We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Saved our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Saved our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great little place and great price. The best part is we lost a good amount of money and gave up on finding it. We checked out and went to the national park for the day before leaving the area. On the way out of the park there was a sign posted saying room 16 we found your belongings. We couldnt believe it and we drove back to coco beach and the owner had gone around town asking if anyone had seen us. Talk about going out of their way when they certainly didnt have to. THANK YOU COCO BEACH!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChieferSutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    48
    33
    40
See reviews for
29
87
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

PROS
Cheap
Walking distance to the beach
Secure parking (in the restaurant which was weird)
Huge rooms
Reasonably clean


CONS
Swimming pool was tiny and looked dirty
No view and right on the road
The whole place needs a lick of paint

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've stayed here twice... One with my husband and one with a group of friends. Truth be told, this is the kind of hotel you stay in when you're on a budget... For 35 or 40 bucks a room, there's not so much to expect. Anita, the owner, is a piece of work... But she´s funny. The rooms in building A (the ones near the reception office) are nicer, and if you're lucky, you will get to see a lot of monkeys in the mornings. If you stay in the other building you will have a great view, but also will have to climb a lot of stairs to get to your room. Both buildings ahve a small pool (nothing fancy), but the one at building A it's nicer. The two main (maybe the only) highlights of this hotel are the price and the fact that it's really close to the main beach, restaurants and the supermarket. There are lots of nicer hotels, but for many of them you need some kind of shuttling, or you'll have to pay a cab.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is really good value for money at $30/night for a double, including private bathroom and fan. The rooms are spacious, very clean, comfortable bed, and there's wifi. Has a nice pool to cool off in if you don't feel like visiting the beach. 5mins walk to beach, shops, restaurants and just under 10mins walk to the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not sure why this place gets such bad reviews. We stayed a few nights for $30 a night for 3 people. Nothing luxurious but much cleaner than hostel options in town for the same price. Owner seemed nice, monkeys in the trees on the property, nice pool to cool off in, short walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This place was close to the park and I got one of there cheaper rooms. Traveling solo. The room is very simple. The towels and linens are old and worn. The AC unit is poorly fitted and has gaps around it. The door lock is funkily and the manager was insistent that I not turn the dead bolt on it. So I slept with one eye open last night. The "safe" is just a closet with a normal door lock. The water is not drinkable so pick up a bottle at a supermarket before you come. Bottled water here is expensive. Parking is limited to along the roadway. The bed was old and lumpy and only sheets were provided. I chose to only stay one night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had 2 couples stay here and one night was more than enough....our room was on the upper level even though there were plenty of rooms near the pool, the owner didn't want to give us those rooms for $35 so we got the oldest, stinkiest cock-roach infested rooms there were. On top of that, the owner was nasty and rude and the bad energy was enough to get us our of there the very next day. The pool has brown water, not at all safe to swim! We went to Montezuma and found nice hotels ($50), great food and beautiful beach and were so happy that we left the stinky Coco Beach Hotel and all of Manuel Antonio!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#43 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#36 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach

Property: Hotel Coco Beach
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coco Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Beach Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing