We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view and a great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Vista Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hostel is really super value for money. The view is spectacular, the accommodation is very clean and comfortable and the social life was a lot of fun. The hostel is also ideally located for exploring the Manuel Antonio Park. There is a supermarket nearby which delivers for a $1 which was handy.
Conrad is a great host and was very helpful pointing out some of the harder to find beaches on our first day. The communal area sports a fabulous views with plenty of hammocks and seating for chilling out and watching the sunsets.
Our accommodation was one of three dormitory style rooms for four, with a communal kitchen. Our beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a great size and very clean. We also communal balcony for our section, but we preferred the chilled music and social life of the main communal area.
The food was very tasty, but be prepared to relax and wait for a bit if it's busy.
All in all, fabulous value for an inexpensive stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We saw a whale spout from the Hostal! Very nice people who are running the Hostal! Food is available. Free coffee and bread is served in the AM. Walking distance from a supermarket. Tours are easily set up from the Hostal. Clean!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilee239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My original trip to Costa Rica was solely for business, but I had never been and needed to take some personal time to see more of what the country had to offer. After deciding to go to Manuel Antonio, my friends had recommended me to stay at Vista Serena hands down. They had stayed here during their trip, and it was now my turn to experience the great hospitality that Conrad(owner) offers, along with the incredible views and overall experience. I traveled a bit outside the "high season" but it didn't matter, as the hostel was packed with travelers in their mid 20's and it was easy meeting new people a the open tables provided. The views of the ocean are second to none, and laying back on a hammock you could waste a whole day just watching the sun move across the sky. It rained one day, and sitting on the hammock was the best seat in the house to see the storm move and the wall of rain coming down.

Don't know what else to stay, but just GO! It's on top of the hill, about 10-15 minute bus trip down to the beach but totally worth it.

Enjoy your trip to Costa, and have fun staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDC-BIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The view, the hammocks, the sunset, the GREAT company, you won't even want to leave the hostel to go to the beach!
Leah is an INCREDIBLE source of information and hospitality. It's like asking a good friend (who happens to be an expert on CR) for travel advice- she knows, she wants to help, and she's selflessly honest.
Even when it rains, the view is breathtaking and there's also a comfortable TV nook.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The place was great. I had a friend advise it to me and without a doubt I'll be advising it to anyone staying any amount of time in Manuel Antonio. Conrad, the owner, was beyond great to chill with and get to know. The rest of the staff beyond friendly, felt as though I'd been there weeks already (only two days). The facilities were great as well. From my group of 11 to individual travelers, Vista Serena works great and is very affordable. Definitely would recommend the breakfast at the restaurant and of course the Fresa Jam with the complimentary fresh bread!
The hostel experience here is enough of a reason for me to return to Manuel Antonio in the near future!

Room Tip: If you're in a group of more than 6-10 definitely go for the cabina...very cheap, air conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisaacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Started by meeting Andre who showed me the place. He could have been the most polite guy I've yet to meet, ever. The hostel is clean as can be, and not too overcrowded. Have nice meals at night too. Met some cool guys there too, other travelers. Leah and Conrad at front desk were very informative. Leah set up my itenerary for the coming weekend. She told me where to go and made reservations for me. She wrote it out on paper for me with many details. And the day before that she told me I was fishing with Ricardo P of Idrafishing.com, but, before that even, she called other fisher people to get me on the right track as far as the cost of things. They even play good music here too, like the Strokes and Radiohead.

Room Tip: ac not that cool, just blows air. may not be worth extra dough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is awesome. The owner/manager Conrad was born in the US so English and Spanish are spoken fluently on the premises. The balcony view is awesome, imagine watching a lightning storm over the pacific ocean while you are perfectly dry and relaxed in a hammock. That's pura vida. There is a very communal vibe here, I met 3 people I ended up traveling with for the next week. The rooms are simple, but clean, and they have food/beverages on sale at the hostel for just a bit more than you would pay at the grocery store in case you're too lazy/drunk to wander up to it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkercrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Address: 150mts north of the manuel antonio public school, Manuel Antonio 00011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $16 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is nestled into the heart of the jungle in Manuel Antonio center with a breathtaking ocean and sunset view over the green canopy. From very affordable dormitory bunk beds to slightly more luxurious private rooms with ocean view- we have it all and it all comes with a free continental breakfast in the morning! The common terrace area has hammocks for lounging and reading a book or just taking a snooze amongst the squawks of scarlet macaws and the touch of the ocean breeze. There is also a fully equipped communal kitchen and TV lounge with cable and dvds to watch. The spread out set up of the cabins allows us to be both family friendly and also party friendly, bringing together a unique combo of the two. Just remember at Hostel Vista Serena we host the fun!! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing