We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable views, friendly atmosphere, HAMMOCKS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Vista Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views, friendly atmosphere, HAMMOCKS!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Vista Serena is a great hostel. Stay here.

My friend and I stayed in a 4-person dorm (11USD/night) without reserving, but I get the feeling a reservation might be necessary deeper into the high season, as the dorms filled up immediately after our arrival. The dorms are set up in little suites, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, one bathroom, and a balcony with a stunning west view of the Pacific. Clean sheets and towels are provided. Hot water showers too. I saw a sloth and flying fauna one morning.

The main area has a similar stunning view with hammocks and lots of seating. Andre and the other desk staff are helpful and can tell you everything you might need to know. There is a TV with movies, and a wall of books for those who are sick of the vista. We had a lot of fun both our nights there. HVS attracts all types so solo travellers can be sure to meet some travel buddies here.

The hostel is a 5 minute walk from the supermarket and from bus stops. The bus takes you to Quepos, or to Manuel Antonio park and costs 250colones. There are plenty of restuarants in the area, but frankly, it's a lot cheaper and more fun to have cook offs with fellow hostel-goers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    105
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
100
117
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostional, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Vista Serena for one night in a private room next to the main building. Nobody was in the other room in our suite, so we had a bathroom, kitchen, living room and terrace all to ourselves for $30 dollars! It was definitely the best deal of our trip. The whole place was very clean. The staff were very nice and relaxed. The view was so beautiful, a perfect place for watching the sunset over the ocean. We cooked our own food, but the breakfast food they served looked good. There was a huge DVD collect and a computer with internet. It was easy to walk to the supermarket and several restaurants on the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, yet it was a bit apart from the really bustling area around the park entrance. It might be hard to sleep late in the morning because of everyone up and about, but who wants to sleep in when you can get to the park early? We would have definitely stayed longer if we had more time!

Room Tip: If you can get one of the double rooms apart from the main building, they offer a bit more privacy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brovilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We actually didn't end up staying here because of a misunderstanding of what we were booking, but wanted to go out of our way to write a review because Conrad was so friendly and helpful! We booked on hostels.com and somehow thought we were getting a bungalow or private house to ourselves but when we showed up we had a private ROOM but a shared kitchen and bath. Since we are on our honeymoon and wanted more privacy he immediately offered us our money back and recommended the place next door which was a better fit for two honeymooners. We were SOOO grateful for the refund and for the advice, since it was getting dark already by that point! I can tell this is a place run by good people.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in a shared bungalow with kitchen, lounge and balcony - great value. The view towards the Pacific Ocean is stunning and there are plenty of hammocks and comfy seats to enjoy it from. The hostel was the friendliest we've stayed in throughout our three month trip - we made friends instantly just sitting on the lovely communal balcony area. Highly recommended for a relaxing and fun stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

A good choice of hostel when you are happy to chill out in a hammock and take in a fabulous view. I even saw a toucan fly by the hostel!
Well equipped hostel with good beds and loads of hammocks. Nice bread and coffee for breakfast. The only point I would make is that it would have been good to be able to lock the door to our dorm room as four of us had hired out the whole room and would have liked to lock it.
However, a safe was available at front desk for all valuables.
This place is closer to restaurants than it might appear and really easy to take buses to Manuel Antonio and Quepos.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hostal is really good. Cheap, clean, simple. The people there are really helpfull, you meet lots of people. The kitchen is small, but everybody still manage to cook, just need to be a little bit patient.
The dorms could use a bite of paint but there are clean.

It is in the village of Manuel Antonio, the bus stop to Quepos is just 50 m away. It is possible to go walking to the parc (3km, 45min), nice views on the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole_globetrotteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you're looking for a hostel or cheap place with a fun atmosphere to meet people, this is hands down the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio. It had a modern, cool vibe to it and was full of young backpackers wanting to socialize and get together. We talked to a lot of backpackers in the area and this was by far the most happening hostel. So come here if that's what you're looking for. It also has an amazing view which makes it the best place seriously.

The location wasn't great but good enough. You have to walk up the hill to the bus stop and take a super short bus ride (less than 2 minutes and costs 50 cents) to get to the main beach and strip of restaurants. Still worth it in my opinion. The place is really clean. The service is so so. The staff isn't particularly friendly and didn't really go out of their way to help anyone. They would book tours but they offered it all a little overpriced.

Advice: Stay here if you're a young backpacker looking for a fun atmosphere. The price is good and view is amazing. Best you'll get for the price. If you're looking for a quiet place...or great customer service. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Property: Hostel Vista Serena
Address: 150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio National Park 00011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is nestled into the heart of the jungle in Manuel Antonio center with a breathtaking ocean and sunset view over the green canopy. From very affordable dormitory bunk beds to slightly more luxurious private rooms with ocean view- we have it all and it all comes with a free continental breakfast in the morning! The common terrace area has hammocks for lounging and reading a book or just taking a snooze amongst the squawks of scarlet macaws and the touch of the ocean breeze. There is also a fully equipped communal kitchen and TV lounge with cable and dvds to watch. The spread out set up of the cabins allows us to be both family friendly and also party friendly, bringing together a unique combo of the two. Just remember at Hostel Vista Serena we host the fun!! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing