short walk to town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This place was close to the park and I got one of there cheaper rooms. Traveling solo. The room is very simple. The towels and linens are old and worn. The AC unit is poorly fitted and has gaps around it. The door lock is funkily and the manager was insistent that I not turn the dead bolt on it. So I slept with one eye open last night. The "safe" is just a closet with a normal door lock. The water is not drinkable so pick up a bottle at a supermarket before you come. Bottled water here is expensive. Parking is limited to along the roadway. The bed was old and lumpy and only sheets were provided. I chose to only stay one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had 2 couples stay here and one night was more than enough....our room was on the upper level even though there were plenty of rooms near the pool, the owner didn't want to give us those rooms for $35 so we got the oldest, stinkiest cock-roach infested rooms there were. On top of that, the owner was nasty and rude and the bad energy was enough to get us our of there the very next day. The pool has brown water, not at all safe to swim! We went to Montezuma and found nice hotels ($50), great food and beautiful beach and were so happy that we left the stinky Coco Beach Hotel and all of Manuel Antonio!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
299 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $66 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coco Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Beach Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing