We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private beach, beautiful villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private beach, beautiful villas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as a part of a week-long trip. The location was great as it was a short drive to several great restaurants and close to the national park. It is probably one of the few locations with a private beach as well as incredible views. We stayed in a Jr. Suite, which was perfect for us and a great value. The patio was wonderful and had a nice view. The bathroom was very nice and we had a min-fridge and coffee maker. The best thing about the hotel was the private beach, which was a long walk or a short drive from our room. The staff at the beach was really great and we enjoyed the amenties at the beach club. We had breakfast in the hotel which was okay, but very convenient. We saw a lot of wildlife in and around the resort. It was a great end to our vacation in Costa RIca.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRivToCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct, in the Manuel Antonio area we are the only hotel with a private beach and it is arguable that Dave our beach attendant has the best job on the property. He certainly tries to make our guest’s stays enjoyable while they spend time with him at the beach. I'm glad you enjoyed Dave and the beach! I hear it all the time that guest see more wildlife while on property than in the park itself. Glad we could finish your stay in Costa Rica on a positive note. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    120
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
615
324
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

The villas are amazing! You feel like you are living in a beautiful tree house. Monkees are everywhere, beautiful views of the ocean. My kids did not want to leave. We highly recommend, especially with a large teenage family. The pools were nice and the beach front was great. It's a terrific location in Manuel Antonio. Just amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thanks, glad you and the teenagers had a good time!
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

The 2 bedroom villas hang of the steep hill that leads from the front of the property down to the beach. Limestone and dark wood decor throughout and the kitchen area and breakfast bar are top notch to share a cup of joe with the family in the morning.
I hate being cooped up in a hotel room with the family. Don't care how many stars you put on the brochure i will never get choosing a small space totally occupied by a bed and a sofa vs a fully serviced 1500 sq ft villa + huge balconies with hot tub, dining table, sun loungers etc......
The views are spectacular and monkeys are regular visitors to our balconies.

There are infinity pools within each small clusters of villas. So kids were fully occupied between beaches and various adventures.
The villas are all set into lush tropical vegetation. This property is totally in keeping with the echo friendly thing.
The beach. The beach is set in private cove. It is unlike any other in the area in this respect. Kayaks, boogie boards, beach bar and restaurant complete the scene.
Best family vacation in years!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you! Glad you and yours enjoyed. Yes Tulemar Beach is the jewel of our property and sets us apart from any other place in the area! The beach along with the free boogie boards, snorkel gear, Kayaks, towels, lounge chairs and umbrellas make Tulemar beach the best beach in the area! Thanks and Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Villa and had a great experience. Andres, the concierge was very helpful getting us settled. All the staff were very accommodating and prompt, whether bringing extra towels or arranging for groceries. The Villa is beautiful and very clean. For us, the best part was the private beach with towel service, kayaks and snorkeling equipment. The food at the beach cafe was varied from okay to very good. The trail to the beach is very steep, which was fine once or twice because the trail is so beautiful, but we mostly used the van service, which was very quick with easy going friendly drivers.

Our one complaint would be that the knives in the kitchen where dull and though there was a steel to hone them, it didn't do much good. If you don't plan any cooking, it wouldn't make a difference, but even chopping an onion for guacamole was a challenge. The next time we stay there, and we will, we will ask them to sharpen the knives.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinNYC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you for the nice review; I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the tip about the knives we will remedy it. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

We had no bad experiences with the staff only good ones everyone was always friendly. We booked our transfer with the hotel and everything went perfect, the driver was waiting for us at the airport with sign in hand and was right on time picking us up to return to the airport. But I would not do it again just because for us it was too long; we will fly to Quepos next time and back. We had an issue with the safe and microwave; both times they were there to fix them within 15 minutes. Only time we had an issue is with a tour we book thru the hotel and the dates were mixed up. The maid did a great job every day, we did leave a tip everyday so maybe that helped but I don’t think so. We never had any issues with theft or feeling unsafe.
We also never had any problem with the shuttle van, but we did walk almost everywhere by choice, only used the van a couple times from the beach back to the villa. It is very steep and hard to walk not only at the hotel but many places, so please keep that in mind. We saw several people struggle with the walk ways to the villas alone, you still have to walk the shuttle cannot take you to the door.
Our villa had everything we needed, pots, pans, bowls, blender, toaster, coffee maker, you name it I think it had it. The ice maker was perfect we couldn’t have lived without it. Bedroom was fine we had two queen beds slept great, bathroom was also fine. The BEST part is the balcony, WOW!!! Great views, monkeys in the morning, birds, just amazing. We spent almost all our time out there. We even took naps out there, ate meals, and just relaxed! I could have spent the whole trip on the balcony, for me this made the trip.
The pools are fun, our son loved the waterfalls. We always had them to ourselves so they were like our own private pools. The beach is also beautiful, had tons of fun on the boogie boards, saw monkey, crabs are everywhere on the beach, great for swimming.
Location was good also we thought. You can walk to many restaurants, the market, an ATM, bus stop, really no need for a car if you didn’t want to rent one, had no problem getting a taxi either when needed. We saw more animals at the hotel than we did the park, but the beaches at the park are amazing so it’s worth a trip.
We do feel that we could of stayed much cheaper once we were there and realized other options but also agreed that we would return to Buena Vista because we are now spoiled and can’t imaging staying any place else or the disappointment that might come along with it! Everything we need was right there and it was the best family vacation to date!
It’s also worth saying that the we had wifi at the villa and it worked great. We were able to keep in touch with people at home (our cell phones did not work at all) and with a teenager it could have been a disaster without!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anybeachmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar_BVV, Director of Sales at Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you, anybeachmichigan, for writing such a full and complete review of your stay with us. Knowing that you had your "best family vacation to date" is very satisfying. We're sorry we mixed up the dates on your tour reservation, and hope that mistake didn't affect your opportunity to experience the tour during your stay.

We'll be looking forward to hosting your family again in the future. If Buena Vista Villas "spoiled" you and your family, then we accomplished our objective. That's the highest compliment we can achieve.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Buena Vista Luxury Villas are situated on the hillside on the seaward side of the top road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park and is a stunning venue for any hotel. It's a complex, like so many American influenced hotels, but is so beautifully landscaped that you can't believe that it didn't all just "grow" there. Our Junior Suite wasn't large but was all we needed (#205) the view from the patio was stunning and we could have watched the sunsets 'til doomsday, a very comfortable bed, a really good double shower, AC and a ceiling fan with a small kitchinette (basin, small fridge and microwave with cutlery and crockery, all you will need).
I can't find words to describe how beatiful the surrounding trees and flowering bushes are with hummingbirds, blue crowned motmots, frigate birds and turkey vultures, capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys and cheeky squirrel monkeys, sloths and iguanas to mention but a few, oh I almost forgot the incredible Toucans!
There are several lovely, quite private, pools to choose from and a spectacular private beach where the service is efficient but unobtrusive. You can get breakfast at Paul and Luis's wonderful beach cafe which is literally on the beach and just perfect for dining or a coffee or a beer or three!
The hills are very steep, OK when you're going down but tough going up so get someone to call the shuttle bus, be patient and it will arrive! Costa Ricans, properly called Ticos and Ticas, think manana means to rush! There are two forest trails down to the beach both worth walking slowly and quietly along looking for the monkeys and birds, the North Trail is the better of the two, some of the trees are beautiful and in flower!
Locally there are many cafes, bars and restaurants, an especially good one bing Victorias on the main road just fifteen metres left of the complex's main entrance. You won't regret spending time here I assure you! Don't forget your camers and binoculars, absolutely must have them with you, it can rain too so buy a poncho!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I have to say that I have mixed reviews with regards to Buena Vista Luxury Villas. Our Junior Suite and the grounds were exactly as pictured on their website. However, we were disappointed with their customer service during our stay. Lisa was great as she handled our initial reservations and tours. However, we had a number of break downs in communication when it came to being picked up at our apartment on time.

Would I recommend these villas to others? You bet. Just keep in mind that Buena Vista caters more towards the independent travelers.

Advantages

Clean and spacious rooms
Beautiful grounds and view
Private beach w/ great service
Beach cafe
Shuttle provides transportation to and from beach
Multiple pools w/ separate family pool
Easy access to taxis

Disadvantages

Very steep and lengthy roads (quite a challenge for older/out of shape individuals)
Shuttles do not provide transportation outside of the facility
Beach cafe closes early in the evening (might have been due to low season)

Suggestions

Light Lunch – Café Milagro (excellent shakes)
Dinner – Kapi Kapi and Marlin (not to be confused with Marlintinis)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjray78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Property: Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing