We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Vista Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed three nights in one of the 'private bungalows'. The room was basic with a shared bathroom and kitchen but perfectly adequate and very spacious. We spent most of our time on the private balcony area with hammock and perfect pacific view - it's hot in Manuel Antonio so you don't want to do much. The hostel advertises as 'where the fun is' but it was a friendly atmostphere, chilled out and quite peaceful (not a party haven which we appreciated). Breakfast is basic but does the job nicely.

One day is enough for MA national park, especially if you've done Corcovado/Monteverde which are more impressive and less crowded but it's worth going if only to spent time on the idyllic beaches (note the park, including the beaches close at 4pm).

From the hostel there is a very steep 30 min walk down to a lovely beach - it is hot and very steep but great for a day out of lazing around. Just make sure you're back at the hostel for sunset!

Room Tip: Private bungalows were really good for the price with an ample kitchen and use of the balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 425 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for relax and fun time together this is the Place, Conrad and Sonia are stars great amazing people that take things easy which is great for vacation spirit clean loads of new poeple to meet and fun nights this is a hostel must thing to be aware of not a hotel but if you still looking for privacy you can get your own room if you there do it!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadSnail_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Vista Serena was the perfect choice for our Manuel Antonio trip. Conrad and Leah were so helpful (and got us hooked up with tour deals too). You can't get a better view and a quiet escape. The sunsets you will experience here will make you swoon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKwebster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I booked Vista Serena on a whim, due to the positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not dissapointed. Overall it was a very fun experience, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.
Leah was such an enormous help when booking our excursions; everything she suggested was fantastic, and it got to the point where we just asked her what she thought we should do tomorrow, and just booked whatever she suggested. She also gave us hostel recommendations as we travelled around to other areas of the country, and again, she nailed it.
If I am ever to return to Manuel Antonio, you can be sure I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewG817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

One of my favorite hostel in Costa Rica with fantastic sunset to watch from the terrace. The hostel is very clean with many amenities with great location, just half way between Qeupos and Manuel Antonio national park. But the best bonus of this hostel is super friendly, helpful and knowable staff. All of them were helpful to deal with my urgent problem which happened to me in Manuel Antonio and arrange unusual transfer request for other Costa Rican destination for the great price. There is also on site restaurant where they serve tasty and for Manuel Antonio cheap food. I really enjoyed lazing in hammock while watching amazing sunset. They really made my stay here memorable and this is one of the places I would like to return as you feel home here from the first moment you enter here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just have to say, I've never stayed at a better hostel...Leah and Conrad are the best hosts that we could have asked for. Our time in Manual Antonio was amazing. They were kind, considerate and fun. Leah was eager to help set us up with any activities that were offered in Manual Antonio. The hostel itself overlooks a beautiful view of the ocean and the hang-out area outside is just so relaxing with plenty of seating, including hammocks. I woke up each morning, had a cup of coffee and watched the sun rise. They served food there, had a free phone that you could use to call any where in the US, free WI-FI, etc etc etc!!! WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY.
LEAH AND CONRAD, I can't thank you enough. really...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMAUPIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Vista Serena was my favorite hostel during my trip to Costa Rica. The employees and very friendly, especially Leah. They are great hosts and very knowledgeable about the different tours which are offered across the country, even some in Panama and Nicaragua. The crowd is great and really friendly as well. Great food at the restaurant in the hostel. Gorgeous view, not to be missed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
396 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Address: 150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio 00011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $16 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is nestled into the heart of the jungle in Manuel Antonio center with a breathtaking ocean and sunset view over the green canopy. From very affordable dormitory bunk beds to slightly more luxurious private rooms with ocean view- we have it all and it all comes with a free continental breakfast in the morning! The common terrace area has hammocks for lounging and reading a book or just taking a snooze amongst the squawks of scarlet macaws and the touch of the ocean breeze. There is also a fully equipped communal kitchen and TV lounge with cable and dvds to watch. The spread out set up of the cabins allows us to be both family friendly and also party friendly, bringing together a unique combo of the two. Just remember at Hostel Vista Serena we host the fun!! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing