We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Birthday”
Incredible sunsets view from house overlooking the infinity pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Incredible sunsets view from house overlooking the infinity pool
One of the two Jack and Jill Bedrooms Architectural Detail inside the 4 stories of rooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Incredible sunsets view from house overlooking the infinity pool
One of the two Jack and Jill Bedrooms
Architectural Detail inside the 4 stories of rooms
Master upstairs bedroom, amazing ocean view
Master downstairs, one small step to enter placing you on living level of the house and pool area
Bedroom with one twin w/trundle.
This could be you.
Living Room with incredible view.
Outdoor fireplace area.
Main entrance allowing you to go downstairs or upstairs to 4 levels
view from the pool
The beach 5 min., walk within landscaped grounds, free shuttle service within grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frank H
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Birthday”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I planned my 50th birthday with 5 other friends at the Garden House. From start to finish EVERYTHING was perfect. Reserving the house with Beverly was fairly easy. Asher the house concierge was excellent. She answered all of our questions before we arrived, stocked the house with some grocery items, and set up several tours for all of us. The house cleaner is a sweet heart and for the first time I returned home with all of my clothes laundered.
The house has amazing views and the sunsets from the pool and mater bedrooms were amazing. We were able to see wildlife everyday. Two types of monkeys, many types of birds, including toucans, lizards and a sloth in the tree right off the upstairs master bedroom.
The grounds and staff of Tulemar were excellent from the bar and restaurant staff to the beach staff.. The shuttle to and from the beach and to the front gate is a definite perk.as most of the grounds is on a steep hill. The shuttle even took us to the grocery store and arranged for the store staff to drive us back to the house with our grocery items.
I can't say enough good things about the house. I can't wait to return in the near future. Thank you for the best vacation week ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: No Air Conditioning throughtout the entire house. ( In all Bedrooms)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
So happy that your 50th landmark birthday was a great and memorable one, and that Garden House by the Beach was chosen for your celebration with your friends. The staff at Garden House truly tries their best to make every individual's stay a most comfortable and enjoyable one. Also the gated community in which Garden House is located, provides amenities and service that is very unique to the area, and it is a community that works together to try to make each guest feel they are in a friendly, safe and pleasurable environment. I do hope you and your guests will return to Garden House by the Beach and we wish you an entire 50th year filled with great adventures and memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donfre
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Amazing retreat from the real world.”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This house is just as spectacular as the photos suggest. It is a private home within the Tulemar Resort with access to all the resort amenities including gated security, private beach with food and drink service, kayaks, boogie boards, etc. Just the sunsets are worth the trip but there is so much more. The house has many areas where you can relax outside and enjoy the jungle scenery and listen to the cacophony of wildlife. The private pool is very refreshing on warm afternoons and a delight anytime. Air-conditioned bedrooms make siestas enticing. We utilized the chef services on several nights and really they were the best meals of our trip. Jose and Robbie are great and we would recommend them to anyone. Asher the "concierge" was a tremendous help in organizing and planning our stay. She also kept us abreast of the volcano eruption which closed the San Jose airport temporarily. Myra the maid provided excellent daily service and like virtually everyone we met in Costa Rica, could not have been friendlier or nicer. We rented a car and drove from San Jose airport which is an easy drive on good roads. The car afforded us the ability to get around Manuel Antonio and Quepos much more easily. Walking anywhere involves a lot of climbing - this likely is one of the reasons all the locals seem so fit and healthy. Though the resort is nice enough to stay the whole time, the surrounding area with all the possible activities makes this a truly great vacation destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2015
The staff at Garden House by the Beach, truly tries to make each and every guest's stay a most enjoyable and comfortable one as possible. I am happy that you and your guests enjoyed not only Garden House but this particular spot in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica which really is a little piece of paradise on earth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed February 28, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Ok, let me start by saying you will not be disappointed with Garden House. We went with two other couples who are all used to 5 star resorts and accommodations and Garden House easily met and in many cases exceeded our standards and expectations.

On arrival you will be mesmerized by the gardens of Tulemar and around the Garden House. This is a beautiful, lush jungle area that is lovingly maintained. As such, it attracts interesting and entertaining wildlife like white face and howler monkeys, both of which we sw regularly.

The house itself is in very good condition and is extremely well maintained. It was super clean and well outfitted for our needs. The infinity pool is fantastic. It was so nice that we only went to the beach once and that was for lunch. The house is outfitted with a telephone and wireless internet. Both are free for your use. The wireless internet covers the main level and pool nicely but does not cover the upstairs. Hey, you’re on vacation, you can’t be connected all the time! The house is kept spotless by the friendly housekeeper that comes in daily. She works hard, is very quiet and you barely know she’s there. The house is well outfitted with a laundry room. Great if you need some clean stuff to wear. The house is full of towels. They are for use at the house and around the house’s pool. You can get beach towels down at the beach. The bedrooms are nicely air conditioned. The place has so many comfortable seating areas…in the living room, outside off the dining room to two different sitting areas and several patios off the main bedroom.

We chose to spoil ourselves and you should too. Have Asher, the house’s helpful concierge, hire Jose and Rubier as your chefs. These two guys are just the happiest, friendliest, skilled chefs that you could want to meet. Trust me, they will do everything they can for you to make your experience incredible. The meals were spectacular ranging from Yellow Fin Tuna, Snook, Sea Bass, Red Snapper and lobster to pork tenderloin, beef tenderloin and chicken. All were delicious. Add to that the quality of the presentation and you will be ever so spoiled. Do not even think twice about hiring the chefs. Just call Asher now and get Jose and Rubier booked. Jose and Rubier also took care of ordering all of the food and drinks that we needed for the week and they cleaned up after every meal. We did not wash a single dish while we were there and we ate like royalty. Together, Jose and Rubier played a very significant role in our amazing vacation. Oh, ask Rubier to make you his Pina Colada and Jose his banana pancakes and Tres Leche cake!

We flew on Sansa Airlines and our friends flew on Nature Air from San Jose to Quepos. Wonderful and inexpensive experience. My first choice now would be Nature Air as the windows are bigger and the views are spectacular.

Lastly, I’d like to add that Beverley, Garden House’s owner was a pleasure to work with. Everything went as planned and her communications were excellent.

We like to travel to different locations every year but if we were coming back to Costa Rica there is no doubt we would head to Garden House. Our experience there was fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular surroundings and infinity pool
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply amazing vacation - unanimous vote to return”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family has taken many vacations together, but this is the first time there was a unanimous vote to return. The well planned design, open-air living, fine furnishings, fresh tropical floral arrangements and well-equipped kitchen all contribute to a beautiful, comfortable home. The view of the Pacific over the infinity pool and surrounding rainforest is extraordinary - it was truly jaw dropping when we walked into the home the first time. The perfect view for morning coffee and evening cocktail to see the most stunning sunsets!

We enjoyed being awakened each morning to the sounds of the animals in the rainforest and we never knew what we'd see in the trees by the pool. Monkeys and toucans were frequent visitors.

The Tulemar location is simply amazing. Our family enjoyed the beach daily and we could not get enough of the free boogie boards and kayaks. The attendants at the beach and shuttle drivers around the property were so friendly and efficient.

Mayra, your housekeeper, worked diligently in a friendly manner each day to keep your beautiful home clean, and we were so appreciative that she did our laundry. Maykol, the chef, provided delicious Costa Rican meals for us while speaking Spanish with our children. Our entire family sat around the kitchen area, talking to and learning from him while he was cooking. Maykol was happy to share several recipes that we've since tried to recreate at home.

Asher frequently checked on our needs and assisted us in arranging fun, interesting day trips. We had no specific issues during the week but called her with a few questions, and she always responded quickly. Our family decided to change a couple of the tours we had planned, and Asher contacted the tours for us to modify our schedule.

Everyone we met in Costa Rica was so eager to share about their country's history, culture and people. We came away from this vacation knowing we had to come back to experience more Pura Vida!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: infinity pool, open air living, location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathaliea...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Splendid family vacation. End of the rainy season, but that was not a major concern. The pool, the view from the house are splendid - we ended up staying there all day. The town is not very appealing. In one week, we only went to the beach three times ( it's a strenuous walk back, luckily the shuttle service is efficient and friendly). The kayaks at the beach, the service with the towels were nice, but we felt much more comfortable around our own pool. The lady taking care of the housekeeping is nice, discrete and efficient. Even though she
had a serious cold when we were there. The house is clean, everything works well.
We had some noise and annoying music coming from partying neighbours in the swimming
pool next door ( the house next door is surprisingly close and overlooks the back of the
house, but you only see it from the back or from the upstairs bedrooms). When we made eye contact with those half naked partying Americans next door, while we were holding a newborn baby in our arms, they understood our concern and turned the music down. Don't know how it would have turned out had they been less accommodating.
We wrote to the owner that there were things to be improved. The neon lighting of the kitchen is cold and white, not very cosy. She told us it was very difficult to find good lamps and lighting in Manuel Antonio. The dining area and living area also could do with some better lamps. There were also no wine or beer glasses , or ceramic coffee mugs in the house ( only plastic ones, real good martini glasses , and glass coffee mugs showing wear and tear, not my cup of tea (!) for drinking my morning coffee or white wine with a meal ). We were seven adults, and we had to do the dishes every time, because there were no 14 good plates to get us through 2 meals. And the ( too few ) dishes that were there are too big for the dishwasher ( blocking the arm ) , so we had to wash them by hand.

All in all, a great vacation because of the pool, the view, the quality of the building and the design, the space and the good bathrooms and beds, but with a few small purchases/investments the experience could become perfect.
Beverley is very quick and responsive, so we trust those small items to be improved will be attended to. Assuming this, we will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view by the pool, the sunsets.
Liked least: The kitchen equipment.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2015
I must say with every reservation that i accept I always write in just about every email that is sent out that if at any time, before, during or after the guests stay, if they have any questions or concerns please contact the house manager or myself as we want every guest's stay to be a most enjoyable one. After each guests's stay I ask them if they have had any issues that were not addressed, or if they have any suggestion on how their stay could have been improved. I welcome such suggestions and many suggestions are very good and are acted on immediately and sometimes it is just a matter of my own taste in preference in the matter of decor of my house as opposed to a guests taste.
In the above review, if the guest had brought up the fact during his stay, he did not like the size of the dishes, smaller dishes could have been brought to him probably within a day. However the number of dishes in the set is 12, but there are 12 dinner dishes 12 salad plates, 12 bowls and a large number of matching sizes and shapes of serving dishes. This guest made the statement after his stay, that the dinner dishes were too large to fit into the dishwasher, which was true, and I immediately went out and bought new dishes, however there are still only 12 dishes of every size in the set for the guest's use. I must say that there is a maid in the house 8 hours, 6 days of the week, but perhaps there was some lack of communication between the guest and the maid, which can happen, but as a guest you can always call the house manager for assistance with anything. Again the guests mentions lack of glasses, and I must say there were and have always been very nice wine glasses in the house, but perhaps a bit too elegant, and again I was happy with his suggestion of a more practical wine glass, and I immediately bought a set of 36 wine goblets, 12 of which are always out for the guests use. These glasses are for red wine and the ones the ones that were already in the house are really a white wine glasses. There are no Martini glasses. If you would really like Martini glasses during your stay, the house manager will buy them for you if they ar are available in the town. There are tapered beer glasses, not steins, and they have always been in the house, and I am not sure why this guest did not see them in the cupboard. There are probably 60 to 70 glasses in the house always of different sizes (all sets of at least 10). There are glasses for inside the house and plastic glasses in the bar area for the guests enjoyment around the pool. There are no ceramic coffee mugs as I personally prefer glass coffee cups as it makes me feel like I am in the tropics, and new ones will be purchased as the dishwasher over time sometimes does leave a film on certain glassware, and again I am happy the guest brings up this issue, Please note also that all the cups are quite clean, along with the dishes and the full set of pots and pans, and none of the glassware or dishes have any chips or cracks on them. Cups that have the film on them from the dishwasher and should be replaced with new ones. Again they will be replaced with glass cups, but if during your stay you really want a ceramic coffee cup all you need to do is to ask the house manager and ceramic mugs of some sort will be delivered to the house.
it is true the light in the kitchen is task lighting overhead for the purpose of cooking. It is florescent tube lighting within a light fixture. As explained to the guest is is difficult to find the different tones of fluorescent lighting, and I am not personally sure that I dislike a bright light while working in the kitchen, so for now this will go unchanged.

The noise factor he mentions from the back of the house, which could be heard only from the upper back bedrooms, from guests using the neighboring pool during the day at a resort, I think is normal. The neighboring pool is on an upper 3rd floor of the house and is only a cooling off pool and not a swimming pool. You cannot really see the guests that clearly, but yes you may indeed hear them as these guests did. Guests usually are not in it for any great length of time as it is not a swimming pool. If however, any neighboring guests are using bad language, causing disturbances, or playing loud music late at night, you can always call the security guards and
they will go to the house and notify the guests staying at the house, and also notify the owner that such disturbances did occur.

My only question in regard to the guests evaluation is that he gives Garden House a 1 Star in Value, and yet states that "He will be back!" I am not sure if he may have given this 1 Star Value rating in error, in that if he indeed he wants to return someday, why would he think it was such a bad value.

Sorry this response is so lengthly, but I do want you to know that the comfort and safety of every guest who stays at Garden House tries to be met. This is not just true of just Garden House by the Beach, but I believe you will find it true of every rental in the gated community in which Garden House is located, Tulemar. I think you will find the convenience, the service, and the value, all a to be superior to most rentals worldwide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C
Simi Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Jungle”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Garden House in Tulemar represents luxury in the rain forest of Costa Rica! 10 of us stayed in the house for 1 week. This house is very spacious with many bedrooms & levels. We never felt cramped or confined. There are 3 bedrooms with king beds and one with 2 twins. Another bedroom has a twin & trundle, but it is in a very small room so it is best for smaller kids, maybe younger siblings. The master suite has an incredible ocean view and beautiful bathroom. One of the downstairs bedrooms also has a beautiful ocean view and great bathroom. There is another king room upstairs that shares a bathroom with a twin room. This room does not have a view. Just be aware that there are great air conditioning units in each bedroom but not in any shared areas. It really didn't bother us too much because the beauty & surroundings make up for the Costa Rican weather. Also, we spent most of our time at home outside in the gorgeous infinity pool. The kids loved playing in the pool (as did the adults). In the evenings we sat outside watching lightening storms together as a family. I recommend bug spray, though. Another thing we decided to do was to hire a chef (Comida Pura Vida) from the owner's recommendation and they absolutely made the trip remarkable. We didn't cook once! The house also comes with a housekeeper, Myra, who was amazing. She even does laundry! The chefs and Myra made our vacation so much more relaxing.

When you take the 10 minute walk down to the private beach, you may see spider monkeys on your way. You will also see a small waterfall during your walk- contact Waterfall Tours for an amazing tour if you like waterfalls! They are out of Jaco but will pick you up. At the beach, we all enjoyed the complimentary boogie boards, kayaks & towel service. David, at the cabana takes great care of the Tulemar guests. At the end of our beach day we took the complimentary shuttle back home.

Costa Rica is my favorite country to visit & this Garden House is a great way to spoil yourself during your stay. There are many amazing things to do in the Manuel Antonio area- zip lining, rafting, waterfall tours, and the park. We can't wait to return!

Thanks for the great service & beautiful house Asher!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryreba
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for sharing your beautiful house!   It fit with our family so perfectly.  After the first day the kids were like fish in the pool so we had no worries and just sat back and enjoyed.  Renzo & Maykol were great chefs and fabulous with the kids.  Ceviche and guacamole and rum drinks by the pool while watching the sun set became habit forming in a day.   Mayra, the housekeeper, is so sweet and so very helpful;  she charmed us all.
Asher really made our trip.  She was helpful in so many ways - food when we arrived, booking tours, finding drivers, ear medicine for kid's ear aches, restaurant advice and on and on.  She just made everything easy which made for a perfect vacation for all of us.
The highlight of the trip was zip lining with Canopy Safari Tours- even the little ones.   We were so confident in Diego and Asher's company that even the over-nervous mother of the group had a great time.  And the pictures of it all are fabulous!  We were very impressed by the whole operation.
Thanks again for designing, maintaining and sharing the perfect house in Costa Rica. Oh, and thanks for sending the monkeys by each morning too.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing