We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazin Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Vista Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Amazin Hostel”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This December my groupmates and me decided to travel around Costa Rica and we stayed in Vista Serena hostel. And these five days have changed my life :)
This is the most comfortable hostel I've ever been to. Amazing sunset view every day. Friendly people, delicious food. This is a real paradise. Very helpful and responsible host - Conrad.
Also we became a part of an annual 10k marathon through the jungle. Thanks for Vista Serena Crew for it :)
Hostel has a very convenient location - markets, shops, bars and a bus stop - everything is in 3 min walk distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    106
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
102
117
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallatin Gateway, Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was a great spot to stay while visiting Manuel Antonio. The views from the balcony were amazing! We saw a monkey hanging out in a tree in the distance from the balcony. Seems they have a lot of returners who stay here often and all know each other. I though the staff was okay, seemed they were most interested in partying with the guests, not that that's a bad thing. I would stay here again. **visited during October 2012**

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon9907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our group of three women stayed in one room of the private bungalow. The bathroom, kitchen, and living room were shared with another room.

This isn't my favorite hostel in the world, but it's probably the best value you'll find near Manuel Antonio. I expected more outgoing/friendlier staff and guests, but everyone here was just sort of doing their own thing, so don't expect a tight-knit hostel community.

Pros:
-Clean beds with firm mattresses
-Functional air conditioning in the room
-Good dinners and delicious juices/smoothies made on site
-Easy access to MA park via public bus
-Staff recommended and arranged a nice tour for us

Cons:
-Wifi not available in the bungalow, only in the adjacent building's common area
-Cockroach in the bungalow on the first night
-Sofa was mildewy and kind of gross
-BYOB since they don't sell booze here
-Free breakfast was awful--just white bread with jelly and there were long waits to use the toaster and when the coffee ran out
-Smoothie shack/juice bar had really irregular hours and was never open for breakfast, which is when I really wanted a smoothie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed here last winter with a few fellow volunteers. Conrad is a great guy to hang out with and is incredibly helpful with the area. The place/beds were clean and there was plenty of space. You can not argue with the hammocks and their view of the sunset (amazing). It's a very short bus ride to the beach/national park entrance. It's an excellent deal especially with the low price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0untain_hiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Manuel Antonio is one of the more expensive places I've visited, but Vista Serena is by far the most affordable hostel in the area. Conrad takes care of the place and is an awesome guy, rooms are crazy cheap and really nice (our private room had its own kitchen, fridge, dining table, balcony w/ hammocks), and the place has the best sunset in Manuel Antonio. Good vibes all around, great people come through, I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Might as well pay the extra $3 for the private rooms... The 18bed dorm room can be a bit crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Vista Serena has the views of a 5 star hotel, with a friendly open atmosphere, good food and a 5 minute ride from the beach and national park. I stayed in Manuel Antonio for 3 days and this hostel was the perfect choice. Condrad the manager was friendly and welcoming and helped me book my tours and shuttles. The pet dogs are great and give the whole place a home like feel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmTantrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great hostel with an amazing ocean view. The dorms are a really good value for money. The private rooms don't have a direct ocean view but we have the view from the terrace.
The manager is really nice but can be really busy sometimes as he seems to run the hostel by himself. Good free breakfast. The 18 beds dorm is a bit far from the terrace but at least it's quiet.
Le dortoir de 18 lits est assez loin de l'espace commun mais au moins
The hotel is really clean and there is good food starting from 6 pm.
Definitely one of our most favorite hostel in CR!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Property: Hostel Vista Serena
Address: 150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park 00011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is nestled into the heart of the jungle in Manuel Antonio center with a breathtaking ocean and sunset view over the green canopy. From very affordable dormitory bunk beds to slightly more luxurious private rooms with ocean view- we have it all and it all comes with a free continental breakfast in the morning! The common terrace area has hammocks for lounging and reading a book or just taking a snooze amongst the squawks of scarlet macaws and the touch of the ocean breeze. There is also a fully equipped communal kitchen and TV lounge with cable and dvds to watch. The spread out set up of the cabins allows us to be both family friendly and also party friendly, bringing together a unique combo of the two. Just remember at Hostel Vista Serena we host the fun!! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing